We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Callisham Farm
Nearby Hotels
Moorland Garden Hotel(Yelverton)(Great Value!)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duke of Tavistock(Tavistock)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queen's Head Hotel(Tavistock)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Plymouth Derriford Hotel(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Horn Of Plenty(Gulworthy)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
37
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworking farmlovely farmhouseroyal oakfriendly dogshome from homewithin walking distancemarmaladegreat pubwarm welcomeshort walkbuckland abbeyhome made cakeson arrivalbrianfieldcolliedartmoor
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at this lovely b&b on the edge of Dartmoor, after reading the great reviews. Everything was as good as had been reported - an interesting building with clean well-equipped rooms, and, best of all, a warm welcome from Esme and Brian and the farm dogs.
Within easy reach of a great pub too. Would be happy to recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank need1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esme195, Owner at Callisham Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

I am sorry for the late response! Thank you for your very kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed with my 16 year old son at the end of our coast to coast cycling trip or nearly the end. I didn't want to stay in Plymouth and am so glad that I chose Callisham Farm. I read the reviews and as others have said Esme and Brian are such nice people, I don't think there is much I can add to what has already been said, lovely warm welcome, great room, comfy beds and fantastic breakfast. Esme was so helpful and booked a meal for us in the local pub at Meavy which was a 5 minute stroll away and very good. A great find, I am trying to see if I can arrange a return visit with my husband and three boys.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

As far as B&B experiences go you wont find a more welcoming and friendly place to stay in Devon. The breakfast is sensational and Esme caters for your every taste. The rooms are typical farmhouse olde worlde and very comfy. The Moor is right on the doorstep and so walkers will be well pleased to stay here. Its a working farm with a number of friendly dogs entered from down tiny lanes and tracks in a truly peaceful location with an excellent pub a short walk away - is there anything better out there - probably not. Nice chatting to you Esme and Brian and thanks for letting us stay with you!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the family room as there were two beds to choose from for that extra bit of space
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegrumpyoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Probably the best B&B we have stayed in. I was initially suspicious - every reviewer on Trip Advisor gave Callisham 5* in every category. Can anywhere be that good? Well, yes it can! Callisham Farm is a typical old Dartmoor farmhouse with all the period features one would expect. Very comfortable, very clean and Esme's hospitality is second to none. Nothing is too much trouble - if it's humanly possible, Esme will provide it. The family room is more than adequate for two, with plenty of cupboard/drawer space, easy chairs and a large flat screen t.v. Breakfast is substantial, with lots of choice, the full English being sufficiently gargantuan to set you up for a days walking on the Moor, which is easily accessible from the door. The residents' lounge is available for the inevitable Dartmoor damp days but with Yelverton, Tavistock and Plymouth (use the park and ride) within a few miles, rain needn't stop expeditions in the area.

Esme is a gem but everyone is very friendly and helpful - the farm dogs are over the moon to see visitors!

Callisham is off the beaten track but not remote - Meavy, with a fantastic pub (The Royal Oak), is within half a mile. The lanes are narrow and winding and the unmade farm track seems longer than it actually is. Driving slowly is a necessity!

For anyone wanting a holiday either walking Dartmoor, or visiting the surrounding area, Callisham has to be the first choice. We shall be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, with country views. The family room has most space, the other two doubles being smaller, but more than adequate. All are great value for money.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

What a wonderful break we had at Callisham Farm. Esme and Brian are great hosts - more like staying with friends than as guests. We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very good room, comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast that set us up for the day. All this in a lovely location. If you want a pleasant, relaxing stay on the Moors, look no further.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews