We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Break”
Review of Lakeview Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeview Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A beautiful location, surrounded by landscaped gardens and lakes. We were in room 24, based in a block of bedrooms 50 yards from the main hotel. We woke up to bird song and a lovely view to the woods and lake, The room was extremely clean, it felt cabin like, very cosy. The cooked breakfasts were amazing, cooked to order and very hot. We had one evening meal which was divine, tbone steak that melted in your mouth served with the biggest and tastiest onion rings I've ever seen. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, special mention to Kerry, who made us feel so welcome. I would highly recommend this hotel, we'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your review! We pride ourselves in making all guests feel comfortable and try to please in every department so I am glad that on this occasion we succeeded. We look forward to seeing you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at this hotel, the room was clean modern and warm, the food was excellent and the staff were very nice. This one is situated in the valley and is away from all the noise etc.
We had a lovely dawn walk around the lakes before breakfast.
We will be going back again!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and tranquility. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

As has been said before, this is more like a pub with rooms than a hotel. However, the beautiful and well kept grounds are far superior to most hotels we have stayed at. The sweeping drive and lake with ducks is the perfect setting for a wedding venue, of which they have many!
The hotel is off the beaten track, and there is nothing of real interest in Dunkeswell, apart from the Abbey and an airfield, which was responsible for some noisy little planes circling above.
The bar is cosy but drafty - it would have been lovely if the large woodburner had been lit, but with only a few people in the bar I guess it was not worth it. Dinner was fine - not amazing but quite acceptable. Wine reasonably priced but a limited choice.
Rooms, well those in the annexe were quite small. "Stables" was small but bright, Little Groom next door was dark, musty and so small you could not pass each other easily going round the bed! However, we asked to change and were happily relocated to No 7 upstairs, which was different again. Large bathroom, king size four poster bed and the most amazing view over the front lawns and lake. Go for this room if you have the chance! Only downside is that the walls are quite thin, and you could hear muffled conversation from next door.
Breakfast was lacking on the cold side, with no fruit, except a little grapefruit, no croissants etc, but this was made up for by the freshly cooked "full English", or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs etc. Toast was also freshly prepared which is always a bonus! Possibly the best cooked breakfast we have had in a hotel for a long time.
Lakeview Manor does feel more like a wedding venue or small conference centre, with it's large hall and marquee, but it is worth visiting for the grounds and the helpful and friendly staff, who couldn't do enough for you.
If you like antique shops do visit Honiton, as there are dozens of them in and around the town!

Room Tip: As said above, Little Groom is very small. Stables is small but fine, no 7 is large with 4 poster &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teljan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Our grounds are very special to us so we are glad that you enjoyed them. Room 7 is our bridal suite which is a treat so we are pleased that this was available for you to use. Your comments about the cold side to breakfast have been noted and thank you for the good comments on the hot options!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We went here in Summer for a wedding. It was very hard to find, there was a road closure and no other way than the wrong way down a very narrow one way lane/track. Bit of a nightmare, not their fault of course.

We arrived and attended the wedding ceremony which was beautiful in the conservatory. However, the rain shower halfway through meant we couldn't hear anything of the vows! Drinks after were fine and the grounds are stunning. Perfect for wedding pictures.

Food- lovely and good service.

Drinks- Quite high prices and service wasn't great at busy times.

Accommodation- This was possibly the MOST bizarre layout of rooms imaginable. The bride had sorted us all out with rooms, we had paid £100 (apparently a reduced rate) and thought we were getting a room with a double and a put me up for our son. However what we got was 3 rooms off a small square living room area: one double, one single, one twin. The living room had a sofa bed. We had to share with another couple and a friend. Luckily we all knew each other very well!! Especially as the bathroom door was right outside our bedroom door and walls were paper thin. We had to push the twin beds together and sleep our son next to the wall as otherwise he would have had to sleep on the sofa bed in a living room on his own with people going in and out.
We also only had ONE key between the two couples and single person. I certainly would not pay £100 for this accommodation had it not been a wedding and I don't know how that room can possibly have cost £200 + whatever the single person paid. Insane!!!!

Breakfast- Fine although we had to wait around a lot for food to be served in the buffet.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank cmorr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your review of Lakeview Manor. I am glad that you appreciated the hotel for its grounds, food and good service. Sadly, I cannot do anything about the rain!

We feel that bar prices are reasonable for a hotel, the lagers and local beers range from £3.30 - £3.50, average for the area.

With regards to your accommodation, I would like to point out that on this occasion the rooms were allocated to yourselves by the bride and groom and not by the staff at the hotel. We are given a list of the guest allocations and are unaware of who is sharing a larger room. This room is ideally suited for a family of up to 5, with the addition of a sofa-bed if required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Visited here on a Sunday with a large pre-wedding visit group. Beautiful winters day so we saw it at its best and it is a real gem. Let’s get the food out of the way first. I honestly cannot recall having a better carvery and I have had a few over the years. Really lovely choice of veg and none of your sloppy cauliflower cheese and no sign of broccoli!! Choice of three meats. I don’t normally go for beef but it was so beautifully cooked I couldn’t resist. Everything perfect even the cracking! (I know I didn’t have the pork but please don’t tell anyone!!)
Starters looked really nice and a bit different but nobody plumped for these with most opting to sample the puds which again were faultless.
Good choice of wine but I was very happy to see with a wedding on the horizon that they had really good choice of beer (Otter and Dartmoor) and ciders.
The best thing about this place for me though was the staff. We were a group of 18 that at the last moment grew to 22 but the staff dealt with this without a murmur. They were extremely busy with another party of 40 but everything ran extremely smoothly. The chef was really good humoured and came over to see if everything was ok after the meal which was a really nice touch but seemed typical of the place. I can see why our friends chose this place. I can’t wait to spend two nights here in November but think we will be back for the carvery before then. In fact I know we will be back for the carvery before then!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank andwendads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to greeting you again in the near future and hope that you will be every bit as happy as on your first visit. p.s. don’t tell everyone you pinched the crackling!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We first stayed at Lakeview 3 years ago. We loved the location and our time there but unfortunately I had been unwell just before our stay and was unable to enjoy it fully. This time I was in perfect health! We found the hotel with no problems at all and were warmly welcomed by Kerry. Not only were we given clear and concise directions on locating our room (no. 23), but we were asked at reception if we would like details of wifi access. I was very impressed with this as I've had numerous trips back to reception in various other hotels to get wifi info, having already checked in! We stayed for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant both nights. The food was wonderful, as was the wine. On the 2nd night there was a private party on and whilst we understand this got quite 'lively' later in the evening, we were unaware on the most part of there being a large event on. The room was large, very clean and had a wonderful view. Small touches like there being sufficient uht milk pots for at least 2 cups of tea/coffee each were very welcome and put Lakeview a cut above other hotels. We will be back again - and won't leave it 3 years next time!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pootle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

I am so pleased that you were looked after so well by the staff here at Lakeview Manor. It is wonderful to know that you are feeling much better and enjoyed the hotel and grounds to their full extent. Hopefully we will see you again soon and not have to wait another three years!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We had a Beautiful stay at lakeview manor for a Weekend Away was perfect for getting away from everyday stresses surrounded by tranquil scenery! Hotel staff where very welcoming and friendly and the food was brilliant would definitely stay again :) thank you

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Lakeview Manor, we are glad that you enjoyed your experience here with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiton
6.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
57 reviews
4.7 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Tiverton
Travelodge Tiverton
#4 of 4 in Tiverton
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
216 reviews
12.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
468 reviews
12.0 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Manor

Address: Dunkeswell, Honiton EX14 4SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Price Range: £77 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lakeview Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Manor Hotel Honiton
Fishponds Hotel Honiton
Lakeview Manor Honiton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing