We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and efficient staff topped off with wonderful food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We could not fault the White Hart Hotel! It is a cosy country Hotel which is warm and welcoming. Great value for money! The staff were all very attentive and were genuinely interested in having a chat and making you feel welcome. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyWhaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I think it's fair to say our staff are genuinely proud of where they work and live and we enjoy welcoming people to the area and chatting to them. Dartmoor is a great place to visit and we are always happy to recommend places to visit and things to see and do. We hope you'll come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Christmas. The package was fairly expensive but from the minute we arrived the service & quality of every aspect of this moorland market town hotel was impeccable. Expertly run by Karen and her well trained team the hotel is smartly presented and the food varied and with local ingredients and plenty of it. Christmas Eve Dinner and Christmas Day Lunch, when we had 5 guests, were superb. Tasty, hot and served with aplomb. Our room was delightful and the bed the softest and most comfortable we had ever encountered. Our black lab was made especially welcome and all in all the whole thing was faultless. See you again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pubman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel – we are delighted to hear that you had such a great Christmas with us! Yes, well-behaved dogs are very welcome at the White Hart and Dartmoor is an extremely popular area for walking, perfect for dog owners and their four-legged friends. Do come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have had the pleasure of recently dining twice at this fine establishment. On both occasions we had dinner, once in the bar and once in the restaurant. The ambiance is so good, the bar is warm, cosy and welcoming while the restaurant, although more formal, is still friendly and very comfortable - as is the lounge for pre and post dinner drinks. The whole place oozes a refined calmness, comfort and style. The staff are universally excellent, no matter if they work in the bar, reception or restaurant, they are friendly charming and efficient with just the right mix of humor and 'service mind'. The food, on both evenings, was really very good indeed, the preparation was imaginative, cooked to perfection, seasoned just right and well presented. 5* London quality dining. Really two very enjoyable evenings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoy your visits to us and we look forward to seeing you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just got back from a two night stay in Devon due to a family wedding. We had a very long journey from Newcastle and had a very warm reception from all the staff. We could not fault the impeccably kept hotel and our room was very comfortable. We would certainly go back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your review - it is much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had a fine evening meal here on bonfire night. We decided to book a table that same afternoon, the receptionist kindly advised a slightly earlier time and "would we like a small table in the bar to avoid a large party due in the dining room?" So we settled in the bar and had two lovely courses each of beautifully prepared and cooked dishes. The hotel lists exactly where all their ingredients come from, so you can look up on a map which local farm supplies what. All in all a very enjoyable meal, and at a very fair price.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your very kind review and we're delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us. We think it is important to champion local food producers as it is a vital part of the local economy. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Over the years I've stayed in many different types of accommodation across the UK & Europe. I've eaten in Michelin-starred restaurants as well as the most rustic affairs. A simple chorizo tortilla with a fresh properly grown tomato in the mountains of Spain can be as good as the most complex 20 course meal. This is not difficult but so many places in the UK get it so badly wrong and so many people put up with it. The glowing reviews on this site for some of the places I have stayed show a very low level of expectation and a distinct lack of discernment.

I'm happy to say that the positive reviews for the White Hart are on the money this time. Attentive, professional but yet relaxed staff. Well appointed, clean rooms with super comfy beds. Having just had a venison and rose hip venison pielet, followed by some properly cooked sea bass I am also suitably impressed by the food. A good wine list accompanied which included local wines of excellent quality. It would have been good to see a Nytimber but this is a very very minor point. Top marks to the manager and owner. Keep it up!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank HairyLetterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for your very kind review and for comparing us with such top notch places! We like to think we do what we do well, and your review endorses that. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, having booked at short notice.

The present owners/operators have been running this lovely old town center hotel for about a year. They are updating the place in stages. The ground floor lounge and dining room are done and look the part. Other areas remain to be done. We had a room that is yet to be done but it was clean, spacious and comfortable. Now that we know, we will ask for a renovated room next time.

To us the real win was the service. Nothing was too much trouble for the charming, bubbly staff. They made us very welcome.

The food was excellent too and fairly priced. Again the service was superb.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We wish the new team every success with this venture.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kishandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel and for your immensely positive comments - it is really appreciated by the team here, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moretonhampstead
1.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,456 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,179 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
542 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
528 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: The Square, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moretonhampste...
Price Range: £74 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a traditional old posting house at the centre of the small moorland town of Moretonhampstead set within the spectacular Dartmoor National Park. Under new ownership since early 2012, the White Hart Hotel dates back to 1639 and this historic Grade II listed building is being sympathetically refurbished to provide all modern comforts within a traditional setting. Our comfy sofa-filled lounge has a roaring log fire where you can relax and combine the delights of a traditional cream tea with the convenience of free wifi. An ideal base from which to explore this beautiful area of Devon, the White Hart has 20 well-appointed bedrooms in the main hotel and a further eight in a separate mews building. Our restaurant features the freshest local, seasonal produce cooked in a style that lets the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves. A free house, we stock a range of local real ales and have a handpicked wine list. DOGS - Dogs and Dartmoor go together. Dartmoor is great walking country and dogs are welcome everywhere in the hotel, except in the dining room. CYCLING - Dartmoor is a great area for cycling and we can offer secure bike storage, and have a drying room. SHOOTING - The area is popular for the sport of shooting and the Hotel is used regularly by shooting parties and we have a gun safe and have a drying room. GOLF - There are a number of good golf courses nearby and we can offer special rates with Bovey Castle Golf course, just 2 miles away, and Okehampton Golf Course, 12 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing