We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming well equipped cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
Plenty of space to play on the lawn or just relax and take in the view.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plenty of space to play on the lawn or just relax and take in the view.
The beautiful Otter Valley, the cottage roof is in the foreground. The front of the cottage.  Showing both bedrooms and lounge windows.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Plenty of space to play on the lawn or just relax and take in the view.
The beautiful Otter Valley, the cottage roof is in the foreground.
The front of the cottage.  Showing both bedrooms and lounge windows.
The lavendar hedge at the front of the cottage, a perfect spot to sit.
The sun's out!  Picnic anyone?
The welcoming, comfortable lounge with woodburner and amazing views out the window.
A well-equipped kitchen with everything you need.
The large utility room with washing machine, dishwasher, microwave and sink for muddy clothes.
This bedroom has an en-suite shower room accessible for all, including wheelchair users.
The spacious, accessible to wheelchair users en-suite shower room.
Plenty of room at the sink!
This bedroom can be made up as two single beds (shown here) or one king size bed.
Relax in the luxurious, twin-ended bath.
You could find some of this delicious home-grown and home-cooked produce in your welcome hamper!
Upottery village.
A lovely beach close to the cottage.
One of our favourite walks, alongside the River Otter.
A hidden lane.
Early morning mist; if you wake up early enough, this could be the view from your window.
Springtime bluebells.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Pamela C
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 7 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Anne had thought of everything which we might need. We had a 9 month old baby with us and she had selected suitable toys from the large selection available. We had fresh home baked bread and cakes awaiting our arrival. Lovely setting in the Otter Valley with many walks on the doorstep. Definitely somewhere to which we'd like to return.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2018
Dear Pamela
Thank you for coming to stay at Otter Rise, it was lovely to meet you all and we are so pleased that you liked the cottage and the goodies.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
Anne and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura2323...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay was absolutely amazing. The cottage is so cosy and has everything you need. Anne was amazing - she made homemade bread and cupcakes for our arrival and also brought us a box of fruit and veg - she could not have been kinder. The location was fantastic. Great for dogs and children. One of the best cottages we have stayed in. We will definitely be back xxx

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
Hi Laura
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your recent stay at Otter Rise.
We're looking forward to seeing you all again one day.
Best wishes
Anne and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suze20156...
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Birthday Holiday”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic place to stay! Every eventuality covered. Even our dog was provided with a food and water bowl, and towels for her muddy paws. What a change to find somewhere that truly welcomes dogs. I was just so thrilled. And then.... freshly baked bread, marmalade, cupcakes and mini chocolate eggs. What a welcome. The cottage is perfect. So clean and eat and tidy. The kitchen is so well stocked. The only teeny-weeny annoyance was the metal-framed bed in one of the rooms that did squeak every time I moved. There really is nothing to complain about. It really is simply perfect. We visited Lyme Regis, Tarr Steps, Watersmeet and everywhere in between. It amazing what you can cram into 4 days! We will definitely be visiting again. Anne and Chris, you are fantastic. Thank you.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for choosing to come and stay at Otter Rise recently, it was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased that you had a lovely birthday time at the cottage and exploring the area.
I am sorry that the bed was squeaky during your stay, we would have been happy to pop down and silence it for you had we known, it has now been dealt with!
We're really looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future and if it happens to be around your birthday, I'll bake you a birthday cake next time!
With best wishes
Anne and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
braganca4...
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rooms with a view”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

As promised: Quiet, lovely views and well-equipped. Freshly-made bread and cakes on arrival. Took the dog to Sidmouth and Exmouth for romps on the sandy beaches (we recommend dog-friendly Dukes on the Sidmouth seafront). Note that some beach areas are, understandably, restricted for dogs from the start of May. Colyton and Sidbury are two inland villages worth exploring. Nearby Honiton has a good range of shops. A very relaxing few days.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Otter Rise and exploring this beautiful part of East Devon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Mar 2017
Dear Karla
Thank you for coming to stay at Otter Rise recently, it was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the weekend you spent here so much.
We hope to see you again in the future,
Best wishes
Anne and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
Dear Will
Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review, we really enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Otter Rise.
We're looking forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Best wishes
Anne & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
D1109NWsa...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This was our second visit to Otter Rise and certainly won't be our last.
Anne is the perfect host and left us delicious bread and ginger cupcakes on our arrival.
The accommodation is wonderful and the views are wonderful.
The walks around the cottage are perfect to tire the dog out so that he will sleep on front of the wood burner!!
I really cannot recommend Otter Rise enough, thanks Anne.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Hi Sam
Thank you for your lovely review, we were delighted that you chose to return to Otter Rise again. I'll try to do different cakes next time we see you, just so you don't get bored!
Looking forward to seeing you again in the future,
Best wishes
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.