We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
59
54
15
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
54
15
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmiddle of a housing estategood sizefour posterthatched buildingrestaurant menuresident dogfamily mealan evening mealbrilliant foodroom was largeold farm housefunction roompiping hothis teamexcellent stayvery pleasant staya great nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an inn, not an hotel. It is an historic building and has clearly been subject to a lot of renovation. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed if a little dated, but then again this is not the "Four Seasons" and the tariff is reasonable in consideration. There is a large bar and a separate restaurant (which is unusual these days) plus a comfortable sitting area. I only stayed over night but would have no hesitation in staying hera agian even for a short break. The food in the restaurant/bar is excellent and there is good beer. Access to the hotel is a bit unusual as sometime in the past (I would guess around 40 years ago) it has been swallowed up by a housing devlopment. The English breakfast is literally one of the best examples of this over used phrase I have even encountered. Full marks!!

Room Tip: I had room number 1 as previous reviewers complained the room 6 has a haunted kettle. Number 1 only has a haunted wardrobe LOL!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Farang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed two nights to attend nearby wedding. Excellent room - extremely comfortable and well appointed. Friendly welcome and service. Delicious food from wide menu and a full English breakfast if needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

bit bizzare this place!!!!!, first and foremost the place is clean albiet it is a pub with rooms, the stairs up had a bit of a whiff, toilets and beer!!!!. Room comfortable, bathroom needs a facelift, food pub grub ok. however the bizzare and the strange. arrived damp bank holiday, shown room, ok not bad on first viewing. bizzare setting old thatched building in a council estate, just of A30 strange. made a cup of tea, the kettle came on again 15 minutes after making tea, re boiled and turned off. went downstairs to pub meal, few drinks. before retiring asked vendor, nice Portuguese chap time for breakfast 8.30 to 10.00. slept, woke and went downstairs for breakfast not a soul about. cleaners came in about same time, said landlord normally up and about, he took some knocking up 9.30. obviously had a few night before ha. full english 5 out of 10. prior to breakfast, made another cup of tea, again ten minutes later kettle re boiled and switched off. twighlight zone or what. I am just wondering if this place is haunted!!!!!!!!!!!! quite bizzare. its ok for nighst stay other than that mmmmmm note sure!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: not room 6 haunted kettle!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a delicious vegetarian meal at The Heathfield. The menu has changed lately with some new dishes added. I like the fact that you can eat in the restaurant bit or the pub. We prefer the pub but others may like to be quieter. The pub has a good atmosphere and you can park right outside. Although it is a bit out of town The Heathfield is worth seeking out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LMitchell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights , to attend a family wedding nearby. Our room was quiet, large , clean and very comfortable, and the bathroom was a very good size . Lots of very hot water for shower/bath. The only thing lacking was a full length mirror in our room ( we ladies do like to check ourselves out before facing the world !). Breakfasts were good, freshly cooked, and we had one evening meal which was excellent - large portions and very tasty. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again if back in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kate l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews