We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pet and child friendly, spacious and peaceful.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hodgson29...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pet and child friendly, spacious and peaceful.”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A great place to stay to explore Devon, close to the village with plenty of pubs and shops and a good base to visit the area.
The Barn feels secluded and peaceful with a huge garden to the rear which was ideal for our two springer spaniels and 16 month old little boy to run around safely.
Lots of room inside with the open plan layout and two good sized bedrooms. Everything is well kept and in good condition. The owners were very friendly and close by next door, homemade shortbread and tea and coffee tray was a nice touch when we got there too.
The hot tub was ideal after a day out walking.
Our little boy left a piece of his train track behind which was kindly mailed back to our home address before we noticed it was missing.

We started looking for another cottage in Devon for 2018 but decided not to bother and booked up again at Butterdon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Butterdon Barn. What a lovely touch for the owners to have goodies ready for your arrival, and that they were able to return the missing piece of train track to you. We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year for another visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champ55sx
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Break in Devon”
Reviewed 9 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent secluded barn conversion at the end of a very narrow lane. Fantastic views over the moors. There is a hot tub at the side of the barn which Is of great benefit after wandering through woods and forests. The barn itself is large and open plan on the ground floor - kitchen facilities are good seating area is well laid out as well. Upstairs there are two large double bed rooms -- very comfy beds and linen, both bed rooms have good size en-suites.
We walked into Moretonhampstead a few times across the field -- 30mins approx. the Union pub is very good the food is great - ate there a couple of times - good prices VFM. -- also try Berto's (Italian) opposite the Bell Inn - check opening times great little place.
Overall nice place - great location - moorland views...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your review of Butterdon Barn, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed exploring the local area and the property's facilities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic barn conversion with lots of added luxuries. The hot tub was fantastic and we went in 4 nights out of 7 under the stars. Equally lovely was the wood burner which was all set up and ready to go. Huge comfy beds and gorgeous quilts the place was absolutely spotless. It is a lovely location close to dartmoor for lots of walking from as little or as much as you wanted. Sarah and Barry could not have been more helpful, you knew where they were if you wanted anything but was also given the privacy wanted. We will definitely be returning in the not to distance future and I would recommend this barn to anyone. Also The Union pub and Gateway Tearooms in Moretanhampstead where very dog friendly and the food was delicious, don't miss out !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and kind comments. Its great to hear that you were so happy with Butterdon Barn and had a great holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing