We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moorland Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Booked this hotel through a newspaper offer (£10 per night per person) but would happily pay the full rate in future. The location is superb, lovely views as you approach the hotel on the main road, and the grounds are immaculately maintained, with sheep and horses roaming. The reception was friendly, and the room itself was excellent. The bathroom was a little on the small side but perfectly acceptable, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The tv had a good choice of channels, including many freeview channels, and there was plenty of local info and brochures provided in the room. The dining room had an excellent view of the grounds, and the service was friendly, even when we arrived for breakfast as they were cleaning up! The hotel is ideally situated for the moors, and there are regular convenient bus services from the main road to Plymouth, Tavistock and nearby Yelverton ( we recommend the Rock Inn in Yelverton by the way!) All in all, a fabulous experience, one we would happily repeat in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    162
    72
    34
    17
See reviews for
126
284
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Booked this hotel from a newspaper offer - £5.00 a night. Was a bit wary as have done another newspaper offer for £10.00 a night and had a bit of a disaster!. What a contrast!! This hotel is on Dartmoor with spectacular views and lovely surroundings. The staff are helpful and friendly - especially Emma and Justine. I will definitely be back and more than happy to pay full price this time. If you're ever down this way, and need a good hotel base, then you can;t go wrong with this little gem. Thanks for the lovely stay and see you again soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina16559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

fantastic room, my children loved the high bed, lovely garden view,saw dartmoor ponies on the way in and can walk staight onto moorland from hotel grounds. Bathroom water pressure great,shower nozzle has differant settings.Tv reception intermitant due to loose ariel lead or bad weather, but all in all a delightful stay. Staff friendly and approachable, some could do with better local knowledge, but this wouldnt stop me from staying again. our room, Drake was lovely.

Room Tip: buy local map!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed for one night in January 2011.
Lovely setting off the road so very quiet with ample parking. Complementary upgrade from a single to a twin. Room very spacious but dated decor/ furnishings overall plus inside lock/chain missing so only secured by a Yale lock. Large crack in bathroom ceiling and stained blind BUT otherwise clean.
Similarly dated decor in corridors with creaking floors upstairs.
Nice public areas, particularly the bar and light and airy restaurant with excellent full breakfast included.
Whilst in the restaurant and sitting overlooking the green moss stained wood supports of the verandah I couldn't help but think that this would be a lovely hotel if certain areas/ bedrooms were refurbished/updated. The overall impression is a little tired.
What it does offer is unbeatable value for money. I paid £29 for bed and full breakfast in a single and was upgraded to a twin. For that price it's very difficult to complain!

Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dickhilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Just spent 5 unexpected days at the Moorland Links Hotel. The staff were wonderful, food very good and the room was clean with a view to die for. Could not fault it, so refreshing to find there is still a hotel with staff that care.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuefromHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoney stratford
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I found this hotel on the internet at a very good price and decided to give it a go despite the internet pictures being a little off putting, the pictures online do no do justice to this beautiful setting with excellently clean rooms despite looking a bit old they are perfectly well maintained. The food was faultless and service very good, i certainly hope to return soon, Keep up the good work, regards Kenneth Harris

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennethharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a works Christmas party which we normally hold in the city centre, I was thoroughly impressed by the service, food and can do attitude of all of the staff. I stayed the night as did other members in our group and I found the rooms to be clean and comfortable if a little dated. Will be returning next year. Many thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
3.5 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
5.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
17.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Property: Moorland Garden Hotel
Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing