We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family holiday, we will be back”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roanna R
1 review
“Perfect family holiday, we will be back”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just returned from a week staying in the Granary on Stonehayes Farm with our 4 year and 20 month old children. It's a fantastic place to stay especially for those with kids. Our two loved chasing the chickens, collecting the eggs, feeding the sheep/pigs. The playhouse/swings/slide/trampoline in the play area was brilliant, the scenery and views beautiful. The owners couldn't have been nicer. Our welcome pack included wine/scones/freshly baked bread/eggs which was all delicious. There were stair gates/cot/highchair ready for our son. So much to do within the area and a wonderful place to stay - we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you it was lovely to meet you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again at Stonehayes.
Les and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Recently stayed for a week in Linhay cottage. Equipped with everything we needed and furnished to a high standard.
The owners were very helpful and friendly but not as friendly as the chickens who entertained us all week, even meeting us as we parked the car each day.
We were 3 adults but would imagine younger guests would love the animals and the playground equipment provided.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you it was lovely to meet you all pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Les and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leg0head
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Grandad’s cottage for two weeks in July. This is the smallest but there was ample room for a couple sharing. The cottage is located in the courtyard of a charming farm easily accessed via a typical Devon country lane off the main route to the South West. The farm is surrounded by picturesque fields and hills on all sides. A small river passes at the bottom of the field. There are chickens, geese and sheep and many types of wild birds on the farm. It is situated a 5 minute drive from the historic market town of Honiton, or a 12 minute cycle through beautiful lanes through the Otter Valley as we found out. There are plenty of quaint shops, tea rooms, pubs and nice places to eat in town or a short drive away. If you like coffee, cakes and cream teas Honiton is for you. There are also large supermarkets for stocking up if you are self-catering.
The cottage was tastefully refurbished combining modern with the old farm features. It had a nice comfy bed and powerful shower. It was kitted out with a new kitchen with everything you could possibly need including fridge, washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, cooker, iron etc. A very nice touch was the welcome pack that consisted of lovely homemade bread, jam, butter, eggs, milk, scones, tea, coffee and a bottle of Prosecco. There’s Wi-Fi, a TV and a nice dedicated garden for each cottage with its own barbecue and outside table and chairs. Views from the gardens are stunning. There are freshly laid eggs, sausages and bacon on sale for very reasonable prices; I just wish we had taken more home. There is plenty on site for children to do and explore.
We were there for a cycling holiday and it was perfect. There was a secure place to store our bikes and lots of local routes through the surrounding villages and Blackdown Hills. We rode to the coast; Sidmouth, Branscombe, Beer, Seaton and Lyme Regis. All worth a visit and within easy range on bikes, if you’re fit, or by car. We also had day trips to Dartmoor and Exmoor where the cycling was stunning. It was nice being able to leave the car behind as it was safe cycling back from the pub in the quiet country lanes.
We would highly recommend staying here. The facilities are excellent and the hosts, Lesley and Les, are wonderful. They leave you alone but are always on hand to make sure you have a perfect stay and have everything you need. Their attention to detail is commendable. The cottage was immaculate and spotlessly clean. There are well kept window boxes and hanging baskets full of flowers everywhere and bird tables and feeders attracting the local wildlife.
In summary ten out of ten, I can see why guests keep returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review and kind words it means a lot to us. We are pleased you enjoy your holiday with us and hope to see you again in the future. best wishes Les & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was our second stay here and we had a great time. We travelled with our small son who is two. He loved it here and the animal feeding was a particular highlight. Cottages are lovely and an excellent standard. It's a great base for the coast and the local town of Honiton. Would recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind words it was great to see you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes Les & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19JR76
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our sixth time visiting Stonehayes Farm, and we will return again.

Stayed in the Cider House which is a lovely building with an open plan downstairs and two bedrooms upstairs. Bathroom is lovely with a powerful shower.

The house has it's own garden area with BBQ and patio furniture, as well as a garage to park the car in. There are also wild rabbits which make an appearance in the garden!

Les and Lesley are always extremely helpful and friendly. The kids love feeding the chickens & ducks and collecting eggs, feeding the lambs and giving our scraps to the greedy pigs!

Lesley's homemade loaves are beautiful and the bacon and sausages from their own pigs are lovely and tasty.

There's a kids play area and trampoline and a small football pitch (5 aside size). At the bottom of the hill there is a river with a BBQ facility.

Cannot speak highly enough of this place!

PS, don't leave your bathroom window open all night with the light on unless you want to start your own moth collection!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Our bed was a bit creaky. Every time you move it makes a noise.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you for all your kind words its great to see returning guests and watching the children grown up and helping more with the animals. Look forward to your next visit. Lesley & Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne-mari...
1 review
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed recently in the Granary with our 2 children aged 4 and 2. The cottage had was lovely with lots of room and all of the facilities we needed for the weeks stay. The play area outside was a hit with the kids and it was very nice to be able to let them run around safely just outside the cottage door and also for thme to play with the other children staying there too. Every evening we fed the animals and collected eggs which both kids really enjoyed.
The farm is close to Honiton and all of the main routes so it is very easy to get away on day trips to places such as Sidmouth, Lyme Regis and Crealy adventure park. We loved our stay and will be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review it was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again at Stonehayes. Les & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C A
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday ”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fantastic accommodation in a beautiful setting and the hospitality is great! Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind words it was lovely to see you again hope to see you again at Stonehayes, Les & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing