We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Hart Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bovey Castle Hotel(North Bovey)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill End Hotel(Chagford)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gidleigh Park(Chagford)
US$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down(Okehampton)(Great Value!)
US$72
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa(Ilsington)(Great Value!)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel(Tedburn St. Mary)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
237
66
11
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
66
11
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parklovely hotelvenisonthe main hotelan evening mealcountry hoteldining roomdown the roadfew drinkscream teasandwichcomfortable loungepublic roomsovernight staybooked a tablecosy barfood is excellent
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lovely hotel, we only visited for Sunday lunch, and so glad we did. Food was excellent, all four of us had the roast lamb, and was probably best roast dinner I have had in a long long time, faultless.service was brilliant , very attentive, well done, so nice to be served by English speaking waitresses.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your review, and we are pleased to hear you rated our Sunday lunch so highly. We use fresh, local, seasonal produce wherever we can and our kitchen team have worked hard to build a good reputation. Do come and dine with us again soon, or better still, come and stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a wonderful place. We booked this Hotel for a wedding in Lustleigh on recommendation from the brides family. We where welcomed in by a lovely lady with blonde curly hair (sorry didn't get your name) but made a special effort with the kids and commented on our child's toy 'buzz lightyear!'. Couldn't have been happier with are room spotlessly clean and plenty of room. We staid in room 1 and had a two year old and a ten month old. They had put out a sofa bed out for the two year old and a travel cot for the ten month old. Our little girls loved their beds and having a t.v with built in dvd player also helped keep them quiet. The four poster bed was lovely and comfortable and couldn't fault the room at all. We had a meal in the Bar that evening and it was to a very high standard. And didn't take to long to come out (what with kids getting tired quickly) and the highchair was lovely and clean (something that sometimes gets missed when eating out). Breakfast was delicious with plenty to chose from. All the staff where well attentive and very friendly (in fact we weren't sure who the owners where) as you where all so good at your jobs!! All in all a very good stay and would love to come again soon (maybe for our honeymoon!) Thank you very much for a wonderful stay. Kind Regards The Francis Family

Room Tip: Ring in advance and the staff should be able to help with anything that you require.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that your first holiday as a family was spent with us! The blonde lady is Pippa, and she, and the rest of the team here, always do their best to make our guests feel welcome. Thank you also for your comment about 'asking in advance' - or even when you are here - as we are always happy to try and accommodate guests' wishes, but we are not telepathic! Do come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A really good hotel with brilliant staff and service. Nothing was too much trouble and we received a warm and friendly welcome. There is no car parking on site but there is a public park less than 100 yards away, the cost of which is peanuts. We stayed in Room 10, which had a super king size bed which must be one of the most comfortable we have slept in. The room/bathroom was immaculately clean with an excellent selection of toiletries and lots of other things you might need. The restaurant food and service was also first class. Highly recommended and an ideal location to explore Dartmoor

Room Tip: Rooms 10 and 11 on the second floor seem quiet
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lordduke50129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your very kind review, we do appreciate feedback from our guests. People often remark on the comfort of our beds, and our housekeeping staff will be pleased to see your comments about our good levels of cleanliness. We are a small hotel and we all take pride in the different areas of our work, so thank you for such great all-round praise. And yes, we are in an ideal location for exploring Dartmoor! We hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We paid £100 to stay in room 3 for one night. I understand that this is a standard room which would normally cost £110. Either way it does not, in my opinion, represent value for money and is certainly not "quaint". The room is done out in dark red pub style carpet and upholstery circa 1965, including the large upholstered headboard. It is furnished with mass produced dark brown hotel furniture which looks incredibly dated by today's standards. Presumably the room is meant to look traditional but then there is a modern light wood mirror, a modern blind and light fittings which don't match anything else in the room. On the walls there is an excess of rather undistinguished prints and pictures. The overall effect is of a rather drab, shabby room. However, the tea and coffee making facilities were good with plenty of decaf drinks. On the other hand one packet of two biscuits hardly seems generous for two people.

If anything the bathroom is even more run down than the room with tired paintwork and much patching up with sealant. The hard board bath panel is worn and cracked at the edges and there is black mould to some of the grouting round the bath. If you are not too tall and strong enough to turn the ageing mechanism you can stand in the bath and have a shower. The water pressure is good but the showerhead fitting is so loose that it tends to spray water randomly round the room.

The vegetarian breakfast was well cooked with beans, mushrooms and tomatoes but one egg and one veggie sausage seemed rather parsimonious given the saving on meat products. The decaf coffee was excellent and full marks to Julie who served us who was very efficient and achieved a good balance between friendliness and professionalism.

The hotel reception and office and is sandwiched between the bar and the lounge which means that, sitting in the lounge, one can unavoidably hear any conversations which the manager and staff have while they are in office. They may wish to exercise a bit more discretion about this particularly when having personal conversations or discussing matters which you would expect to be dealt with behind the scenes such as their tips and bar tabs.

Room Tip: Room 3 is probably best avoided.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kentboyGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are really disappointed that your stay with us was not all that you hoped for. As we say on our website, we are in the process of upgrading our bedrooms but have yet to complete them all. If you were unhappy with your room, you only needed to tell us and we would have found you a different room. We always do our best to deal with any customer issues as they arise, but if you don’t tell us you are unhappy, we can’t help.

If you were unhappy with your breakfast and would have liked more, we would gladly have proved it - you only had to ask. We try hard to ensure our portions are right and, in the past, any comments have been that we are too generous! Being called parsimonious is a first for us and a great disappointment.

As you will see from the many 5 star reviews on TripAdvisor, your views are very much the exception. Our value for money, standard of accommodation and quality of food are regarded as excellent. We are sorry in this instance that we did not suit your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel room was really beautiful and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was spacious and shower had enough water pressure. There were enough soap, shampoo, body lotion etc. available. Wi-fi worked very well in our room.
Staff was really friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was good, cooked to order and lunch time menu was good too; we had tasty burgers.
Car park is located 100 metres from the hotel and it was free 6 pm to 9 am, and during date time it costs like £2 / 5 hours.
Moretonhampstead is located ideally in the middle of Dartmoor and scenery around village was really nice; we had nice walks around village.
I hope to visit The White Hart again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted that we ticked all your boxes and that you had such a great stay with us. Do please come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews