We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect❤” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeview Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeview Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Honiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect❤”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We got married at Lakeview in April, we love the venue and knew it would be perfect. A massive thank you to ALL the staff you all made our day. The food was gorgeous I wanted to eat it all again. All our guests have said the day was amazing and not one they will forget. Thank you so much Lakeview manor for everything. J&S x

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouncybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
To J & S, the happy couple, we wish you every happiness in your years together. Thank you for your review, we do try to make your wedding day perfect in every way. We hope that you will come back and celebrate your anniversary here next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    84
    29
    13
    11
See reviews for
51
145
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

10th May 2014 - a date that will be remembered for a very long time! Our daughter & fiance chose Lakeview for their wedding venue, a good 45 minute drive from their home town, which initially left us a little puzzled as to why?....
When we made our very first visit, through the windy country lanes and down a narrow leafy lane into the entrance of Lakeview - we had our answer! Despite the pouring rain, we had to stop the car just to take in the natural beauty of the gardens and rustic charm of the stone buildings that greeted us....stunning. Typical mum even shed a few tears and set about briefly exploring the beautifully converted 'outbuildings', which were to be our rooms for the wedding night and then joined the rest of the family for a Sunday roast in the main part of the hotel. The beauty of the outside was again inside - a rustic cosy bar opening out into a beautiful conservatory with views in every direction over the beautifully manicured lawns, lake and surrounding countryside, with the natural light streaming in. The smell of a good Sunday roast, smiling staff and a hilarious bar steward was topped of by a generous and excellent meal. Just when I thought it couldn't get any better, my daughter then opened the double conservatory doors at the far end to show me the 'marquee' we had heard so much about!....The rain, by then was thundering on the roof of this soft white amazing space...and not a leak in sight! I reluctantly, left Lakeview very happy, overwhelmed and looking forward to seeing it again...which we did during the course of the wedding arrangements and for me, each time we pulled in, it just got better. Getting to know 'Julie' - a true 'wedding angel' who manages every bride's dream wedding with ease, was a real pleasure - and whatever her salary is - it's not enough!! On the day, she and her team delivered 100% from morning to night. The food, service and our apartment (Upper Clock Tower) were all perfect, as was the whole day....and there she was again in the morning with a great breakfast, helping us pack up and mopping floors - an amazing lady she is! Lakeview is the perfect wedding/party venue ...my only advice is to book early!

Room Tip: The 'Upper Clock Tower' - 1 double and 2 singles, large bathroom and lounge - lots of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear tearful mum, thank you for your wonderful review, you paint a vivid and beautiful picture of our venue. Your daughter and now son-in-law make a fabulous couple and we were pleased to be a part of their very special day. To work with you all to make the arrangements for their day was a joy. We wish you all the very best of luck in your future lives. From your wedding angel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very disappointed with the ' upgraded room' no 22 to say the least, hence we refused to stay the night. We waited about ten minutes to be checked in as the the staff were only concerned about the wedding that was taken place. You really do not expect your room to be overlooking an old shed, and be expected to stay in a very tired chalet !!!. NOT WHAT THE PICTURES ON THE INTERNET SHOW.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Issy3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room and that you were unable to stay the night. We try to accommodate all guests whether they are hotel or wedding guests. Your original booking was for Room 7 on a date for which you were unable to stay, we altered your arrival date and informed you that the original room was unavailable and allocated you the best room we could. This room has had a brand new bathroom with a power shower, rated by other users as “the best shower we have ever had”. We have also renewed all the soft furnishings. I have attached the view from the doorway of Room 22, yes there is a rustic building to the side but there also beautiful views of the of the lake and grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

on the 19/4/14 we got married at the lakeview,we fell in love with the place and setting when we first viewed it and knew it would be perfect,anyway Julie and her team went above and beyond to make our day as perfect as it could be,the food was gorgeous (and hot)!there was excellent service and all the staff couldn't do enough to help,we cant say enough about this place and would highly recommend it for a wedding or just something to eat or a drink.All our guests commented on the place and the food,if Julie reads this thanks very much you made our day perfect Damien and mel

Room Tip: all the rooms are equally as good as each other,wouldnt of minded any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your day with us and wish you many happy years together, We look forward to seeing you again soon. Congratulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lovely idyllic spot, nice bar area (where I sat and worked on emails because the young man on reception helpfully told me that wifi was too good in the rooms) excellent restaurant with varied menu and unique styled bedroom - I was in one called The Stables in the outbuildings. Electric Shower did not work but these things happen and had I called reception I am sure someone would have tripped a fuse somewhere to get it going.

I paid under £70 for B& B which I thought about right but I would have been unhappy had I paid full rate. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Appears to be In the middle of nowhere so plan to eat in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImpBublinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you had a problem with the shower which had tripped a fuse.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the peaceful bar area and restaurant facilities and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Have recently returned from Lakeview Manor near Honiton and again we had a lovely time. Thanks to all the staff from booking through to checkout for their friendly and efficient service. Although Honiton is a fair way from where we live we have chosen to visit for a 2 or 3 day stay for the last three years and my husband enjoys fishing the lakes at the hotel (this time 25 carp around the 7 to 8lbs weight caught on sweetcorn and bread). The rooms are clean and well stocked with toiletries and tea, coffee and biscuits and breakfast is well cooked and extremely hot when it arrives at the table. Evening meals taken at the hotel were well presented and tasty. Whilst there we visited Killerton (National Trust property near Exeter and Sidmouth - both around 30 minutes away). In a more easterly direction we also visited Lyme Regis about 40 minutes.

Room Tip: Because we had fishing equipment we were pleased as always to be placed in a Courtyard room which ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita_K227129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about Lakeview Manor! We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves again and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Tried many times to get this hotel but it is always booked up with weddings. This time we were lucky they had one room available so we jumped at the chance. Unfortunately we were very disappointed, we had room no 5, very small with a shared bathroom. Fortunately there was no one in no 6 so we had the bathroom to ourselves. We were not informed of this when booking.

We could not turn the heating off so we left the window open and the noise from the water pipes kept us awake all night. It would have been less noisy sleeping outside. The bathroom is ok but the shower is very weak. We asked for an early morning call and they forgot about it.

Food was reasonable and plentiful, staff very friendly. The grounds are amazing, the ducks calmly crossing the drive and landing on the lake was a delight to watch.

The place is well hidden away and has plenty of wooded area to go walking in.

Room Tip: Check that you do not share a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philomenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
I am sorry you were disappointed with your room. Normally we use room 5 and 6 as a family suite and only occasionally use room 5 as a double when we have no other double rooms available, the adjoining room is always closed off when this is the case so that you are guaranteed privacy.
If you would like to return please contact us and ask for myself I will ensure that you have a free upgrade to one of our recently refurbished rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiton
4.8 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Manor

Property: Lakeview Manor
Address: Dunkeswell, Honiton EX14 4SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lakeview Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Manor Hotel Honiton
Fishponds Hotel Honiton
Lakeview Manor Honiton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing