We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downright efficient....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Downright efficient....”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. I was with a group of eight walkers who stayed for three nights as we have done several times in the past. It is better and more efficiently run than ever. Nothing is too much trouble for Karen, the General Manager, Pippa and the rest of the staff. The accommodation is excellent by 3 star standards and it is hard to find fault with anything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review! We're pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, positive feedback is always appreciated by the team and we really value our customers' comments. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    60
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
55
125
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We got here because we needed a place to stay en route to exploring Dartmoor. The lovely little Moretonehampstead fits this purpose.

If you are travellers who are happy with a place to put your head down and have a hot shower, friendly welcome, decent breakfast and even a decent dinner ( pub style ) this place is fine.

However, beware that the rooms in th Mews annex are bare and basic, and that the noise from the street is significant. Apparently those in the main building over the bar are also very noisy.

If you are seeking for something more upmarket, and, like us, prefer beautiful, comfortable, authentic, clean and very classy - you'd be disappointed.
In other words, it is a 2-3 star place. At that, a very pleasant one. But it won't receive 4 stars in our book.
Reception staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Karen. Dinner was very nice, and pub very pleasant.

Room Tip: Away from the street and the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capetonian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. As your booking was last minute (on the morning of your arrival), our assistant manager informed you that we only had two rooms available, one over the bar area and one in the Mews Annex. Neither room was ideal for you, as you’d indicated you were a light sleeper, but you nevertheless accepted the quieter of the two in The Mews, as you really needed accommodation for the night – even though the room was a smaller ‘standard’ room.

We are indeed a 3-star country hotel. I am sorry that the room did not meet your expectations, should you return to our village, we would love to accommodate you in one of our more luxurious rooms.

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the aspects of our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stumbled across this beautiful village and hotel on the way through Dartmoor, (such a great find) the rooms were immaculate, brilliant food and exceptional hosts, already planning the trip back. Would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: try stay in the main hotel 'the Mews' rooms are great though get terribly hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your review and we're delighted that you liked the Hotel, Moretonhampstead and Dartmoor in equal measure!

We have adjusted the heating down but, as I am sure you can understand, one man's 'terribly hot' is another man's 'comfortable', but we will always do our best to adjust things. All we ask is that guests talk to us while they are here and let us know if there is anything they would like us to look at, and then we have a chance to see how we can help and make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on the Wolds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We found this hotel on the off chance as we were touring round Devon. We were hot and hungry with two dogs in tow and needed somewhere for all of us! We sat in the outside courtyard which was adequate it did need a little bit more dressing up! My son had three courses with the starter of parsnip and chestnut soup which according to him was delicious My daughter-in-law and I had the lamb pie which was very good. I finished with hot chocolate brownie with chocolate ice cream. All very delish!!.
Have no idea of the cost as it was a treat. I do recommend it wholeheartedly ..

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank seymour3751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we're delighted you enjoyed your meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlynch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were a fishing party of 10 staying overnight at the White Hart Hotel Moretonhampstead. We were allocated the whole of the 'Mews' annexe for our party. The welcome from Pippa the receptionist set the standard for our stay - she was warm, welcoming and extremely helpful. The Mews rooms were comfortable, well furnished & had a communal area with sofas (& a fridge), ideal for our fishing group's AGM. The bar had a good choice of local beers & ciders plus a nice cosy atmosphere. We dined - in style! - in the hotel's restaurant - food & service - excellent. Breakfast the next morning brought plenty of choice again with very good service. I, & I think that I speak for the rest of our party would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in a beautiful part of Devon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addisonchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review and we are pleased that your group enjoyed their stay with us. The Mews is ideal for groups and family gatherings and we are glad that it suited your needs so well. We hope you will come and hold your AGM with us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed for one night, including dinner and breakfast, for one night in February 2013 on a business trip having driven approximately 260 miles from Kent. (Nothing to do with the hotel itself but you should be aware that some of the routes leading to the village are very twisty, very narrow and with some single lane sections which, to say the least, deserve caution).

You can drop-off by the hotel but there no actual hotel parking. I therefore used a public car park (free at this time of year) a few hundred yards walk which is only likely to be an issue for me if the weather is bad (but I own an umbrella so not a major problem). One good thing about the parking is that you can pay for time to cover the next morning so, during the year when parking charges apply, I wouldn’t have to get out of my cosy bed and feed the meter.

My room (I think it was no.3) was spacious with a very comfortable double bed. It also had sofa and plenty of room to prepare for my business meeting the next day.

The hotel staff were helpful, attentive and, importantly, very friendly.

There is a good choice of drinks in the cosy friendly bar, wonderful food in the resturant and a superb breakfast that will set you up for the whole day.

The overall ambiance in this hotel (including the bar and restaurant) is professional but relaxed.

In short, I would happily sleep here, eat here, and drink here anytime.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Hotel and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The roads around Dartmoor are generally quite narrow which is, of course, all part of its charm! Being positioned where we are, in the middle of an old moorland town, it is sadly not possible for the hotel to have any parking of its own, but we do stress this on our website. As you pointed out the public car park is only a short walk away, the charges are very reasonable and do allow time in the morning so early starts are not essential!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way down to Cornwall. We are a family of five with three children aged 1,4 and 6. We stayed in their small annex building, a short walk away from the main hotel. We stayed in two adjoining rooms.

It was a lovely place to stay and I can't find anything to fault. The rooms were clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. Having an adjoining room was very useful with having young children. The beds were very comfortable, their were blackout curtains and the windows and of course, dartmoor is very quiet which all in all made for an excellent night's sleep! The staff were very pleasant and helpful and were able to find us a table for dinner.

The breakfast was excellent, as was dinner the previous night. I would happily recommend The White Hart to anyone.

Room Tip: The annex is a lovely place to stay as you feel you have your own space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joybe1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of the Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found the Mews such a flexible and convenient space for your young family, it is also an ideal option for groups or family gatherings. Do come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moretonhampstead
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
495 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,267 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
478 reviews
11.7 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
200 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: The Square, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moretonhampste...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a traditional old posting house at the centre of the small moorland town of Moretonhampstead set within the spectacular Dartmoor National Park. Under new ownership since early 2012, the White Hart Hotel dates back to 1639 and this historic Grade II listed building is being sympathetically refurbished to provide all modern comforts within a traditional setting. Our comfy sofa-filled lounge has a roaring log fire where you can relax and combine the delights of a traditional cream tea with the convenience of free wifi. An ideal base from which to explore this beautiful area of Devon, the White Hart has 20 well-appointed bedrooms in the main hotel and a further eight in a separate mews building. Our restaurant features the freshest local, seasonal produce cooked in a style that lets the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves. A free house, we stock a range of local real ales and have a handpicked wine list. DOGS - Dogs and Dartmoor go together. Dartmoor is great walking country and dogs are welcome everywhere in the hotel, except in the dining room. CYCLING - Dartmoor is a great area for cycling and we can offer secure bike storage, and have a drying room. SHOOTING - The area is popular for the sport of shooting and the Hotel is used regularly by shooting parties and we have a gun safe and have a drying room. GOLF - There are a number of good golf courses nearby and we can offer special rates with Bovey Castle Golf course, just 2 miles away, and Okehampton Golf Course, 12 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing