We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding scenery and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moorland Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding scenery and comfort”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Moorland Garden Hotel is set in beautiful gardens on the edge of Dartmoor.Fabulous views fantastic food and very friendly helpful staff who are always pleased to do anything for you.Perfect for weddings or just to get away from it all.Close to Moors and also the lovely city of Plymouth.The gardens have a beautiful rose arbour for taking photos and some mornings and evenings you may be lucky to have the Dartmoor ponies visit you.loved it here.

Room Tip: Lower floor is better if you have a disability
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Hazel303,

Thank you very much for you lovely review following your stay with us earlier this month, I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to look after you so well.

I will pass on your thanks to the team, we all do appreciate your feedback and recognition of the work that has been done to develop the team.

I was pleased to see that the ponies put in an appearance for you too - we do have some beautiful foals nearby at the moment.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    162
    72
    34
    17
See reviews for
126
284
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Braughing, Ware United Kingdom
Level Contributor
769 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As a lad growing up in Plymouth this was the Moorland Links hotel. Now I've grown up and live in Hertfordshire, it has reinvented itself as The Moorland Garden Hotel. The basic building is still here but greatly extended.

The welcome. We could not have received a better welcome from well trained and knowledgeable staff.

Our room. We had the peony suite with lovely views over the garden and a quiet and serene atmosphere.

The food. Well. This is an hotel at the entrance to Dartmoor national park. What can you expect. Well....just superb! The chef is young and talented and the food of exquisite quality and presentation. Service is well ordered by the young and well trained staff. Food was excellent, and those of you who know my reviews will know this is praise indeed.

The ambience. Warm, inviting and comforting which is what we all want. Charming decor and gorgeous grounds. First class.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChefCliveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear ChefCliveM

Very many thanks for your kind review following your stay over the bank holiday weekend. I was very pleased to read how much you were able to enjoy your break and how my team contributed to this.

It is excellent news for us to see how much our changes have impacted on the business, as you say it is a very different place from a few years ago!

Thank you again and I hope we will be able to look after you again on your visits home to Plymouth.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a very long overdue review but having recently celebrated our first anniversary, I have been prompted to write about the wonderful experience we had for our wedding day at the Moorland Garden.

Firstly, and most importantly, everyone at the Moorland Garden couldn't have been more helpful in making our wedding day the most special day of our lives. My wife and I would like to thank Laura and James in particular for ensuring everything ran smoothly on the day.

Also, the food was exceptional. Everyone at the wedding commented on how delicious the canapes were and the wedding breakfast was superb.

Anyone considering visiting this venue or having their wedding their, we would thoroughly recommend it.

Paul and Melodie (Married on 4th May)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmap1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear paulmap1981,

Many thanks for your very kind review following your wedding last year - it is always a pleasure to receive these reviews no matter how long it was since your big day!

We were all really pleased to see how much you enjoyed the day and how well the team looked after you all. We are also very grateful for your endorsement of what we do.

Thank you again and I hope we will see you both for many more anniversaries!

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch , the setting is delightful staff were very attentive and helpful , menu had plenty of choices I had a red pepper and tomato soup , served piping hot and very flavoursome , my main course was a dissapoinment as the vegetables were hardly luke warm and my chicken was dry , without moisture , we did inform our waitress who spoke to the chef and we were given a small discount . It's a pity as this was our second visit and the first time we weren't very impressed but decided to give it s second chance , can't really say if we would go again which is a shame as staff were pleasant and location lovely

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Marie B,

Thank you for your full and objective review of our Sunday Lunch, I was pleased to see the elements that you did enjoy but also concerned to see that we did not meet all your expectations with the main course. I will, of course, be following this up with my kitchen team to see where we let you and ourselves down and to make the necessary improvements.

We do appreciate knowing where we have not got everything right as it is very useful to us to keep up our momentum to keep our standards moving forwards.

I would ask that you do give us another try, I am sure you will see that we have learned from this experience. Thank you again.

Regards,

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We just wanted to say that we really enjoyed the Vintage Fair. We weren't sure what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised. I guess one of the best bits (for the majority of our group anyway) was the Afternoon Tea in the restaurant. The service we received from Emma was excellent - professional, efficient and friendly as we entered the restaurant, and the rest of the team working with her ensured we had everything we ordered and more, if required.
A really great way to spend a Bank Holiday: in lovely surroundings, great stalls, amazing swing band and happy, efficient staff to serve us.
Well done!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Rachel826,

Thank you for your kind review following your visit to our Vintage Fete on Bank Holiday Monday, I was very pleased to see how much you enjoyed the day and that Emma and her team did such a good job looking after you all for afternoon tea.

We all enjoyed the day too - very different to our normal days but more special for that! Do please keep in touch so you can come to the next one.

Regards,

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Family celebration and chose this as a lunchtime venue. Was delighted with the food, service, location, attentiveness of staff. Had hoped to sample the dessert course but unfortunately the helpings were so plentiful that we were all full. Will definitely put on our list to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keaKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear keaKernow,

Thank you very much for your kind review after your celebration lunch here recently. It was a pleasure to read how much you all enjoyed your lunchtime party. What a shame you missed out on desserts - that will definitley be something to come back for!

We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Regards,

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Moorland Garden Hotel for our Son's wedding on Easter Saturday 19th April and the whole experience was exceptional. From the moment we arrived on the 16th until leaving on the 22nd we had a truly wonderful time, which considering the hotel was holding three weddings over the three days shows great organisation and expertise.
On the day of the wedding the entire staff could not have done more to make the day anymore perfect than it was. Simon who was in charge ensured everything ran smoothly and to time. The food at the reception and the barbecue in the evening was first class. Many, many thanks to Bruce the head chef and his team.
The staff at reception also deserve our thanks; especially Carley and Sheridan, nothing was too much trouble for them.
We would also like to thank Laura who looked after us so well at breakfast and Chris who works in the Dartmoor bar and is a great asset to the hotel. We also thank everyone else whose names we did n't know.
I would like to add that having read other recent reviews on Tripadvisor about the hotel needing to change some of its decor, in places that is true but the hotel is in the process of being updated. However, you cannot judge a hotel simply on a little peeling wallpaper and if you do you will miss visiting "a real gem" in The Moorland Garden. We wish you continued success and will back to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamogenrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Jamogenrex,

Very many thanks for your very kind review, it was a real plesure for us all to be involved in your son and daughter-in-law's wedding last Saturday and I was very pleased to read how much you all enjoyed the day and you your extended break.

Your endorsement of and support here for us is exceptional and very rewarding for us all. Please pass on our best wishes to the happy couple and we hope you will be able to come and visit again.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
3.5 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
5.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
17.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Property: Moorland Garden Hotel
Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing