We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
354
19
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
354
19
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on arrival dartmoor national park great breakfast b and b private terrace first class cake the bed was extremely comfortable bed and breakfast full english small fridge feel very welcome high standard plenty of choice cooked to perfection sausage angela
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2018

We stayed at Barnabas House for one night. We were met by the owner Steven who helped us with our luggage from the car. When inside we met his wife Angela. They were both very friendly and charming people. The B&B was very clean and our room was better than expected. There was even a private garden which we could have used (if it hadn't been raining!)
The lounge was very warm and comforting. There was a bar had we wanted a drink.
The bed was very comfortable and there was fresh milk for our tea/coffee.
The breakfast next day was sourced wherever possible from local suppliers and was really tasty. Steven and Angela really went the extra mile to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
We are hoping to come back in June

Room tip: The oom on the ground floor has a private garden
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stevewhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela_and_Steve_P, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again in June. Kind regards, Angela and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

It was a lovely experience. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Our hosts were very warm and welcoming. The bed was extremely comfortable and of good quality. We were provided with a tray of homemade scones and jam, tea and coffee when we arrived ....just what we needed after a long drive.

Room tip: If you are visiting your children at Plymouth University it’s good place to stay just outside of the city.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela_and_Steve_P, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope your trip was a success. Hope to see you again, Angela and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Steve and Angela were very nice hosts who clearly understand the business they are in, they know exactly what guests will want and expect,and they go the extra mile with many thoughtful little details to create an overall great experience.

The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. Bed very comfortable, sleep quality excellent! Silent running fridge, very thoughtful! Proper bottle of fresh milk in the fridge, large bottle of water, tea and coffee, high quality toiletries, little sensor lights all the way up the stairs, strong wifi. We also appreciated the off road parking.

Breakfast also got top marks from us, food was cooked and presented beautifully, plus the little touches like the fruit being fresh rather than from a tin, as you get in many places. The dining room was very appealing and clean. Patio area outside for the warmer months.

We had dinner across the main road at the Rock Inn (just a few minutes walk away), I recommend it, friendly people, nice food and some good local beers.

Barnabas House is very convenient for getting to Plymouth, and of course it is a great base for Dartmoor, plus by virtually being on the A386, you can easily get to North Devon as well.

We will surely stay here again, highly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela_and_Steve_P, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you for your lovely review - it means a lot to us when guests enjoy their stay so much they want to share their experience. Hopefully we shall see you again some day. Kind regards, Angela and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Myself and my partner visited and stayed for 2 nights in September.

To start we had to change the booking as we were only meant to be staying for one night and they were more than happy to sort this for us. They even moved us to a different room for the same price and the room was amazing.

The rooms are very spacious and homely, beds are really comfy and the bathroom is also very nice.

When we booked my partner also told them that we would be arriving at different times due to work and they told her that this would not be a problem. I arrived first and was greeted and invited into the property in a very happy inviting way. Nothing was too much trouble, Steve offered to take my bag and showed me what services they have to offer, he also said that if you need anything else we live through that door just ring the doorbell. I then met his wife Angela who was also very polite and said I hope you enjoy your stay.

Steve then showed me to our room and told me the basics in the room and gave me the key to access the premises and our room. Once my partner turned up I just went down and let her in so there was no need to trouble them again that evening.

When we headed down the next day Angela made a point of introducing herself to my partner as they had not met yet, as did Steve when we saw him later that day.

The breakfast was also really nice, they had cereal and fruit juice on the side to help yourself and then Steve came out and took our hot food order. This came out very promptly and was all freshly cooked and came from local sources and was cooked beautifully.

After our second night we asked if we could leave one of our cars there so we could go off for the day and they have limited parking at the property but this was still no trouble at all.

I would highly recommend anyone to stay at Barnabas house they are very friendly and welcoming couple. The rooms are very comfortable and breakfast was lovely.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 256danielw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela_and_Steve_P, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you Daniel W for your lovely review. It was genuinely lovely to meet you both. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your free room upgrade. 'Burrator' is an amazing room with fabulous views of Dartmoor. Hope to see you again, Angela and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Beautifully decorated well thought out comfortable room with own private patio garden to relax in. Wonderful breakfasts. Perfect welcoming hosts nothing was too much trouble. Looking forward to staying here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Darland99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela_and_Steve_P, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again. All the best, Angela and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews