We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality & excellent food!”
Review of Barnabas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barnabas House
Ranked #1 of 9 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality & excellent food!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our recent one-night stay had the unexpected bonus of warm, sunny weather. Dartmoor at its best, perfect for exploring! Breakfast was delightful with the additional bonus of banana bread with walnuts! There are several eating places nearby & the location is ideal for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretwilson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Manager at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review after your recent stay in room 8, it was a pleasure to see you again, just sorry it was for so sad an occasion. We look forward to welcoming you here for another stay in the future, thanks again, Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
171
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harwood-in-Teesdale
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed for three nights at Barnabas House. The room was perfect and in all respects we found this to be an excellent B&B. There are other B&Bs we have stayed in where the experience is also excellent, but it's the additional touches here which go the extra mile. A small quiet fridge in the room, restocked with fresh milk each day (we so hate the tiny milk containers found elsewhere); the provision of several daily newspapers in the dining room; the excellent selection of local guides to help you appreciate the surrounding area. Breakfast was excellent. Good selection of cereals and fresh fruit. The Full English also delivered !

Room Tip: All rooms are described on the website to help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we were very happy to share your excitement in meeting the new arrival. We hope to see you again in the future, Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights from the 25th October in the Garden Room. The room was lovely, maybe smaller than we had expected however we did have our own garden terrace which would have been nice if it wasn't for the week of the first bad winds and storm of the Autumn/winter. Carolyn made us feel welcome from the minute of our arrival. We had a good selection of hot drinks and biscuits in our room and nice smellies in the bathroom (always a nice touch). The bed was huge and very comfortable. The wifi was excellent there too. The breakfast was fantastic with a great selection of cereals,fruit and cooked choices as well as preservatives in your own tiny pots. Thank you Ian for cooking our breakfasts every morning. We chose this location as we were visiting family and it was a good base. I hadn't stayed in Devon before so it was lovely to drive on the Moors and see different places. We have always stayed in Cornwall previously and I thought nothing could beat it but I have to say that Devon has some truly beautiful places and hidden treasures to see. Carolyn was very informative about local places of interest and gave us some good ideas. We would stay here again definitely in the future and recommend to friends. Thank you Carolyn and Ian.

Room Tip: The whole house is off the main road so all rooms would be quiet I assume. The Garden Room was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdieNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks so much for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and discovered how much Dartmoor and Devon has to offer. The other premier rooms are all bigger than the garden room, but of course it's nice to be on the ground floor and have the outside space to enjoy as well - weather permitting ! We enjoyed meeting you both and hope you'll be back to see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband stayed here while working in Plymouth and I joined him for a few nights. I couldn't recommend it more. Barnabas House is warm and welcoming. The breakfasts are wonderful and I was made to feel very welcome. The attention to detail that Ian and Carolyn give to 'a good nights stay' is unbelievable. The parking is good and it is nice not to have to use the roadside.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisondoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thanks for such a lovely review, it was great to meet you after hearing about you at breakfast for all those weeks. It's never easy for anyone working away from home so it was our pleasure to try and make it as comfortable as possible. Hope to see you again in the future, Carolyn and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed at the Barnabas House on a Saturday night. I was made welcome by the owner, Carolyn, and she recommended a good pub within walking distance.

My room was a single room in the new wing of the house. Very comfortable, but the wifi didn't reach. Barnabus house has a dining room, but no real place for guests to sit inside and use the wifi, except the halls, which are clean but have a slight smell of dog.

Breakfast the next day was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thanks very much for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, had a good breakfast and that you were comfortable in the annex single room.
We try to make it clear on our website that guests who require Wi-Fi as an essential part of their stay should book a room in the main house if possible; hopefully if you come again you will be able to do this, which would mean that you had good wi-fi access and a comfortable seating area within your own room.
The hall is a thoroughfare, so does not really provide an ideal environment for sitting and relaxing for any length of time. I'm sorry that Brio was making his presence felt - we try our best to ensure that he does not, and we will continue to do so.
Thanks again for your review, we hope you will give us a try again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here in August for one night, and was very happy with the lovely room, the friendly welcome, great breakfast...highly recommended :)

I arrived late afternoon and mentioned that I was meeting friends for dinner. When I arrived back at the end of the evening I found my bedside light on, curtains drawn and window closed...typical of the thoughtfulness I experienced here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thanks very much for taking the trouble to write your lovely review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope your puppy is still doing well, and that we might see you again in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Tried to book in several bed and breakfast,s in plymouth for a visit to my daughters,every where was taken due to university graduations,so I looked slightly out of Plymouth ie.Yelverton Barnabas House. The reviews were very good so gave it a try.It was a dismal day and was soon brightend up with a great greeting from the Hosts...The room was spotless,roomy, along with tea and coffee also water and snacks.Bed was fantastic,food was exellent,will most certainly visit again,have stayed in over 20 hotels and b&bs in PLymouth and this rates one of the best.Deserves12 out 10.......................Alvin brown Leicester.....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
How lucky for us you chose Barnabas House, it was a pleasure to meet you, and thanks so much for your kind review. Although in a village, we're still very handy for Plymouth, and so we hope very much to see you again on your next family visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
15.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,092 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
325 reviews
1.7 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
653 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnabas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnabas House

Property: Barnabas House
Address: Barnabus House Harrowbeer Lane | Devon, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnabas House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are welcomed to our lovely Edwardian home with comfortable spacious rooms, designed to make you feel right at home. All rooms have modern bathrooms, colour TV/DVD/Freeview, hospitality tray with a large selection of teas/coffees/hot chocolate, bottled water, biscuits. Bathrooms have large fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries and some have a bath as well as a shower. All rooms have a silent-running fridge stocked with fresh milk. In a great location for exploring Dartmoor, Devon and Cornwall by car, cycle, bus or on foot. You can walk onto Dartmoor National Park in under 5 minutes, cycle straight onto the Drake's Trail, or utilise our great bus service to Plymouth/Tavistock/Okehampton and beyond. We have secure cycle storage and free on-site parking as well as high speed wi-fi in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Barnabas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabas House Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing