We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening dinner in country hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lyme Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely evening dinner in country hotel”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Had a fine evening meal here on bonfire night. We decided to book a table that same afternoon, the receptionist kindly advised a slightly earlier time and "would we like a small table in the bar to avoid a large party due in the dining room?" So we settled in the bar and had two lovely courses each of beautifully prepared and cooked dishes. The hotel lists exactly where all their ingredients come from, so you can look up on a map which local farm supplies what. All in all a very enjoyable meal, and at a very fair price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your very kind review and we're delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us. We think it is important to champion local food producers as it is a vital part of the local economy. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    60
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
56
129
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southerner up North
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Over the years I've stayed in many different types of accommodation across the UK & Europe. I've eaten in Michelin-starred restaurants as well as the most rustic affairs. A simple chorizo tortilla with a fresh properly grown tomato in the mountains of Spain can be as good as the most complex 20 course meal. This is not difficult but so many places in the UK get it so badly wrong and so many people put up with it. The glowing reviews on this site for some of the places I have stayed show a very low level of expectation and a distinct lack of discernment.

I'm happy to say that the positive reviews for the White Hart are on the money this time. Attentive, professional but yet relaxed staff. Well appointed, clean rooms with super comfy beds. Having just had a venison and rose hip venison pielet, followed by some properly cooked sea bass I am also suitably impressed by the food. A good wine list accompanied which included local wines of excellent quality. It would have been good to see a Nytimber but this is a very very minor point. Top marks to the manager and owner. Keep it up!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank HairyLetterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and for comparing us with such top notch places! We like to think we do what we do well, and your review endorses that. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, having booked at short notice.

The present owners/operators have been running this lovely old town center hotel for about a year. They are updating the place in stages. The ground floor lounge and dining room are done and look the part. Other areas remain to be done. We had a room that is yet to be done but it was clean, spacious and comfortable. Now that we know, we will ask for a renovated room next time.

To us the real win was the service. Nothing was too much trouble for the charming, bubbly staff. They made us very welcome.

The food was excellent too and fairly priced. Again the service was superb.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We wish the new team every success with this venture.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel and for your immensely positive comments - it is really appreciated by the team here, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Business has been taking me to Dartmoor almost every week since the start of the year and I've been staying at The White Hart regularly since Easter; it's become something of a second home.

I first wrote a review back on 29th April, after my first visit here. Six months (and several stays later) I thought it time to add another.

Okay, The White Hart has no gym, no swimming pool, no sauna, no gardens. Even the car park is a public car park 50 yards down the road. Do I care? No. Why? Because this hotel is so darned good in many other ways.

As hotels go, The White Hart is relatively small and a bit quirky. Located in the centre of Moretonhampstead, it's an old coaching inn that was totally (and tastefully) refurbished in 2012 and offers twenty-odd warm and comfortable, newly decorated rooms (some in a mews on the other side of the road) with the most incredibly comfortable beds.

That's not what makes this place feel like a second home though: It's the people who work there. I only stay over at The White Hart one or two nights a week but, every time I show my face there I get the same warm reception. They're warm and caring. All I do these days is pick up the 'phone and say "Hi, it's Duncan, will you book me in on......." It doesn't seem to matter who answers the 'phone, they all seem to know me!

I have to be honest here and say that the warmth isn't just restricted to the staff: The local folk who frequent the hotel make an outsider feel like an insider too. I have incredible memories of being taken on a tour of the local hostelry's and being in hysterics as my host teased one of the itinerants in a nearby public house with the prospect of a too-good-to-miss deal on a chainsaw.

If that's not enough to convince you to stay here, then The White Hart still has a trump card: The food here is (to quote my wife) "to die for". The menu's eclectic enough to cater for most tastes and as much of the food as is possible is locally sourced. It shows. The food served at The White Hart would put most top-class restaurants to shame. I've yet to have anything to eat that was less than outstanding. But don't think that that quality will cost you an arm and a leg. It won't.

I really can't praise this place highly enough. Hopefully, that's come across in this review. But, if anyone asks you about The White Hart just remind them: It has no swimming pool; no gym; no sauna; no gardens and no car park. We'd not want everyone to know how good it is, would we?

Room Tip: Room 2 has some great views - but it's up a couple of flights of stairs so isn't suitable fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan_Francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you so much - what a wonderful review! We think you've said it all really.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

2 night stay in October 2013. 10 of us filled the annex and 2 further rooms. Service excellent, food superb and very good value. Dogs welcome and mine slept in the room without any problems. The parking is in the town car park just down the road, not inconvenient and free overnight. Hotel has an old world charm, cosy and welcoming, we took the opportunity to visit the Transport museum in the old coach station, an interesting selection of vehicles, worth a visit. The other exhibition that we took in was the history of the local area in the gallery which was the old school again worth a visit. Walking in the area is excellent, varied and testing.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex are new, rooms in the main hotel are what you would expect from a very old buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

A very well managed hotel, two ladies run a very friendly and helpful team. The bar is warm and welcoming with three good draught ales. The food is excellent and good value, the bedrooms are a good size, well fitted and furnished and very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind review! We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We've eaten here a couple of times and decided to stay en route to Cornwall. We were not disappointed. Very welcoming staff and attractive reception/sitting area. Our room wasn't huge but nice and cosy. Very clean and nice touches like chocolates on the pillow. Our meal was really good and great just to tumble upstairs to bed. Breakfast good too. Despite being on the road it was quiet at night in our room. We woulkd definitely go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyWatlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel – we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moretonhampstead
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
505 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,299 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
491 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
11.3 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: The Square, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moretonhampste...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a traditional old posting house at the centre of the small moorland town of Moretonhampstead set within the spectacular Dartmoor National Park. Under new ownership since early 2012, the White Hart Hotel dates back to 1639 and this historic Grade II listed building is being sympathetically refurbished to provide all modern comforts within a traditional setting. Our comfy sofa-filled lounge has a roaring log fire where you can relax and combine the delights of a traditional cream tea with the convenience of free wifi. An ideal base from which to explore this beautiful area of Devon, the White Hart has 20 well-appointed bedrooms in the main hotel and a further eight in a separate mews building. Our restaurant features the freshest local, seasonal produce cooked in a style that lets the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves. A free house, we stock a range of local real ales and have a handpicked wine list. DOGS - Dogs and Dartmoor go together. Dartmoor is great walking country and dogs are welcome everywhere in the hotel, except in the dining room. CYCLING - Dartmoor is a great area for cycling and we can offer secure bike storage, and have a drying room. SHOOTING - The area is popular for the sport of shooting and the Hotel is used regularly by shooting parties and we have a gun safe and have a drying room. GOLF - There are a number of good golf courses nearby and we can offer special rates with Bovey Castle Golf course, just 2 miles away, and Okehampton Golf Course, 12 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing