We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really friendly staff let down by average food with expensive price tag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorland Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Certificate of Excellence
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really friendly staff let down by average food with expensive price tag”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife booked this as a mid week dinner for 2 as a suprise for my birthday. The staff we really friendly but it took ages for the starters to come (40 minutes) and whilst it was great they apologised, offering 2 baskets of bread whilst you wait is going to spoil your apetite. The main course took even longer and by this stage the Shania Twain CD was on its second round and I was beginning to lose the will to live but not make a fuss as Claire was clearly gutted. Again the waitress was lovely and came to tell us that the manager had noticed it was taking a long time (so had my stomach!).
When the food came out Claire's fish had been nuked so hard her fork could barely go in but it looked nice. I think that and the amount of time spent waiting (and bread consumed in my case) meant we didnt hang around for dessert.

Really disappointed as I had hoped for great things and a good restaurant around the corner would have been a real bonus for us. There are good pubs nearby (Milton Coombe and Buckland) that can do this without the terrible music and a lot cheaper (£70).

service at table saved it from the bottom score.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonandClaire2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear JonandClaire2013,

Thank you for full and frank review following your recent visit to The Wildflower Restaurant here at the hotel. I do apologise for the disappointment you both experienced, we have been reviewing the evening service and Chef asks me to pass on his personal apologies for the amount of time things took for you.

Our music selection is under review and we will be putting a whole new playlist together very shortly, I can understand how this would have begun to grate.

We would very much like to see you again as this was certainly not our normal standard.

Thank you again.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    159
    72
    34
    17
See reviews for
124
280
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I took an elderly friend on a special offer one-night stay for £59 per person inclusive of 2-course dinner and full English breakfast. The hotel is in a lovely peaceful setting on Dartmoor with ample parking and is close to several tourist attractions.
The ultra-efficient lady receptionist took the relevant details and we were allocated Room 107 on the ground floor. The room is bright and airy with a very modern bathroom. The twin beds are soft and comfortable but whereas the colour scheme is soft green each bed had a deep blue throw...ugh. We changed for dinner and went to the lounge for a sherry. The bar tender lady was extremely pleasant but we noticed wet rings on the table which were still there when we returned after dinner. We were shown to a window table in The Wildflower Restaurant and the meal was delicious although portions were not generous. After a restful night's sleep we enjoyed an excellent cooked breakfast and subsequently checked out.
I brought the following to the receptionist's attention: electric bathroom mirror not functioning; old spillage marks on the wall adjacent to the tea tray; fine cobwebs on the shade of the standard lamp shade. These comments were noted and hopefully rectified.
We enjoyed our stay and the price we paid was fair.....but things could have been better.

.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William091241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear William091241,

Many thanks for your full and helpful review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us but do note how we could have done better. I do appreciate the helpful nature of your observations and they will certainly help us move our standards ever further forwards.

Thank you again and I hope we will be able to look after you again in the future.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had our wedding here on 26th oct, firstly it is a beautiful setting, a beautiful hotel, rooms are nice comfortable and well equipped, the forget me not suite is beautiful, all of the staff are fantastic and couldn't do enough for us, bar prices are reasonable, all our guests said what a fantastic hotel it is.
Our compliments go to the chef for the tasty well presented food.
Huge thank you to laura for her help, and barry the dj was great.
Our biggest thank you has to go to martin who was with us throughout the day and night and helped put us at ease by letting us know what was going to happen and when.
THANK YOU ALL for such a wonderful day, we couldnt of wished for anything better

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellychristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear kellychristie,

Thank you very much for your kind review following your wedding here last month. I am very pleased that Laura, Martin, Chef and the team made your day so special. I will pass on your thanks to them all.

Our best wishes for a happy life together.

Regards,

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Was recommended by a friend and overall thought it was like a Travelodge. Odd coloured leather sofas, IKEA coffee tables etc, it looked as if they had furnished after a trolley dash in Dunelm. Very poor coffee and left waiting at the bar for an age resulted in a walk out.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank No1rens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear No1rens,

Thank you for your very helpful review following your recent visit to the hotel. I am sorry the furnishings were not to your taste, we are aiming for a more eclectic and individual look.

I was most concerned to hear about your experience with the coffee and the lack of service, I do apologise for this. We have been investigating carefully to find out why the coffee was poor and have increased our staff training to make sure the team is more watchful over what they are producing. We have also spoken with the staff to ensure we are more attentive in this area.

I do hope you will come back to see us again - I am sure you will find a great improvement in our coffee when you do.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

From the minute we walked in to the minute we left it was all great. The hotel is directly on the moorland so you can walk directly from the gate out onto the moor. The grounds themselves are fabulous. We had our two rather large dogs with us and all the staff were wonderful. They made a fuss over the dogs and were extremely friendly. The room overlooking the gardens was lovely and big with a clean spacious bathroom. The food was all homemade and delicious. I would thoroughly recommend this place if for nothing else the friendly, lovely, attentive staff. Well done to them all.

Room Tip: The dog friendly rooms on the ground floor over looking the garden are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrysideaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear countrysideaddict,

Very many thanks for your kind review following your stay with us the weekend before last, it was a real pleasure for us to look after you and your beautiful dogs - they were a joy to have here and made a lot of people's stay!

I am very pleased you enjoyed the break - we are in an ideal spot and it is good you were able to make the most of it.

Thank you for booking again - we look forward to your next vist.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

got this deal on travelzoo for one nights stay with dinner, from checking in, till the time we left felt very welcome, attentive staff, a great room overlooking the garden, wonderful modern shower, lovely location for enjoying the quietness of the moors or bustle of Plymouth Dinner was very good downside no vegetables, but still adequately filling. like being able to help oneself to buffet breakfast. My only complaint was a squeaky floorboard outside our bedroom door which everyone passing the room seemed to find, but on the whole a very very enjoyable stay. Have been telling my friends all about it and would love to go back again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavender796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear lavender796,

Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay at the hotel earlier this month. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your break and that my team looked after you so well.

The floorboards are on our radar and will be dealt with when we look at the carpets very soon!

Thank you for spreading the word about us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My review echos much of what others have said and I will try to be fair.
The positives:

The staff were very friendly & helpful especially the dining room staff both at breakfast & dinner. As noted before an ultra friendly waiter but we didn't mind!
The help yourself breakfast was excellent and plentiful- except if you are vegetarian. I asked if they provide any veggie sausages and they don't! Also it seems only at the weekends do you get a choice of eggs ie scrambled, poached etc weekdays its fried only and porridge available weekends only too.

The room was clean and the bed extremely comfortable.

The Dining Lounge areas and Reception Bathroom were very lavishly decorated ( see photos) and seems a lot of expense has been spent on them- apparently new management took over 2 years ago.
Not so it seems the rest of the hotel - hence my review title!!

The Negs!

We were in a very outdated room in the garden annexe.

The worst bit about this was having to use the terrible musty damp foul smelling stairwell up to our first floor room!! It was awful! Why they hadn't replaced the carpet & treated the walls was baffling!

As photos show the room obviously hadn't been re- decorated. The old fashioned borders on the walls were peeling in places. Saying that the bathroom HAD indeed been modernised very nicely - A Room Of 2 Halves too! As another review mentioned the toilet roll holder was in such an awkward position you had to physically turn around on the loo to reach it- in the end we took it of the holder & placed it nearby! Even the bathroom lacked finishing touches like the silicone splattered on the floor!!

The carpet was old with NUMEROUS black stains on it. Yuk!(Forgot to photo!)

The walls showed damp patches and mould- see photos!

The ground floor had had new windows fitted but the 1st floor had old windows again with peeling paint around them.

The wardrobe was very old and creaked badly on using it.

We were awoken early at 6.15 am on our 1st morning by the noise from someone using their shower! We couldn't work out if it was the pipes we were hearing or the water tank refilling! either way it woke us up.

Considering at Reception there is a list on the wall showing the price of this room at £125 a night (online it showed up as £100??) it DEFINITELY IS NOT worth that amount!! We stayed at The Wyck Hill House Hotel in the Cotswolds for £95 a night exactly the same time of year and it was outstanding so sadly we had something to compare it to and the Moorland failed big time!
There was a real old & tired look about one half of the building whereas the dining /wedding facility areas had been decorated so well and were modern!

The biggest complaint is as already mentioned by other reviews the UNACCEPTABLE WAIT FOR DINNER.! We were booked in for dinner at 6.45pm Order taken at 7pm. Food arrived 7.40pm!!!! Once we were finished we ordered sweets which took another 30 mins to arrive! We realised that 8.45pm we had been there 2 hours and only had 1 course!!! Very unacceptable and the waiters seemed to know this as they warned us (and the other diners) there would be a wait as the food was cooked to order...... REALLY??? How long does it take to cook 5 miniscule dumplings and a TEASPOON size of spinach !!! Funny the next night we had a meal at The Rock Inn in Yelverton and as a joke timed how long it took for our meals to arrive...... 4 MINUTES!!!!! Enuf said!!
The belly pork was ample & delicious but the 5 miniscule dumplings and TEASPOON size of spinach quite comical!!!

We got this stay on a deal and would stay again if the room was refurbished and modernised.

Sad.. this friendly Hotel let down by only updating HALF itself!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapunzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Rapunzul,

Many thanks for your full and fair review of the hotel following your stay with us earlier this month. I do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience, it is very useful to us in taking our standards even further forwards.

I was surprised to see your comments about breakfast choices, we do offer the full choice menu every day, whether we have the buffet out or not, I will be checking to make sure the menus are out and that more choice is offered.

We are working with the team to ensure all our main courses are served as speedily as possible, as explained everything is cooked to order and the menu is designed for you to have a starter while the main course is being prepared, a main course in four minutes to me seems too quick! We do recognise that we have to keep the time reasonable.

Our refurbishment project is a long term one, we have had to priortise and are working on the rooms again this winter. It would have been good to have done everything at once but we have had to balance the amount of work we can do while still being open. I am sure you will see some significant differences when you come again. We would be very happy to be able to show you how much we have developed over the coming months.

Thank you once again and do please keep an eye on our website or facebook page for news on our developments.

Regards,

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
3.5 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
5.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
17.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Property: Moorland Garden Hotel
Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing