We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house, stunning location, perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rjsbugler
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house, stunning location, perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 5 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

It's hard to believe, but the house and location are even more stunning in real life than on the photos! The house was presented beautifully, with fresh crisp bedding, stacks of towels, fresh eggs, milk & butter and some perfectly chilled beer & cider in the fridge, what a welcome!
It was a great place to spend time with friends; cooking in the character-filled kitchen, eating alfresco and then snuggling down in the lounge. I was lucky enough to have the loft bedroom and am still pining those stunning views from the window seat with my morning coffee and the roll-top bath with it's view into the tree-tops.
Thank you so much to Jo for such great communication, and for sharing this little piece of paradise with us x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2018
What a review - thanks so much guys. Really pleased you had such a great time. Thanks again
Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randolph8...
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Christmas/New Year”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Just got back from spending 5 days here with friends to celebrate New Year. The accommodation was to a very high standard and offered everything we could have asked for. For our group, the number of bathrooms was brilliant. House is set in a beautiful spot with some great walks on the doorstep. Would recommend this property.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you guys for your comments. Really appreciate it and very pleased you all had a fab New year. Glad you liked the walking too. Its such a wonderful pocket of Dartmoor. Happy new year and thanks again
Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
felixcart...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“December 2017”
Reviewed 19 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Fantastic weekend in Devon. Lovely house and lovely location. Would definitely stay there again. Will be recommending to our friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Thanks Felix, really appreciate the review and happy new year.
All the best
Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
843PaulJ...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place wonderfully situated”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A fine characterful and comfortable house, wonderfully situated with country all around but also close to lots of great days out: this was our second visit, and the setting and facilities suited us perfectly. This year we made use of the log burner, which was good to have but not needed for warmth (in May). The house and location made us all look forward to returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thanks guys. So glad you came back to Higher Westcott - we really appreciate your business
Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawd55
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mawdy”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent the weekend at the farm. We were a party of age range from 2-86 & there was something for everyone. The grandparents enjoyed the peace & tranquility of the area, the children loved their own playroom, we enjoyed the family farmhouse kitchen & the late night trivia pursuit !
Our son was getting married at the great barn higher Ashton & local taxi company gave prompt service.
The attention to detail is outstanding with the Egyptian cotton bedding & every room having their own bathroom. We shared family breakfasts at the huge dining room table & had piggyback races in the garden. All family fun & the sun shone all weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thanks Lynn. So glad you all had a fab time
Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinlapi...
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really lovely location and house.”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Enjoyed our short stay at Westcott. It is a lovely house and perfect for a gathering such as ours. We housed the whole main Wedding party and left for the Ceremony from there. Great for Weddings at Haldon Belvedere as only a short drive. The rooms were nicely presented and it had so much original character, we loved it.The parking is a slight problem but can be overcome with a bit of thought. We left two cars in the small carpark on the main road, quite safe- it is rural Devon after all!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thanks Tina Glad the wedding went well. Congratulations to your daughter.
Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanB4610
1 review
“Wonderful Christmas at Higber Westcott”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed over Christmas and the house was a great location to get together as a family. The hosts had taken a lot of care with furnishings, high spec bathrooms and comfortable beds. They were also very helpful in letting us view the place beforehand, so we could get organised for young kids and elderly family visiting. The kitchen was also well equipped for cooking for 16 on Christmas Day. Great location on the edge of Dartmoor and we had a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thanks Alan. Happy new year to all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing