We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorland Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moorland Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Friends and I took afternoon tea today, we truly enjoyed our experience. The setting was wonderful and the sandwiches , scones, and fancies were FANTASTIC. Afterwards we strolled around the garden and meadow, the whole experience was truly wonderful, can not wait to go again. I highly recommend anyone looking for an afternoon tea to book here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Martin W

Thank you very much for your very kind review of our afternoon tea yesterday. It was a real pleasure to see how much you enjoyed the whole experience - it is good for us to know that we are getting things right!

The gardens and the Wildflower Meadow are lovely too and the weather yesterday gave the opportunity to make the most of it!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Regards,

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    155
    69
    32
    17
See reviews for
117
274
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went on an overnight Travelzoo deal and it was excellent value for money. The bed was large and comfortable in a nice clean ground floor room. We took our dog and he was provided with bowls, towel and bed. Bed a tad small for dog but we appreciated the thought and had bought our own! The wildflower area was ideal for exercising him and of course open moorland on the doorstep.
All the staff we met were polite, helpful and chatty despite it being busy with weddings over the bank holiday weekend. It lends itself to weddings with the beautiful ballroom and expanse of lawn.
The highlight of our stay was the evening meal with two courses included and extra paid for a third. The main course of Black Bream and the pudding of Creme Brûlée were superb. Now planning a return for the Anniversary Dinner and Dance!

Room Tip: Limited rooms for dogs, but without, a balcony room would be lovely looking directly onto the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pip97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear pip97,

Many thanks for your kind review following your stay over the Bank Holiday weekend, I was very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay and what great value you found it to be.

We do aim to provide friendly hospitality and it is good news to see that this is being received so well by our guests - and the four legged ones too!

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you when you come back in the summer for the Anniversary Sparkles and Spitfires Dinner and Dance.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We held our wedding at the Moorland Gardens Hotel and the day could not have been better!

Our initial meeting was relaxed and we were made to feel very comfortable. On the build up to the wedding itself we obviously had lots of questions and VARIOUS menu changes, all of which were dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner.

The care and attention that went into setting our room up was so appreciated. The hotels staff helped coordinate our various suppliers and pulled it all together just as we had pictured. The same care and attention was taken into resetting the room up for our evening guests after the wedding breakfast. By the time the team had finished you would never of known that just an hour earlier 80+ had been sat down in the same room.

The day itself was PERFECT! We were made to feel so special by all of the team at the hotel. The food was amazing, it's so hard when catering for 80+ people but everyone said their food was brilliant, people were still talking about the Sticky Toffee pudding days later!!!!

Everything on the day ran like clockwork! This is 100% down to the team & the brilliant Master of Ceremonies. He kept us in the loop through out the day, and just kept the day ticking over at just the right pace. A few encouraging words here and there as we approached the all important speeches and first dance also didn't go a miss.

I could go on and on singing the hotels praises but ultimately if you are considering the Moorland Gardens for your wedding, book with confidence! They played a massive part in a day we will remember for the rest of our lives.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Baxter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Baxter5,

Thank you so much for your very kind review and ringing endorsement of us after your wedding at the end of May. It was a real pleasure for us to be working with you to make your day so special.

As you say it is a big team effort to make everything work smoothly and everyone does appreciate such positive feedback and the knowledge that we did well both in the run up to the day and during the wedding itself too. The sticky toffee pudding is great isn't it - I do need to make sure I leave it alone but it is very hard sometimes!

Thank you again and our best wishes for your married life together.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our daughter chose the moorland garden for her wedding and from that very first meeting we were very impressed with the professionalism and attention to detail from Laura Braithwaite and her team.They arranged the whole day for us,the food was superb from the roast beef and chicken wrapped in pancetta to the very tasty risotto.A big thanks to Bruce in the kitchen and of course everyone involved in making sure the food arrived on time and piping hot. The day was very special for all of us,we can't thank you enough. We took the option to stay in the lily of the valley suite and you couldn't have had a better room ( except maybe the honeymoon suite which our daughter and new son in law were in ) lots of room and well decorated,large bathroom. We had lots of friends and family stay the night as well in all of the different style rooms and all of them said the rooms were great and very comfortable all of us had a really good nights sleep. The breakfast the following morning,also great I ordered the smoked haddock with poached eggs again superb there was also a full fry and all the usual cereals and juices, all of this is eaten in the dining room with lovely views over the garden.I can't express how good the moorland garden is for the perfect wedding all the staff were fantastic and what a setting with all that space and gardens in bloom. I would recommend to anyone who is getting married to book this place quick to avoid disappointment. Once again thanks to the moorland for making our daughter and son in laws wedding very special and a big thanks to Simon Tozer who stayed with us all day and made sure everything ran so smoothly,he is a great asset to the hotel along with the organising skills of Laura and of course the very good chef Bruce. A big thanks to all the team behind the scenes that you don't see they are just as important but rarely get a mention. Whether your just having a meal,staying or having your wedding there you can't beat the moorland garden THANKS

Room Tip: All the rooms have a garden view but if the weather is good and you want to sit outside then get a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear martyn d,

Thank you very much for this brilliant review, we all had a great time looking after you and your families on the day and getting to know you all in the run up to the wedding. I will pass on your appreciation to Laura, Simon, Bruce and the rest of the team, it does mean a lot to them to be recognised like this.

It was very pleasing for me to see that we got all the other details right around the weekend for you too with the rooms and breakfasts.

I hope you have now had the chance to relax after the wedding, we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Moorland Garden Hotel is set in beautiful gardens on the edge of Dartmoor.Fabulous views fantastic food and very friendly helpful staff who are always pleased to do anything for you.Perfect for weddings or just to get away from it all.Close to Moors and also the lovely city of Plymouth.The gardens have a beautiful rose arbour for taking photos and some mornings and evenings you may be lucky to have the Dartmoor ponies visit you.loved it here.

Room Tip: Lower floor is better if you have a disability
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Hazel303,

Thank you very much for you lovely review following your stay with us earlier this month, I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to look after you so well.

I will pass on your thanks to the team, we all do appreciate your feedback and recognition of the work that has been done to develop the team.

I was pleased to see that the ponies put in an appearance for you too - we do have some beautiful foals nearby at the moment.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braughing, Ware United Kingdom
Level Contributor
764 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

As a lad growing up in Plymouth this was the Moorland Links hotel. Now I've grown up and live in Hertfordshire, it has reinvented itself as The Moorland Garden Hotel. The basic building is still here but greatly extended.

The welcome. We could not have received a better welcome from well trained and knowledgeable staff.

Our room. We had the peony suite with lovely views over the garden and a quiet and serene atmosphere.

The food. Well. This is an hotel at the entrance to Dartmoor national park. What can you expect. Well....just superb! The chef is young and talented and the food of exquisite quality and presentation. Service is well ordered by the young and well trained staff. Food was excellent, and those of you who know my reviews will know this is praise indeed.

The ambience. Warm, inviting and comforting which is what we all want. Charming decor and gorgeous grounds. First class.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChefCliveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear ChefCliveM

Very many thanks for your kind review following your stay over the bank holiday weekend. I was very pleased to read how much you were able to enjoy your break and how my team contributed to this.

It is excellent news for us to see how much our changes have impacted on the business, as you say it is a very different place from a few years ago!

Thank you again and I hope we will be able to look after you again on your visits home to Plymouth.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a very long overdue review but having recently celebrated our first anniversary, I have been prompted to write about the wonderful experience we had for our wedding day at the Moorland Garden.

Firstly, and most importantly, everyone at the Moorland Garden couldn't have been more helpful in making our wedding day the most special day of our lives. My wife and I would like to thank Laura and James in particular for ensuring everything ran smoothly on the day.

Also, the food was exceptional. Everyone at the wedding commented on how delicious the canapes were and the wedding breakfast was superb.

Anyone considering visiting this venue or having their wedding their, we would thoroughly recommend it.

Paul and Melodie (Married on 4th May)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmap1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear paulmap1981,

Many thanks for your very kind review following your wedding last year - it is always a pleasure to receive these reviews no matter how long it was since your big day!

We were all really pleased to see how much you enjoyed the day and how well the team looked after you all. We are also very grateful for your endorsement of what we do.

Thank you again and I hope we will see you both for many more anniversaries!

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
3.5 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.8 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
19.5 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Property: Moorland Garden Hotel
Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing