We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moorland Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Reviewed 14 October 2013

got this deal on travelzoo for one nights stay with dinner, from checking in, till the time we left felt very welcome, attentive staff, a great room overlooking the garden, wonderful modern shower, lovely location for enjoying the quietness of the moors or bustle of Plymouth Dinner was very good downside no vegetables, but still adequately filling. like being able to help oneself to buffet breakfast. My only complaint was a squeaky floorboard outside our bedroom door which everyone passing the room seemed to find, but on the whole a very very enjoyable stay. Have been telling my friends all about it and would love to go back again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavender796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear lavender796,

Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay at the hotel earlier this month. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your break and that my team looked after you so well.

The floorboards are on our radar and will be dealt with when we look at the carpets very soon!

Thank you for spreading the word about us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

My review echos much of what others have said and I will try to be fair.
The positives:

The staff were very friendly & helpful especially the dining room staff both at breakfast & dinner. As noted before an ultra friendly waiter but we didn't mind!
The help yourself breakfast was excellent and plentiful- except if you are vegetarian. I asked if they provide any veggie sausages and they don't! Also it seems only at the weekends do you get a choice of eggs ie scrambled, poached etc weekdays its fried only and porridge available weekends only too.

The room was clean and the bed extremely comfortable.

The Dining Lounge areas and Reception Bathroom were very lavishly decorated ( see photos) and seems a lot of expense has been spent on them- apparently new management took over 2 years ago.
Not so it seems the rest of the hotel - hence my review title!!

The Negs!

We were in a very outdated room in the garden annexe.

The worst bit about this was having to use the terrible musty damp foul smelling stairwell up to our first floor room!! It was awful! Why they hadn't replaced the carpet & treated the walls was baffling!

As photos show the room obviously hadn't been re- decorated. The old fashioned borders on the walls were peeling in places. Saying that the bathroom HAD indeed been modernised very nicely - A Room Of 2 Halves too! As another review mentioned the toilet roll holder was in such an awkward position you had to physically turn around on the loo to reach it- in the end we took it of the holder & placed it nearby! Even the bathroom lacked finishing touches like the silicone splattered on the floor!!

The carpet was old with NUMEROUS black stains on it. Yuk!(Forgot to photo!)

The walls showed damp patches and mould- see photos!

The ground floor had had new windows fitted but the 1st floor had old windows again with peeling paint around them.

The wardrobe was very old and creaked badly on using it.

We were awoken early at 6.15 am on our 1st morning by the noise from someone using their shower! We couldn't work out if it was the pipes we were hearing or the water tank refilling! either way it woke us up.

Considering at Reception there is a list on the wall showing the price of this room at £125 a night (online it showed up as £100??) it DEFINITELY IS NOT worth that amount!! We stayed at The Wyck Hill House Hotel in the Cotswolds for £95 a night exactly the same time of year and it was outstanding so sadly we had something to compare it to and the Moorland failed big time!
There was a real old & tired look about one half of the building whereas the dining /wedding facility areas had been decorated so well and were modern!

The biggest complaint is as already mentioned by other reviews the UNACCEPTABLE WAIT FOR DINNER.! We were booked in for dinner at 6.45pm Order taken at 7pm. Food arrived 7.40pm!!!! Once we were finished we ordered sweets which took another 30 mins to arrive! We realised that 8.45pm we had been there 2 hours and only had 1 course!!! Very unacceptable and the waiters seemed to know this as they warned us (and the other diners) there would be a wait as the food was cooked to order...... REALLY??? How long does it take to cook 5 miniscule dumplings and a TEASPOON size of spinach !!! Funny the next night we had a meal at The Rock Inn in Yelverton and as a joke timed how long it took for our meals to arrive...... 4 MINUTES!!!!! Enuf said!!
The belly pork was ample & delicious but the 5 miniscule dumplings and TEASPOON size of spinach quite comical!!!

We got this stay on a deal and would stay again if the room was refurbished and modernised.

Sad.. this friendly Hotel let down by only updating HALF itself!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rapunzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Rapunzul,

Many thanks for your full and fair review of the hotel following your stay with us earlier this month. I do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience, it is very useful to us in taking our standards even further forwards.

I was surprised to see your comments about breakfast choices, we do offer the full choice menu every day, whether we have the buffet out or not, I will be checking to make sure the menus are out and that more choice is offered.

We are working with the team to ensure all our main courses are served as speedily as possible, as explained everything is cooked to order and the menu is designed for you to have a starter while the main course is being prepared, a main course in four minutes to me seems too quick! We do recognise that we have to keep the time reasonable.

Our refurbishment project is a long term one, we have had to priortise and are working on the rooms again this winter. It would have been good to have done everything at once but we have had to balance the amount of work we can do while still being open. I am sure you will see some significant differences when you come again. We would be very happy to be able to show you how much we have developed over the coming months.

Thank you once again and do please keep an eye on our website or facebook page for news on our developments.

Regards,

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked two nights at the Moorland Garden Hotel which included breakfast and dinner on both nights. Our room was huge and over looked the garden (small park) the staff we very helpfull and friendly. The bar served Dartmoor real ale and had a good selection of port. The first night at dinner my wife and I chose a seafood starter, both encured a small cost supplement, but well worth it, the starters and following main courses were excelent. Dinner on the second night however was a bit dissapointing. The hotel had a party of 90 in a nearby function room which appeared to effect service in the main dining room. We had regular starters but decided to have aberdeen angus steaks at a £6:00 supplement, steaks were tough and came with a strange sauce, but when we complained they waived the extra charge. Wine selection was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was first class on both mornings and we would stay again at the drop of a hat.
Tony Jones

Room Tip: ask for a garden room, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiverjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear jiverjones,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. I do apologise for Saturday's dinner not following Friday's so well, I am pleased we were able to manage this for you and thank you for letting me know, we must keep our consistency whatever else we are doing in the hotel.

Do come and see us again soon.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Let's keep this one simple and to the point. And hopefully useful!

Location: beautiful. Right on the edge of Datrmoor. Cattle grid at the end of the drive, and ponies grazing over the wall from the car park.

Grounds: Lovely. Well kept and fastidiously maintained, with lawns, trees, hedges and walkways.

Reception staff: Faultless, professional, helpful.

Room: Clean, bright, airy, nice view over the lawn.

Bathroom: recent luxury re-fit, with walk-in shower and space age illuminated mirror. No bath though. What would most travellers prefer, we wondered, a walk-in shower or a nice bath? We reckoned a nice bath. Maybe that's just us.

Restaurant food: Excellent. Fine Dining quality, as good as you will find in a hotel restaurant anywhere in England.

Restaurant service. Excessively chummy Head Waiter. Bodily contact not always welcome. Two under-trained waitresses wandering around looking bemused, but trying very hard to be helpful. Felt a bit sorry for them. More leadership, less Craic, please Mr Head Waiter.

Bar: Good choice of local beers, but nowhere for smokers to nip out for a quick drag. Nowhere. Ten minute walk required.

Summary: we would heartily recommend this hotel because the good bits far outweigh the weird bits. The observations about the restaurant staff are offered as constructive criticism. If your restaurant is aiming to compete with the very best (and with food this good, it can) we figured you would welcome this sort of feedback.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Allanza,

Many thanks for your kind and helpful review, I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and I really do appreciate the positive nature of all your observations.

When we put the bathroom designs together we decided that in the smaller spaces that a good shower would be preferable, in the majority of the rooms we have replaced the baths with bigger ones giving better shower space as well as the bath.

I certainly will be making sure the restaurant team behaves appropriately, while I do want the staff to be friendly and personable with the guests they do have to know where the line is!

I hope you will be able to come back and stay with us again, for information the smoking area is just to the car park side of the front door.

Thank you once again for such a helpful review

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We chose this hotel for our weekend on Dartmoor as it had offered a Website discount on their normal rates. Although it states that it is in Yelverton, it is in fact outside and a reasonable walk to the village. This apart, the hotel is nicely off the road down a quiet lane set in its own delightful grounds on the edge of the moor. The minute we arrived we were attended to by helpful and friendly staff. Our room was very comfortable with the usual extras and a lovely view over the gardens. The bathroom must rate amongst the best that we encountered on our travels and the bar area was homely and inviting. The staff at the bar were very welcoming and friendly. We ate in the restaurant and the meal was superb, as was the service. The same can be said for breakfast. If it wasn't on the menu you just had to ask and it was provided. This really was an exceptional deal as this hotel ranks up there with the better establishments. Even at the normal rates it would be a bargain. It is so nice to have genuinely friendly helpful staff as opposed to the helpful but insincere people that usually occupy these positions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear John W,

Thank you very much for your glowing review following your stay with us recently. I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, especially the food and the service. It is always beneficial for the team to see the work they do appreciated publicly and i will pass your thanks on to them.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Whilst much travelled, we don't write reviews - one man's meat is another man's poison. But here we must make an exception. This Hotel is the closest that we have ever found to 'perfect'.
From the moment you turn off the road, it seems like another world. The gardens and the surrounding moors start to calm you down.
From reception to the cleaners, the staff are wonderful, with their 'nothing is to much trouble' attitude. Our room was perfect, very clean, the beds comfortable, plenty of hot water - we prefer to bath - and an amazing view of the gardens from the windows.
The food - whether room service or a Gala Dinner - is remarkable, worthy of return visits just to make sure that we were right about it this time. And we will be back, hopefully three times a year for three day breaks. We are of an age where dependability is vital. The Moorland Gardens gives us just that. Thank you all concerned for a very special time.

Room Tip: Deal direct with the Hotel, nothing is to much trouble for them. You only have to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quilpusha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Quilpusha2013,

Thank you very much for most kind review following your recent stay with us. We were all very pleased to see how much you enjoyed everything about the hotel and especially the way the staff looked after you.

We look forward to seeing you here again at the hotel in the coming months.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

the moorland garden hotel is a hotel which should be on your must stay list if ever in devon, my wife and i have just stayed for one night 22/09/13 for what can only be descibed as the perfect stay. The hotel is set in delightful grounds just south of yelverton, on arrival we were upgraded to a balcony room (great start) which was very spacious with a large balcony overlooking the gardens the room was equiped with the usual t.v. tea and coffee facilities and also had the most beautiful bathroom. we took evening meal in the restaurant which can only be described as exceptional !! with excellent freindly and polite service (possibly the best we have encountered) the breakfast the following morning also being first rate. We will definately be staying here again and will recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: book a balcony room to get the best out of your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theterradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear theterradave,

Thank you very much for your glowing review following your visit here last weekend. I am very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay and that we got everything right for you. The team will be very pleased to see your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
8.5 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,136 reviews
3.5 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
481 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
689 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
532 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Price Range: £57 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing