We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever roast dinner”

White Hart Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best ever roast dinner”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our first visit and will definitely be returning. If you are a traditionalist and love a Sunday roast this is the place to go, we had the roast lamb which was excellent the meat was tender and melted in the mouth, lots of roast potatoes and veg all well cooked, and amazing Yorkshire puds and really tastey gravey.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at White Hart Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your very enthusiastic review - it is much appreciated! We use fresh, local, seasonal produce wherever we can and we know this is reflected in the quality of the food we serve. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    36
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 night stay”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This delightful hotel was recommended by a friend and I wasn't disappointed. The decor was fresh and clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The meals were excellent.

The down side of this Hotel is not having their own carpark, and a lift, but that will spoil the charm of the inside.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at White Hart Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As a listed building, there are quite a few restrictions on what alterations we can and can't make and installing a lift is one of them. The hotel was built in the era of horses and carriages and again, we are unable to build a hotel car park as we are surrounded by equally old buildings, but the public car park is less than 100 yards away and the charges are reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will stop here again”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stopped off here by chance on way home for Sunday lunch. I'm glad we did, excellent roast, plenty of meat, plenty of everything really, lovely place, great service

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gazza2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at White Hart Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Sunday lunch. We use fresh, local and seasonal produce wherever we can, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. Hope you will stop off again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“consistently excellent”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our yearly visit to Morton would not be the same without a visit here. Lovely menus and well cooked food, the right size portions and very pleasant staff . Can't be faulted

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FusspotDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at White Hart Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Brief and to the point - and we appreciate it! Look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent price/quality value and wide choice”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I'm not a big eater, my partner is. I enjoy cooking and eating a wide range of dishes from various countries including some of England's classics, but dislike burgers etc. he is a junk food addict. The menu coped with our disparate tastes easily and the staff were marvellous, friendly and helpful, but never pushy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BarmyauntTenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at White Hart Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of our restaurant. We do offer a wide range of choices on our menu and try to cater for everyone - very pleased we got it right for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Hart Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
 
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to White Hart Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing