We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Barnabas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barnabas House
Ranked #1 of 7 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Barnabas House is a delight. Lovely room, great breakfast and really friendly hosts. The room was well equipped and bathroom of a high standard. Barnabas House is great value. It's situated in a nice village with two local pubs which both serve food. I won't hesitate to return to this quality bed and breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to write such a nice review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and liked the space that room 5 offers. We hope that you'll be able to come back and see us again.
Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
157
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just came back from a 2 night stay at Barnabas House feeling thoroughly chilled and relaxed. We booked directly last minute, room 7 which is the premium double ground floor room. The room was comfy and cosy with a lovely garden terrace, well stocked beverages and a fridge in the room with fresh milk and bottled water (only premium rooms have the fridges I understand but there is a fridge with fresh milk on the landing for those who prefer it to the UHT milk portions) , the en-suite a good size, everything in working order and spotlessly clean. We were warmly welcomed and shown to the room by Carolyn, who gave us all the info we needed including things to do in the village. Ian kindly helped us in with our luggage. We wanted somewhere quiet and friendly which is exactly what we got, very peaceful surroundings, excellent breakfast offering a variety of cereals, fruits and yoghurts as well and a perfect traditional full English. Tavistock is only a 10 minute drive away with some lovely pubs and restaurants, but would also recommend the Rock Inn, great food! While we were out for the evening, our room was serviced, bedside lights put on and cups etc cleaned... a lovely touch! Perfect Stay... Thank you Carolyn and Ian.
Hope to see you again in the future... Carole & Gordon x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're glad you found your stay relaxing and were able to recharge your batteries. We enjoyed meeting you both, and hope to see you again in the future. Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights. The owner welcomed us even if checked-in later than the check-in time and has been very nice in showing us the room and offering help to suggest us what to visit in the surroundings. The room is nice and clean, has a small garden with flower and fast wi-fi connection. There are many items like tea, coffee, biscuits and fresh milk in the fridge. The bed is very comfortable and the place is very silent (even though we were right in front of the dining room, in the morning we were disturbed neither by noise nor by smells). The bathroom has everything needed and a large shower. The breakfast is very good with English breakfast, fruit, cereals, and cakes. The location is not in the middle of the countryside so there is less green than I was expecting (it's not in the countryside). It is very conveniently located to access Dartmoor National Park and has car parking. I really liked the place and would sleep there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CannaLucente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at Easter and that you liked the garden room, especially as the weather was good enough to sit out and enjoy your private terrace.
Yelverton is a medium sized village, and we are in the heart of it, convenient for eating places and public transport. Although, as you say, the immediate vicinity of Barnabas House is not particularly green, the open spaces of Roborough Down and the West Devon Way are only about 5 minutes walk away, and a 5 minute drive takes you up onto the High Moor of Dartmoor National Park, with all its spectacular scenery.
We would be very happy to welcome you back to Barnabas House and hope to meet you both again one day, thanks again, Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our recent one-night stay had the unexpected bonus of warm, sunny weather. Dartmoor at its best, perfect for exploring! Breakfast was delightful with the additional bonus of banana bread with walnuts! There are several eating places nearby & the location is ideal for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretwilson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Manager at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review after your recent stay in room 8, it was a pleasure to see you again, just sorry it was for so sad an occasion. We look forward to welcoming you here for another stay in the future, thanks again, Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwood-in-Teesdale
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed for three nights at Barnabas House. The room was perfect and in all respects we found this to be an excellent B&B. There are other B&Bs we have stayed in where the experience is also excellent, but it's the additional touches here which go the extra mile. A small quiet fridge in the room, restocked with fresh milk each day (we so hate the tiny milk containers found elsewhere); the provision of several daily newspapers in the dining room; the excellent selection of local guides to help you appreciate the surrounding area. Breakfast was excellent. Good selection of cereals and fresh fruit. The Full English also delivered !

Room Tip: All rooms are described on the website to help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we were very happy to share your excitement in meeting the new arrival. We hope to see you again in the future, Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights from the 25th October in the Garden Room. The room was lovely, maybe smaller than we had expected however we did have our own garden terrace which would have been nice if it wasn't for the week of the first bad winds and storm of the Autumn/winter. Carolyn made us feel welcome from the minute of our arrival. We had a good selection of hot drinks and biscuits in our room and nice smellies in the bathroom (always a nice touch). The bed was huge and very comfortable. The wifi was excellent there too. The breakfast was fantastic with a great selection of cereals,fruit and cooked choices as well as preservatives in your own tiny pots. Thank you Ian for cooking our breakfasts every morning. We chose this location as we were visiting family and it was a good base. I hadn't stayed in Devon before so it was lovely to drive on the Moors and see different places. We have always stayed in Cornwall previously and I thought nothing could beat it but I have to say that Devon has some truly beautiful places and hidden treasures to see. Carolyn was very informative about local places of interest and gave us some good ideas. We would stay here again definitely in the future and recommend to friends. Thank you Carolyn and Ian.

Room Tip: The whole house is off the main road so all rooms would be quiet I assume. The Garden Room was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdieNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks so much for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and discovered how much Dartmoor and Devon has to offer. The other premier rooms are all bigger than the garden room, but of course it's nice to be on the ground floor and have the outside space to enjoy as well - weather permitting ! We enjoyed meeting you both and hope you'll be back to see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband stayed here while working in Plymouth and I joined him for a few nights. I couldn't recommend it more. Barnabas House is warm and welcoming. The breakfasts are wonderful and I was made to feel very welcome. The attention to detail that Ian and Carolyn give to 'a good nights stay' is unbelievable. The parking is good and it is nice not to have to use the roadside.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisondoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thanks for such a lovely review, it was great to meet you after hearing about you at breakfast for all those weeks. It's never easy for anyone working away from home so it was our pleasure to try and make it as comfortable as possible. Hope to see you again in the future, Carolyn and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
4.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.7 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rosemont
The Rosemont
#3 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrabeer Country House
Harrabeer Country House
#2 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnabas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnabas House

Property: Barnabas House
Address: Barnabus House Harrowbeer Lane | Devon, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnabas House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are welcomed to our lovely Edwardian home with comfortable spacious rooms, designed to make you feel right at home. All rooms have modern bathrooms, colour TV/DVD/Freeview, hospitality tray with a large selection of teas/coffees/hot chocolate, bottled water, biscuits. Bathrooms have large fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries and some have a bath as well as a shower. All rooms have a silent-running fridge stocked with fresh milk. In a great location for exploring Dartmoor, Devon and Cornwall by car, cycle, bus or on foot. You can walk onto Dartmoor National Park in under 5 minutes, cycle straight onto the Drake's Trail, or utilise our great bus service to Plymouth/Tavistock/Okehampton and beyond. We have secure cycle storage and free on-site parking as well as high speed wi-fi in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barnabas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabas House Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing