We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night is not long enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Dairy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Dairy
Ranked #4 of 7 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One night is not long enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We must have ploughed a furrow in the road traveling from North Devon to Plymouth to take the ferry to our Brittany home and have often passed by when stopping in at the Rock Inn for an excellent meal. Lately we have been inclined to find somewhere to stop over when we have a late arrival and The Old Dairy was the natural choice given the good reviews and the proximity to the pub. We have to say that our stay was just perfect and that The Old Dairy is the best B+B that we have ever stayed at. With good weather, Dartmoor and Drakes Trail on the doorstep we really did not want to go home. We will definitely stay again and would heartily recommend others to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for the lovely comments. We are very pleased that you liked The Old Dairy and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
49
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My friend and I had a wonderfully warm reception on our recent stay at The Old Dairy. We were attending a workshop round the corner and so were out for most of the day. The help the owners gave us with the limited time we had to find out about places to eat was exceptional. We just loved the home made rocky roads left in our room and flask of milk. Breakfast was delightful with fresh fruit salads, yoghurt, smoked salmon, and perfectly cooked poached egg amount other scrmptious options. The hosts went out of their way to make sure our stay was happy and easy. I love the light that poured into the breakfast room and the bedroom was lovely and airy. The bottle of Jo Malone on the stair sill highlighted the taste of the wonderful hostess. Thank you ! We will be back x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthlyworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you very much for posting this review and for the very positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to The Old dairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed at The Old Dairy this week, my stay was perfect, very comfortable. Spotlessly clean, breakfast was great!! Mums recipe chocolate biscuits were a delight!!

Free WiFi that worked great in my room too!!

I had a great meal just over the road in The Rock Inn.

I would certainly stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this area of the country!!

R. Hougham

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review and for your positive comments. We are so pleased you were pleased with your experience here and hope we will see you back at The Old Dairy .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed april 2014.lovely area to stay in. wonderful B&B fabulous room exceptional bed. A lot attention to detail very clean and tidy. excellent breakfast. very friendly and welcoming hosts.will be back again. Tom&Caroline

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank caroline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments and for taking the time to post the review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would like to return - we look forward to welcoming you back to The Old Dairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kergrist Moelou, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just spent 4 fab nights at The Old Dairy. Its location is just perfect as Yelverton is on the edge of Dartmoor & just 10 minutes from Plymouth. The house is very comfortable & beautifully furnished. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean, with super kingsize bed & lovely bedlinen.The tea/coffee tray has everything you could want including fresh milk & homemade biscuits. The breakfast menu offers lots of options & everything we tried was delicious.The owners were just lovely & made our stay "PERFECT" .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much for posting the review and for your very positive feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to The Old Dairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Old Diary for a night in April 2014, and had a brief but wonderful stay. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with lots of attention to small details that made us feel spoilt. The available wifi was quick, our breakfast was lovely, and nothing was too much trouble for our landlady. The Old Diary isn't in the most picturesque spot (overlooking a roundabout!), but the house itself is finished to a beautiful standard, and is quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for posting this review and for your very positive and objective comments. We are so pleased you would highly recommend The Old Dairy . We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for the weekend whilst visiting Plymouth University and took both the rooms available, one for ourselves and the twin room for older children.
Rooms were excellent - good sizes, decor and cleanliness top class.
The little touches around the room made the stay particularly comfortable, ground coffee, home made chocolate biscuits, bottled water and mints - and wine glasses, which came in handy !
The hosts were lovely and couldn't do enough to make the stay informed and comfortable - guiding us where to eat, or see and providing a touch for walking there !
Breakfast was delightful - fresh fruit each morning, fresh juice and cereals etc and the cooked breakfast was made to order.
Location is excellent - right on the edge of the moors and close to Plymouth and surrounding area.
We recommend this place and would most definitely go back !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PaulChlodKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for posting this review and for your very positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed the home made chocolate biscuits , mints . bottled water , ground coffee etc in the room and felt very comfortable - it is exactly how we want it. We hope to welcome you back to The Old Dairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
1.6 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barnabas House
Barnabas House
#1 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harrabeer Country House
Harrabeer Country House
#2 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rosemont
The Rosemont
#3 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burrator Inn
Burrator Inn
#5 of 7 in Yelverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy

Property: The Old Dairy
Address: The Old Dairy The Old Dairy Yelverton, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary and boutique Bed & Breakfast in the centre of Yelverton, an old spa village on the edge of Dartmoor National Park near Plymouth and Tavistock and Princetown. 2 Minutes walk from places to eat. The Garden Room ( new for 2016 ) has it's own entrance from the garden, a king sized bed and an en-suite with a bath and mains shower. The room has a large flat screen TV,hairdryer and a hospitality tray . We use good quality produce for our breakfasts - which guests can enjoy either in their room or in the garden. We can store cycles and there is a parking space for guests use at no charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing