We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation and worth a lot more stars on their 4 star rating!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnabas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnabas House
Ranked #1 of 7 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and worth a lot more stars on their 4 star rating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were visiting Devon on a short break and visiting family. We decided on B&B instead of hotels and we found a real jewel in Barnabus House. Convieniently located with access to many local attarctions especially Dartmoor and some excellent eating establishments,we cannot fault Barnabus House.

Ian and Carolyn (the owners) were so friendly, most attentive and helpful. We could not have asked for any better hosts.

The accommodation was like staying in a hotel. We had a premier double room with en-suite. The attention to detail in what was provided in the room could not be faulted. The breakfast selection was also excellent and the "full English" really set one up for the day.

We will definitely stay again when we go visiting in Devon.

Room Tip: If you are looking for quiet, relaxing and extremely comfortable accommodation Barnabus House is def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
What can we say after such a lovely write-up ? Thanks so much for a wonderful review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay, it was great to meet you both - and I think you've inspired us to go to the new Gary Rhodes restaurant ! We love to make our guests feel comfortable and help them to get the most out of their stay in Devon, so we're very pleased to read that we succeeded. Thanks again, Ian & Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
153
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a short break Fri - Mon. The room (4) was well appointed, plenty of space and very clean and tidy. Breakfasts were excellent, freshly cooked and plenty of choice. The location is fantastic for access to the south of Dartmoor and to the rest of the county. The hosts, Carolyn & Ian went out of their way to make sure guests were looked after. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thanks so much for your review, it was a fun weekend with you all here, and having the extra night meant you got some serious walking in on the Sunday - especially as the weather was so fantastic.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights over the weekend just gone - and was fortunate to have the downstairs garden room (Rm7) ... Spacious and well equipped - breakfast was lovely and prepared / cooked fresh. Ian and Carolyn were the perfect hosts and even (very kindly) mailed my phone back to me - the Blackberry enjoyed the stay so much it decided to spend a day or so more in this wonderful part of the world. Only slight problem was shower went between hot and cold during use - though I put that down to other guests showering at similar times ... And it certainly didn't detract from the wonderful time we had :))

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thanks very much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet you both. We're glad you liked the garden room, and had the weather to enjoy the terrace. I must admit that yours is not the first appliance that has enjoyed our hospitality for a little longer than expected, I'm glad it got back to you safely. Sorry about the shower, we have checked the water pressure and we think that possibly it was our fault for watering the garden first thing in the morning during this last dry spell. Apologies for that, we're pleased it didn't spoil your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd stay at Barnabas House. Carolyn and Ian are always welcoming and always offer to help with any luggage. This was our 2nd time in room 1 and we love it. Very comfy with a kingsize bed and a sofa and an ensuite shower room. We especially like the skylight above the bed so you can look at the stars. Marvellous!
The rooms are always clean and tidy and are kept that way daily. Breakfast's are fantastic with plenty of choice.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 1 is fab, large room with a king sized bed and a sofa and a skylight over the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashe1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you both very much for writing such a lovely review, it's always good to see you and this time it was great that you had such wonderful weather. Hope to see you again soon, Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludgvan, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We decided to stay at Barnabas House after researching the area for a weekend away. From before we arrived Carolyn and Ian were happy to help with queries about our stay. On arrival we were shown to a well looked-after comfortable room, in which we felt immediately at home. In addition to the books available on the first floor landing, Carolyn's local knowledge helped us in deciding which sights we wanted to enjoy during the weekend. At the end of an evening out, a selection of DVDs were also available on the second floor landing to watch in the room.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Barnabas House and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thanks for choosing Barnabas House for your special weekend away. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time exploring the local area. Hope to see you again in the future, Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

To be honest I started looking in Tavistock and only looked at Barnabas House as Tavistock was full. What a lucky break that turned out to be. This is a simply lovely house, we stayed in the room on the first floor with it's own private bathroom across the hall, and what a cracking bathroom it is! The room is lovely, very spacious, it even has a little fridge with fresh milk for the tea and coffee provided. The bed was king sized and really comfortable. The breakfast was great, also with separate tables which we love. Nothing was too much trouble for Carolyn and Ian who were very nice friendly people without being in your face. They've got it exactly right. So all in all this is a perfect place and we would recommend it whole heartedly!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jennywxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write - it was lovely to meet you both, and although Tavistock is a lovely place to visit, we're glad you chose to stay here where it's a bit quieter. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future, Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lommel, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

A most sincere welcome from Carolyn and Ian on arrival which made us feel at home. Wonderful room complete with fresh milk and tea/coffee facility. The breakfasts were really outstanding in a warm, friendly atmosphere. We stayed for a week and could have stayed forever!!!!!!
The recommendations for eating, sightseeing and walking were also most welcome.
Thank you both so much for making our vacation so unforgettable.
Harry and Elaine van Rijnsbergen, The Netherlands.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
We are so glad you spent your holiday with us, we really enjoyed your company and it's lovely to see that you had a good stay here. For once, even the weather was fantastic !
Thanks for writing the review, we hope you will stay with us again if you decide to explore the area further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
4.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
16.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rosemont
The Rosemont
#3 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrabeer Country House
Harrabeer Country House
#2 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnabas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnabas House

Property: Barnabas House
Address: Barnabus House Harrowbeer Lane | Devon, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnabas House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are welcomed to our lovely Edwardian home with comfortable spacious rooms, designed to make you feel right at home. All rooms have modern bathrooms, colour TV/DVD/Freeview, hospitality tray with a large selection of teas/coffees/hot chocolate, bottled water, biscuits. Bathrooms have large fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries and some have a bath as well as a shower. All rooms have a silent-running fridge stocked with fresh milk. In a great location for exploring Dartmoor, Devon and Cornwall by car, cycle, bus or on foot. You can walk onto Dartmoor National Park in under 5 minutes, cycle straight onto the Drake's Trail, or utilise our great bus service to Plymouth/Tavistock/Okehampton and beyond. We have secure cycle storage and free on-site parking as well as high speed wi-fi in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Barnabas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabas House Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing