We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Callisham Farm

Callisham Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Callisham Farm
Ranked #6 of 9 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

What a wonderful break we had at Callisham Farm. Esme and Brian are great hosts - more like staying with friends than as guests. We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very good room, comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast that set us up for the day. All this in a lovely location. If you want a pleasant, relaxing stay on the Moors, look no further.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed for three nights at Callisham Farm and felt utterly spoiled from the beginning to the end of our stay. Esme and Brian were wonderful hosts and there are not enough words to begin to praise the fabulous breakfasts!!! The room was clean, comfortable and cosy. The shower was great and nothing was too much trouble. We really want to keep Callisham Farm as our little secret so that we can return again and again. A truly memorable place - we will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

What a lovely warm welcome Esme and Brian gave my daughter, granddaughter and me after we trailed over the soggy wet Dartmoor in the wettest summer ever!
Lovely comfortable beds, fantastic breakfast, spotlessly clean and very quiet. We felt like we were miles from anywhere, but Plymouth is close and there are several nice places to eat in the area.
Can't recommend this delightful bed and breakfast enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikerache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is by far the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at. The farm feel is just wonderful. The bedroom had everything we needed. Huge flat screen t.v. the beds were very comfortable the shower had great water pressure. This place was so clean. You have all the comforts of home. But the true treasure of this place is the owners Esme and Brian. Two of the nicest people! They were so welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was AMAZING! Can't wait to try to make it back to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiegosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Arrived here after a great day walking the moor from Postbridge, wind and rain and even some sunshine. Knocked on the door and got no answer. Knocked on the kitchen window and from then on the welcome and hospitality was very warm. The hostess, Esme, was more than happy to dry out my waterlogged shoes for me. Lovely cosy room upstairs, fair-sized with big bed and ensuite and mind-your-head low timber beams in the corridor. Breakfast was delicious and filling for another day's trek on my 170-mile walking holiday. Wish I could have stayed here longer. Tempted to go back actually. Very affordable too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwbcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

What a pleasure it was to be a guest here! Stay here for an authentic farmhouse experience! We were welcomed with a warm smile, a fresh pot of tea and coffee with homemade cake too. The room itself was spotless, with a comfortable mattress, freshly laundered and ironed linen, and a pleasant view overlooking the farmyard. There is a sitting room downstairs, which we were invited to use. The breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked, with quality ingredients, in true 'farm-style'. The farmhouse provides a convenient base from which to explore Dartmoor National Park, and the rest of Devon. Esme, our hostess was so kind and helpful, we felt like old family friends. Staying here was a real treat!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJacqui_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Callisham Farm is a real gem. I spent a week there while on a training course on Dartmoor, and was made so welcome it felt like home. Esme could not have been more helpful; from my morning wake-up call with a cup of tea, to her fabulous breakfasts, and tea and cake when I returned weary in the afternoon, she was a great host. She even provided me with a packed lunch, for a small extra fee. The farm is so quiet that a good nights' sleep is guaranteed, and the village pub in Meavy, just two minutes away, was a wonderful place for dinner each evening. If you need wi-fi and mobile phone signal, and balk at the site of a farm lane, then this is not for you, but it was paradise for me! Mike Pearey

Room Tip: All are quiet. The single is on the small side. Bathrooms are not big, but fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
1.7 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,049 reviews
2.5 mi away
Prince Hall Country House
Prince Hall Country House
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
318 reviews
7.0 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Princetown
104 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cherrybrook
The Cherrybrook
#1 of 1 in Two Bridges
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callisham Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callisham Farm

Property: Callisham Farm
Address: Callisham Farm Meavy, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Hotel Class:4 star — Callisham Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Callisham Farm Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing