We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local pub, nice roaring fire dog and kid friendly”
Review of Loddiswell Inn

Loddiswell Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Loddiswell
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Very hospitable and supported local pub that does good basic pub food and operates the village takeaway. Explained on it's own website and elsewhere. We came to this lovely village in search of bespoke furniture and stumbled upon this very convivial pub. We recommend it as a Tripadvisor listing.
2 reviews
“Lovely local pub, nice roaring fire dog and kid friendly”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch, busy pub with really good food. Bar staff very accommodating with my dietary needs, when coming to order my food.

Well worth a visit and there local beers good to,

Very good value for money.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Proper local Devon pub with good quality well cooked food.”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Went on Friday for a drink, friends had food. Great steak and kidney pie, home made from scratch. Also mushrooms in garlic sauce as starter but eaten as main, man size portions! Also nice atmosphere, and refreshing change from corporate/group pubs. Definitely worth a visit!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathsUganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loddiswell, Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great company”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We are relatively new to the area and have been warmly welcome by Helen, the Landlady, and regulars alike.
Sunday roasts are the best I have had from a pub - just like home cooking and great value. We always treat ourselves to at least one Sunday lunch per month and more when friends are visiting! (Just remember to book)
The pub has a great atmosphere, with many extras throughout the year - well attended quiz nights (out of season), charity events, meal specials and a good value takeaway service (with free local delivery).
Kids and dogs are welcome - as long as they are well behaved and kept on a lead (only the dogs, of course!). Our kids love going there - as long as they get to choose what they eat (my daughter is particularly keen on the (home cooked) Ham, egg and chips!)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loddiswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family meal”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have been to the Loddiswell before. It's good food & very friendly. They do takeaways aswell as bar meals, with good deals on food on certain nights. They also do over 60's meals which are really good value. More local people should us it. Use it or loose it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Venessa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good 'pub grub' in village pub”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Always seem to have various deals on, advertised on boards on the roadside, especially out of season. Half price 'meat' day is a particular favourite as well as '2 for 1' roasts.
As we drove past last Saturday we noticed the board this time advertising free meals for children, so rang to book a table for 7.45pm that night, confirming the offer applied to one free child’s main meal per adult meal.
A cosy village pub where we have eaten many times and the food is always pretty good. Staff are friendly, if a bit frantic when trying to get meals out when busy.
The chicken curry was deemed as excellent and ‘too much to eat’. I had a medium rib-eye steak (£13.95) which came out rather more well done than medium. A16oz rump steak (£14.95) was complimented on, all the choices in our party of seven were enjoyed with no complaints.
Deserts were around £4.25 - a choice of about 5 - including banana split, various Salcombe ice creams, profiteroles (although had run out when we tried to order them), fresh raspberries and sticky toffee pudding.
Tables can be reserved and dining is either in the bar area or up a few stairs on a mezzanine level.
Service is a bit ad hoc and we waited 45mins to be served, but were warned when we booked that it would be busy.
When we came to pay, we were charged for the child’s meal, being directed to a notice that said the offer only applied between 5-7pm. No mention of this on the sign outside nor were we advised on booking, but could have been a problem if eating there was conditional on getting the offer.
When pointed out to the waitress, she apologised for the incomplete advice on the phone and for having to wait to be served.

Overall, a good meal enjoyed by our party, although slightly dampened not getting the offer we were expecting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolAnnBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loddiswell Inn also viewed

Kingsbridge, Devon
 
Aveton Gifford, Kingsbridge
 

Been to Loddiswell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing