We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay ”
Review of Lakeview Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeview Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We had a Beautiful stay at lakeview manor for a Weekend Away was perfect for getting away from everyday stresses surrounded by tranquil scenery! Hotel staff where very welcoming and friendly and the food was brilliant would definitely stay again :) thank you

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Lakeview Manor, we are glad that you enjoyed your experience here with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Congratulations on providing a wonderful overnight experience. The room (22) was exceptionally clean and very well presented. Meal in the restaurant was fabulous and very tasty.WE WILL BE BACK. P.S. Kerry who served us breakfast and checked us out is a real asset to Lakeview Manor.

Room Tip: wonderful and faultless experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilyje123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

We thank you for your review, it sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us at Lakeview Manor. We look forward to meeting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I don't know why, but when I booked this I was expecting a country house hotel. It certainly was in the country, (deep in the country!) and it was a house (a public one!) but it was not a hotel. A pub with rooms and stable conversions in the courtyard is a more fitting description, but we were not to be disappointed. They happily changed our "up a flight of outside steps to a room which felt a bit damp and musty" to a room upstairs in the pub, which although small and not well furnished, was absolutely fine and the shower room was lovely. It was clean and although the view was of roofs and guttering, that was no problem. Who wants to look out at the rain anyway?!
The staff could not have been more hospitable and welcoming if they had tried.The bar was comfortable and the regulars friendly enough to strike up a conversation.
The grounds and lakes would be better appreciated in fine weather as opposed to during St Jude's storm!
The piece do resistance was the food! We ate at Lakeview every evening and often during the day too. The food was the best we have eaten in a UK pub/hotel and we have visited many. The menu varied each day and one would expect to pay double the price in other establishments. Their chef needs to be valued and well paid because it is because of him, we would return again to Lakeview. His food made our stay a brilliant experience. Without him Lakeview would just be another pretty pub set in great fishing grounds, but without much else going for it except the staff.
We will return and if visiting the area we would certainly eat at Lakeview. With some TLC it could aspire to be a gem in the Dunkerswell countryside.

Room Tip: If the weather is rough, you would want to be staying in the pub itself and not in the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our GPS was on the blink and finding this hotel was a bit of a challenge; the lake was rather more a pond but the hotel is in restful woody location. Friendly staff. The room was a disappointment: located in an annex the wifi was unstable & couldn't use Google Maps for planning onward trip. Beds were the size useful in the 1960s when people were smaller, very uncomfortable. Very nice bathroom (recently renovated?). Food at the restaurant was good, same for breakfast. Beds and wifi need improving, cannot recommend otherwise.
Note that the image included is flattering for the size: needed to stand in the doorway to get a decent picture.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had our wedding day at Lakeview in June 2013 and had the most wonderful of days. we had our wedding day booked for two years prior to this day and from the first visit, Julie (the manager) was always on hand to answer questions, make suggestions and just generally go out of her way to be helpful.
The venue is remote and you do not get good phone coverage but to us this was not important. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay then you really need to look no further. Although we did have our wedding there we have been on numerous occasions to sample there evening menu and sunday carvery aswell, everytime the food has been very good and we have had no reason to complain.
Everyone that attended our wedding commented on the beautiful location and how lovely the food was. The staff have always been helpful and accomodating and couldn't have done more. The service on the day was speedy and professional and went without hitch. Julie was with us for the majority of the day overseeing every part of it including contacting my florist who had forgotten the top table flowers to arranging the childrens activities outside.
The rooms are basic but clean and the hospitality tray is a nice touch.

I have noticed that since our wedding one of our 'guests' has posted a not very favourable review - I know I shouldn't comment but why they feel they need to berate a venue on the variety of crisps they sell goes over my head! also considering they had a 3 course sit down meal and a large evening buffet I feel this may be the least of their problems. I must also point out that they didn't stay at the hotel. Those guests that did felt they received good value for money especially considering the all you can eat buffet breakfast.
As a side note many of our guests were pleased to discover that the bar tariff was reasonable considering the hotels remote location and wedding venue status.

Room Tip: The bridal suite overlooks the front lake which is beautiful to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Only stayed for one night but we found it to be a brilliant hotel in a beautiful, tranquil location. The room we had was clean and well appointed with a lovely en suite bathroom. The staff provided great service and excellent food both in the evening and at breakfast with a gluten free diet being catered to. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We would like to recommend this hotel to all! Just on way home from a lovely three night stay at Lakeview Manor. It's our second visit and we've had a lovely relaxing stay. The staff are great (Julie, Dom, Emily and many more). Thanks for a warm welcome and being so hospitable:). My daughter really loved her stay, she had lots of fun fishing and running around after the ducks was a highlight. We will definitely return soon for another relaxing stay. Also, must add that the food is to die for. Breakfast and dinner were cooked to perfection! Although, feel a pound or two heavier!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairol43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiton
6.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
57 reviews
4.7 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Tiverton
Travelodge Tiverton
#4 of 4 in Tiverton
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
216 reviews
12.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
469 reviews
12.0 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Manor

Address: Dunkeswell, Honiton EX14 4SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Price Range: £77 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lakeview Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Manor Hotel Honiton
Fishponds Hotel Honiton
Lakeview Manor Honiton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing