We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Easdon Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Bovey Castle Hotel(North Bovey)
US$560
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$506
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart Hotel(Moretonhampstead)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mill End Hotel(Chagford)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gidleigh Park(Chagford)
US$440
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dartmoor Lodge(Ashburton)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
19
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Hugh and Lisa made us very welcome at their fantastic b & b . The breakfast was superb in the peaceful dining room , where you could watch the wild life . The location on the moors was very calming and the hosts paid attention to every detail . Would hope to return as it was a JOY highly recommended THANK YOU for our memorable stay

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothy044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Had the most delightful stay at Easdon Cottage. Our room was exceptionally clean and welcoming and Hugh and Liza made us feel very much at home. There were lots of thoughtful extras in our room and the 6' bed was extremely warm and comfy. Even though the house was centrally heated there were extra blankets and also an electric fire in our room. We spent our evenings in the sitting room by a roaring log fire, which brought back lovely nostalgic memories of a more sedate bygone age. Things got even better when breakfast was served. There was a wonderful choice of starters including home made granola.. The breakfast menu is a true delight for Vegans as they are so well provided for. The cooked breakfasts were cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. Our stay went all too quickly and we can't wait to return. Many thanks Hugh and Liza. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trav58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We had a lovely relaxing stay in this beautiful B&B. A gorgeous old cottage with an impressive history, in a very quiet spot. Lovely walk up onto the hills from the cottage. Lovely friendly hosts, fantastic vegetarian food (we had dinner one night as well as breakfast), very comfy, large room and a cosy lounge. Hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

What a warm enthusiastic welcome to Hugh and Lisa's beautiful cottage. We felt at home but cacooned in luxury by the extra little touches, the gorgeous food beautifully presented, and the sensitive service. This was our wedding anniversary, we even received a card! We would recommend without reservation, and hope to return ...

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liskeardlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We discovered Easdon cottage in a 'special places to stay' book and we keep going back. Hugh & Liza Dagnell's welcome is so warm and friendly, the bedroom is great, breakfasts perfection. You are their only guests so are made to feel special. They have a very comfortable sitting room they are happy to share with well behaved (!) guests, we've had many a good conversation late into the evening. Only downside I can think of is sometimes it rains! But seriously we've found its usually sunny in that part of Devon (as they are on the sheltered side of the moor) and then its just perfect with stunning scenery, lots of wildlife, village pubs, thatched cottages and the like. Have to mention its wonderfully quiet, cant hear any traffic at all (Easdon is at the end of the road). We like the country walking, which is hard to beat all around there, even popular places like Widecombe and Hay Tor (10mins down the road) are well worth visiting. But the real stunner is the display of bluebells in May time, not to be missed..
They have a self-catering unit ('The Barn') which we;ve never stayed at but looks very comfortable. The cottage overall is a traditional very old farm cottage, feels very original, with interesting and tasteful things all around, like old clocks, paintings etc. Garden is great, and they grow lots of their own veg and fruit. Oh yes the food is all vege and organic but if you are a meateater you wouldnt miss it as the breakfasts are the best we know anywhere. Only point to note is there is no pub in Easdon (which is only a tiny hamlet), but there are a number 10-15 mins drive away which do good food. But the walk to the nearby villages make an enjoyable and easy ramble. We found its location is close enough for easy day trips to the Devon coast, Plymouth, Eden project etc, so plenty to do. Overall highly recommended for a quiet relaxing holiday or short break
(oh I hope the owners dont mind me including a photo of them in their garden, but they are great folks and very much part of the whole experience of staying there, and I like the photo. Keep up the good work you two!) .
.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramblingboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews