We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel with lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lovely hotel with lovely staff”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

we stayed at the White Hart for a wedding and had a lovely time. We were initially disappointed because they have no disabled facilities at all and we were accommodated in the overflow "Mews" a few yards around the corner.
It quickly became clear however that their options to provide disabled facilities were very limited due to the historic nature of the building. The Mews was very nice and met all of our needs.
The staff were so helpful, I don't think they could have done any more for us.
The wedding food was lovely and the food in the restaurant was good.
The village is very quaint and the surrounding country has lots of places to visit. I would urge caution for wheelchair users though. the footpaths are very narrow and uneven, requiring you to travel in the carriageway for much of the time.

Room Tip: Probably not a first choice for wheelchair users
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham_ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your thoughts on the disabled facilities. As you rightly say, we are very restricted by the age of the listed building, but I am delighted to hear that you felt we did all we could to make your stay pleasant and comfortable and that the Mews suited your needs. Thank you too for your kind words about our food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    58
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
53
121
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Check in was perfunctory rather than welcoming. For the first hour we were in the public rooms, we saw four staff and all were glum and there was obvious tension. Clearly, it was "a bad day at the office" but in the hospitality industry you cannot afford to show it. Later, the mood lightened and we received good and smiling service.

Contrary to the hotel information in the rooms, you can only order from the dinner menu to eat in the bar in the evening. Having had a large lunch, we had to order from the limited number of starters in order to have a light meal. The wine list is uninspiring.

Later in the evening, the wifi system failed and, as the service provider does not provide 24/7 support, was still not working when we left next morning.

Our room and the public areas were excellent as was the breakfast (apart from the coffee which was dire).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, although I am obviously very disappointed to read your views. Firstly, I can only apologise if you felt we did not come up to your expectations. I was myself on duty that day and we are a happy and harmonious team – I was not aware of any tension and I cannot understand why you felt that there was.

We have one menu and it is served in the restaurant and the bar - we make no distinction. We offer starters and light bites as well as salads and other lighter dishes. If you had wanted a sandwich, or baguette, you had only to ask and we would have happily prepared something for you. As for our wine list, yours is the first negative comment it has ever received.

I can only apologise for the wifi failure, but this was beyond our control. We contacted our supplier and had to wait for them to rectify the problem.

I am sorry that you did not feel happy about your stay with us and again, can only apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I know the headline might sound a little bit "too much" but we recently celebrated our wedding and held our reception at the White Hart. Their service was perfect and they helped us enjoy a fantastic few days.

All of our guests commented on how much they enjoyed their stay and how great the hotel was and some of them are not easily pleased - believe me!

From the moment guests started to arrive, they felt at home. Minor crises were headed off by the front of house team and they went above and beyond to accommodate last minute changes and unexpected new arrivals. The rooms are all well furnished and comfortable and the hotel manages to retain it's Georgian look and feel but still have all the necessary modern facilities.

Many guests dined at the hotel on two or three nights and all comments were very positive. The steak and kidney pie is epic and breakfast is also excellent.

Our actual wedding day was handled with the kind of friendly calm efficiency that meant we could relax and enjoy the whole event.

We can't thank Karen and her whole team enough for the effort they put in and look forward to visiting them again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind and generous review! The whole team worked really hard to make your day a success and we are all delighted that we got it right for you. We do always try to go the extra mile and we are chuffed it all went so well. Do please come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Karen and her amazing team really did us proud and made our wedding day just perfect. From their efficient and reasuring pre planning right through to the immaculate running of the day and evening itself, we were thoroughly spoiled and our guests received excellent service.

This lovely hotel just has a really great vibe. As soon as I walked in for the first time I knew this would be a great wedding venue. So much so I cancelled my original venue and rebooked here. I definately made the right choice. We could not have wanted for more or had better. I am so pleased we chose The White Hart. It was an inspired decision!

The food was amazing, beautifuly laid out and served. Every single guest commented on the extremely high standard of the food and service which several said was by no means usual at a wedding breakfast.

Many of our guests stayed the night before the wedding so experienced the general hotel and restaurant side of things. All were extremely complimentary and most have said they will be returning to stay again for holidays etc.

We will certainly be coming back. Room 2, our room, was just beautiful, with amazing views right over Dartmoor. The bathroom was just lovely and I didn't want to leave!

I could not recommend this lovely litle gem more highly if you are looking for a wedding venue, a weekend retreat or a beautifully cooked meal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words - everyone here really appreciates your comments and we were so pleased we were able to make your day so special. Please come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at The White Hart for a night to break up our journey to Cornwall and it was a perfect choice. The hotel occupies a spot right in the centre of Moretonhampstead so it's easy to find and you can park outside to unload before parking (which is close by and cheap).

Our room was very comfortable, decorated to a high standard and good value. Our spaniel made herself right at home which is always a good sign. After a stroll around the town (including a delicious cream tea at the Gateway Tearoom almost opposite the hotel - also highly recommended!) we enjoyed drinks before what turned out to be a superbly prepared dinner. Starters were creatively thought-through and beautifully presented - mains were delicious with a strong focus on local ingredients and expertly prepared. The bownie dessert was indulgent and warming - with a nice selection of wines too, this was an excellent and memorable meal. Breakfast next day was equally good - a superb selection and again a variety of local ingredients which gave us the perfect start to the day ahead.

A word about the staff too - from booking to check-out, we were greeted with warmth and friendliness. The waiting staff were particularly attentive over dinner and breakfast and we felt very well looked after throughout. They were particularly concerned that we would have been disturbed by a few rowdy punters clearing out from the pub opposite the night before - hardly their fault but they were keen to ensure that no harm was done anyway. A lovely stay all in all - just not long enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hetmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for posting such a generous review. We always try to make everyone's stay here a special event and we are delighted that you had such a good time. Moretonhampstead is a very friendly place and we are in a great position for exploring this beautiful part of the country. We are a dog-friendly hotel - dogs and Dartmoor go together - and we are so pleased that your spaniel approved! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lovely hotel, we only visited for Sunday lunch, and so glad we did. Food was excellent, all four of us had the roast lamb, and was probably best roast dinner I have had in a long long time, faultless.service was brilliant , very attentive, well done, so nice to be served by English speaking waitresses.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review, and we are pleased to hear you rated our Sunday lunch so highly. We use fresh, local, seasonal produce wherever we can and our kitchen team have worked hard to build a good reputation. Do come and dine with us again soon, or better still, come and stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a wonderful place. We booked this Hotel for a wedding in Lustleigh on recommendation from the brides family. We where welcomed in by a lovely lady with blonde curly hair (sorry didn't get your name) but made a special effort with the kids and commented on our child's toy 'buzz lightyear!'. Couldn't have been happier with are room spotlessly clean and plenty of room. We staid in room 1 and had a two year old and a ten month old. They had put out a sofa bed out for the two year old and a travel cot for the ten month old. Our little girls loved their beds and having a t.v with built in dvd player also helped keep them quiet. The four poster bed was lovely and comfortable and couldn't fault the room at all. We had a meal in the Bar that evening and it was to a very high standard. And didn't take to long to come out (what with kids getting tired quickly) and the highchair was lovely and clean (something that sometimes gets missed when eating out). Breakfast was delicious with plenty to chose from. All the staff where well attentive and very friendly (in fact we weren't sure who the owners where) as you where all so good at your jobs!! All in all a very good stay and would love to come again soon (maybe for our honeymoon!) Thank you very much for a wonderful stay. Kind Regards The Francis Family

Room Tip: Ring in advance and the staff should be able to help with anything that you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that your first holiday as a family was spent with us! The blonde lady is Pippa, and she, and the rest of the team here, always do their best to make our guests feel welcome. Thank you also for your comment about 'asking in advance' - or even when you are here - as we are always happy to try and accommodate guests' wishes, but we are not telepathic! Do come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moretonhampstead
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
11.7 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: The Square, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moretonhampste...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a traditional old posting house at the centre of the small moorland town of Moretonhampstead set within the spectacular Dartmoor National Park. Under new ownership since early 2012, the White Hart Hotel dates back to 1639 and this historic Grade II listed building is being sympathetically refurbished to provide all modern comforts within a traditional setting. Our comfy sofa-filled lounge has a roaring log fire where you can relax and combine the delights of a traditional cream tea with the convenience of free wifi. An ideal base from which to explore this beautiful area of Devon, the White Hart has 20 well-appointed bedrooms in the main hotel and a further eight in a separate mews building. Our restaurant features the freshest local, seasonal produce cooked in a style that lets the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves. A free house, we stock a range of local real ales and have a handpicked wine list. DOGS - Dogs and Dartmoor go together. Dartmoor is great walking country and dogs are welcome everywhere in the hotel, except in the dining room. CYCLING - Dartmoor is a great area for cycling and we can offer secure bike storage, and have a drying room. SHOOTING - The area is popular for the sport of shooting and the Hotel is used regularly by shooting parties and we have a gun safe and have a drying room. GOLF - There are a number of good golf courses nearby and we can offer special rates with Bovey Castle Golf course, just 2 miles away, and Okehampton Golf Course, 12 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing