We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of Callisham Farm

Callisham Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Callisham Farm
Ranked #5 of 9 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Callisham Farm is a real gem. I spent a week there while on a training course on Dartmoor, and was made so welcome it felt like home. Esme could not have been more helpful; from my morning wake-up call with a cup of tea, to her fabulous breakfasts, and tea and cake when I returned weary in the afternoon, she was a great host. She even provided me with a packed lunch, for a small extra fee. The farm is so quiet that a good nights' sleep is guaranteed, and the village pub in Meavy, just two minutes away, was a wonderful place for dinner each evening. If you need wi-fi and mobile phone signal, and balk at the site of a farm lane, then this is not for you, but it was paradise for me! Mike Pearey

Room Tip: All are quiet. The single is on the small side. Bathrooms are not big, but fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

Ive stayed here a few times over the past ten years when visiting family in this part of the world. Really lovely farmhouse location. Rooms are very clean and well kept and nothing is too much trouble for our kind hostess.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_k1186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked to stay here because of the reviews on trip advisor and we were really pleased that we did.

Esme, the landlady, is very hospitable and gave us tea and cake on arrival. Each morning she brought us tea to our room before breakfast and then provided a fantastic breakfast which set us up for a days walking. The atmosphere is great and we really felt at home and it was clear that Esme really wanted us to enjoy our stay with her.

In the evenings we walked to the parish owned Royal Oak pub across a field and footpath which had a great atmosphere and good food. It is definitely worth booking a table in the restaurant at weekends as it was very busy while we were there. Steve, the landlord, managed to fit us in, but I would not rely on this.

I would defintiely recommend this B&B and like many others, we will be staying there again next time we want to explore the Tamar valley further or on our way down to Cornwall.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueandDaveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Stayed here for one night to attend a wedding. It's a gorgeous farmhouse down a narrow track on the edge of the Dartmoor. Lovely comfortable room and great breakfast in the morning. I cannot explain how friendly Esme and the rest of her family are. It's like staying with old family friends. Esme brought up a glass of water up to the room when we first arrived because it was very hot. And in the morning she brought up a cup of tea! Definitely book yourself in here if you're visiting this part of the world.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BeckyH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I have been staying at Callisham Farm on and off for over 4 years - originally as a place to stay while I was working away and, more recently, with family and friends while on holiday.

The rooms are well decorated, always perfectly clean and well presented. The landlady makes an incredible AGA cooked breakfast served in the wood-burner heated dining room using local eggs and bacon / sausages from the local butcher.

The B&B is in a working farm down a beautiful Devon lane and is only a few minutes walk across the country to the parish-owned, 15th century, Royal Oak pub where you can get decent food and drinks.

I cannot recommend this B&B enough. Everyone I know who has stayed there has loved it. I regularly meet people who visited Callisham Farm once on holiday and now return regularly just to stay and catch up with the owners! The only drawback is that you might have to leave your phone in the window to get reception!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramsay111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yelverton hotels
6.9 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
622 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Rosemont
The Rosemont
#3 of 9 in Yelverton
219 reviews
4.2 mi away
Burrator Inn
Burrator Inn
#6 of 9 in Yelverton
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Harrabeer Country House
Harrabeer Country House
#2 of 9 in Yelverton
240 reviews
5.3 mi away
Barnabas House
Barnabas House
#1 of 9 in Yelverton
322 reviews
4.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Forest Inn Dartmoor
#7 of 9 in Yelverton
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callisham Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callisham Farm

Address: Callisham Farm Meavy, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Hotel Class:4 star — Callisham Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Callisham Farm Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing