We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely christmas stay in gamekeepers”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to Yeo Farm - Topsham Bridge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Yeo Farm - Topsham Bridge
picnic and barbeque area for 12-14 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Entrance to Yeo Farm - Topsham Bridge
picnic and barbeque area for 12-14 people
Beautiful 12th century lounge with Jotul Wood Burner
Upstairs Master Bedroom
Dining room and table for 12
Traditional Devon Long House lounge with oak floors
Dining Room and library
Bath Room with Teak Bath (Isle of Skye)
West Wing Bedroom with en-suite
Middle Bedroom
Oil Fired AGA in the kitchen
Upstairs double bedroom
Yeo farm side with amazing 12 person artic hot tub
Yeo farm private camp site
New luxury shower added 2017

No more leaks !
Chill out area and barbeque
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Loddiswell, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
statusquo...
kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely christmas stay in gamekeepers”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

3 adults and 2 children stayed here over christmas 2015. the owner charles and his estates manager chris welcomed us when we arrived and made us feel very much at home from the start. the location and siting of this typical looking devonshire home is perfect. if you like the look of devon, then this farm is for you. all rooms were very clean, comfortable, and extremely homely. both chris and charles have a totally in depth knowledge of the surrounding area, restaurants, pubs, tours, and many other places of interest for people and children of all ages. you cant go wrong by staying here, were going to stay again for sure. top marks all round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: best beds i have ever slept in.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveinLo...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent large farmhouse in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked Yeo Farm for our annual new year week away, 13 of us in total across the week.

Yeo Farm is by far one of the best properties we've ever stayed in, especially for the price. It's a large farmhouse set in beautiful grounds in the Avon valley with a small stream running through the garden that runs into the Avon River at the bottom of the garden.

Each of the bedrooms is large and very well decorated. The living room, with open fire, is large but cosy, and easily fit everyone in for film nights - happily since the internet is not fast (that's rural life, and the farmhouse is very isolated), the house comes with full sky movies packages and a large new TV. The dining room has a large table that fit all of us around it, along with a library of books, xbox games (And console) and DVDs. The kitchen is fantastic, and well-stocked with cutlery, crockery, pans, etc. Having an oven, a hob and an aga means plenty of cooking space too.

We used the utility with washing machine and tumble dryer, and the large separate pantry with bits and pieces left over from previous guests - I always find this useful, as I usually forget to order stock or herbs etc! Plenty of bathroom space too, with hot water.

In addition Charlie and his spaniel were on-site pretty often over New Year at the other property at the end of the drive, and he was very helpful with questions and any minor problems, and would check in with us - much appreciated. We're not a particularly quiet crowd, and it was New Year, but Charlie was totally relaxed and seemed to enjoy having a little life in and around the house. Our fireworks apparently went down well with what few neighbours in the valley could see!

The South Hams is obviously stunning, with plenty to do, including hiking on the SW Coast Path and on Dartmoor, and for rainy days Dartmoor Villages, Salcombe and Dartmouth are great places to visit.

I'd highly recommend Yeo Farm - we'll definitely keep a lot of happy memories from our time there.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Thanks Steven,

So glad u all had a great NY at the farm, hope to see you all back again perhaps in the spring.
Regards to all the lads.

Charles x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fabulous venue for large group in all weather”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This really is a super place to stay from first to last. The welcome and advice from Chris is first class. Our group of 12, ages from 21 to 82 had a great time.

The kitchen with aga, cooker, microwave is ideal for holiday cooking, we had a Mary Berry bake off on a wet day. The dining tables inside and outside are ideal for a big group.
Swimming in the river across the fields is an option, best with wet suits and walks along the old railway or up to the secret garden are great fun.
We enjoyed the wet room power shower and the other bathrooms and bedrooms provide for peaceful sleep.

Tips for self caterers. There is a big Tesco at Ivybridge, Morrisons and Co-op in Totnes and similar in Kingsbridge. Closer at hand, a surprisingly well stocked Spar at California Cross (3 miles) and a Spar at Loddiswell.

There is plenty to do in the area. Our favourites were the round robin boat train and bus trip from Totnes, beaches at Bigbury and Salcombe (South beach) and Slapton (shingle only but great views).

Our huge error was to try to reach the famous Bantham beach on a sunny August day at 1 pm. Crazy. There is not that much parking and a 2.8 mile long narrow road with very few passing spots. This is a case of leave early to avoid disappointment and plan to stay all day.

Back at base the half size snooker table and gym are very good.

In short, we loved it. Peace and quiet with lots of options.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and family dining after a power shower.
Liked least: Narrow roads. Need to be clear where you are going and pick good timing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for a great review, your honest review reflects the whole ethos of what Yeo farm is all about. Myself and Chris have put a lot of effort in making families truly welcome to the estate.

Hope to see you back at Yeo some time soon

Very kind regards

Charles smith owner
Chris Wigg manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chezzy66
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful destination for truely relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Yeo farm the end of June and wow, we were so happy. The moment we drove up the driveway I instantly felt calm. The property is so vast and the atmosphere is of a world of its own. We had young children & teenagers, they all had a great time. It was wonderful for us to know the kids could run free and play in a safe environment. They loved the gym and Billiard table as did the adults. The men made great use of the gym. We all made good use of the large spa and even the swimming hole in the gorgeous river. I loved the kitchen. I cooked a meal on the Aga and it will be one of our favourite memories, 11 of us enjoying the atmosphere in a place that felt like home.

It was lovely to meet and become holiday friends with the family in the other house. Noting that it is a large estate and even though we made friends, we were not too close in proximity that we felt our holiday/catch up was compromised at all. The house was gorgeous, more than we expected for the price. I looked at other properties in the area before settling on Yeo farm and found if they had the size they were more expensive, if they had the price they were not big enough. We were very happy with the facilities and the management we met and spoke to were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was a bother for them.

We loved the fact we could explore Bantham beach, Salcombe and other beautiful areas of Devon and come back to such a lovely home. If your looking for a beautiful country estate, this is it, if you want ultra modern, not for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Trcue country estate, and value for money
Liked least: Did not stay long enough
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnicleL...
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family get together”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We love our stay at Yeo farm . The house was well equipped, with all mod cons. The outside space is vast and the children loved the natural outdoor swimming pool down the river.

There is lots to do at yeo farm apart from the obvious which is to be able to relax in the peace and tranquilly of its location. The hot tub is a nice addition along with the use of the gym.

The kitchen has an aga which is very novel for us . There is an array of cookbooks to help you should you not be used to an aga. But additionally a double oven is available.

The property is dog friendly, but you would never had known with the standard of cleanliness of the property .

Chris the grounds manager has a fantastic knowledge of the area and was very welcoming.

We could nt fault yeo farm and will book again for next year. Thanks

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip B
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful, tranquill, comfortable, relaxing retreat with all that you need.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The farmhouse is extensive with plenty of room for everyone. It has some wonderful features including a fully functioning Victorian shower - an experience not to be missed!
The house is very warm with full central heating, an Aga in the kitchen & woodburner in the lounge which makes for a cosy retreat in the evenings.
Set in the middle of 120 acres, with the Avon river running through, it is the perfect location to get away from it all, while you are still only a short drive from the many excellent sandy beaches of the South Hams.
The games room proved to be a hit with training equipment including a multigym & a table tennis table for the more energetic and a snooker table for a more relaxing frame or two!
Chris, the estate manager, & Charlie, the owner were extremely friendly and welcoming, offering much help and advice; nothing was too much trouble, especially when my father was unfortunately taken ill during our stay.
I would thoroughly recommend Yeo Farm with its old character & charm for getting away from it all and recharging the batteries!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Victorian shower
Liked least: intermittent internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard R
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in early October for a week with my wifes extended family, ages ranging from under one year to over 80. Without exception everyone had a fantastic time. Charles the owner and Chris the manager were extremely helpful with advice on what to see and do. The property itself is great with lovely rooms and some wonderful period touches including an Aga and a Victorian shower and the grounds are delightful, we were fishing in the river most days or playing snooker in the games room if the weather was less good.

The surrounding area has lots to explore and any number of great pubs and restaurants if cooking on the Aga has lost it's appeal.

The whole family agreed we'd like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding grounds/river
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing