We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but just lacking something”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moorland Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for one night as a starting point to our week in the West Country. We arrived late afternoon and checked in quickly and easily - staff very friendly explaining our options for breakfast in the morning due to us having our dog who understandably couldn't go in the restaurant.
Our room was a good size with lovely views over the front gardens. We had been given a small upgrade which nice and I think that basically gave us the views and a slightly larger room, which is always nice to have.
The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was nice enough. Although looked a little dated with a floor which had clearly had previous water damage. It was also a bit dusty in places. The shower however was great and the towels super soft and fluffy!!
We had a good nights sleep - only slightly disturbed by noise around midnight/1am from some other guests in the hallway - not the hotels fault and luckily only around 10 mins before silence!
The hotel is in a really nice location - 20 mins from the middle of Plymouth and with Dartmoor literally on your doorstep.
After a dog walk on the moor we had dinner in the bar which would accomodate the dog - with treats included for him too!
The barman was very friendly and helpful and when we asked about food he checked with the kitchen on any delays as there was a wedding being catered for - good of him to do this but actually there wasn't too long a wait and we don't mind that anyway as like to linger through the evening.
The menu - I felt - was a little lacking in choice - steak, burger, fish and chips, other fish option then salads. It would have been nice to have something like a chicken main (other than salad) or lamb/pork etc. The starters were nice - very tasty prawn starter. The mains were tasty but both steaks were overcooked. We didn't say anything as they still tasted nice and weren't tough but not as we ordered - we put it down to the kitchen being busy. The accompanying chips etc all very nice and well cooked.
We had breakfast in the bar the next day so we could have the dog with us - its buffet style with the usual bacon, eggs etc but also a choice of continental plus smoked haddock, which I tried. All nicely cooked and tasty although the toast we had was not toast - more like lightly warmed bread! Disappointing that it was ready sliced bread too - perhaps high expectations but in the West Country with all their wonderful produce it would be nice to have nicer bread.
All in all our stay was nice enough but it was just lacking a little something. I htink there is another review on here that talks about the hotel being done up - and I think that is part of it - it feels a little like a work in progress. It was lacking a little in special touches which would set it apart and felt a bit like a chain style hotel. Reading the reviews they clearly have a lot of weddings which they do well and it is certainly a lovely setting for that but it did feel a little like everything was focused on that wedding and general guests not so much. The restaurant also has great reviews and it was a shame we couldn't try that but understandable that the dog can't be allowed in.
Its one to keep an eye on perhaps - if it is mid transformation then once it all comes together im sure it will be lovely. They certainly have a great setting to build on.
We wouldn't not go back but would try other places first. Just slightly disappointing but not bad. Perhaps our expectations were too high.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front lawns have lovely views and are aware from the main house so if there is...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear sarah_gray,

Thank you very much for your full and franl review following your stay with us earlier this month. I was pleased to see that we managed to get most things right for you and I do apologise for the "certain something missing", we will certainly put our heads together to see what this was and then how we can rectify it.

We are always looking to improve our standards and your review certainly gives us a new vantage point to review what we do to make further improvements. We do have more work underway already but we will also be looking at our service systems to see where we can sharpen these up too.

Thank you once again and I hope we will be able to see you again in the future.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
There are newer reviews for Moorland Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were invited to a wedding at this hotel and so decided to stay there. So happy we made that decision. The Hotel stands in lovely grounds on the edge of Dartmoor the surroundings are spectacular and is within easy reach of coast. The staff were all friendly polite and very helpful. Our room overlooked the extensive Gardens. The twin room was large, nicely decorated with plenty of storage, TV, free WiFi and tea making facilities. The beds were clean and comfortable, bathroom again clean spacious and beautiful white fluffy towels. We stayed two nights bed and breakfast basis. We decided to eat out on our first night but this in no way reflected on the restaurant. As looking at the menu and the restaurant it all looked good. Breakfast was very enjoyable with a choice of full English or continental, cereals, fruits and yoghurt all freshly prepared. The main areas, reception, lounge and bar were all decorated and furnished to a high standard. Would I stay there again most certainly would.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanyafool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Alanyafool,

Many thanks for your kind review following your stay with us for a wedding earlier this month. I was very pleased to see you found everything to your liking and were able to take advantage of our gorgeous local scenery as well as our friendly service and great rooms and breakfasts.

We look forward to you coming again!

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked 2 nights here on a 'Summer Sizzler' deal which I have to say was exceptional value. We upgraded to a balcony room which had the largest balcony ever! The room was a generous size and very clean, the bathroom had been recently upgraded and was very fresh with a super shower. The staff were without exception helpful & friendly. The dinner service was excellent and the meals were delicious. Winner of a SW taste award it's well deserved. There is some upgrading work going on but the hotel was careful to cause minimum inconvenience to the guests and it didn't trouble us at all. The bed was a bit hard for me but my husband liked it. That's just personal preference anyway. The gardens are lovely and the dining room overlooks them. I would happily recommend a stay here and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlook garden and are lovely
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Sophie C,

Thank you for your very kind review following your stay with us recently and I was very pleased to see how much you both enjoyed your visit. It was great to see that we managed to get everything right for you and the team will be happy to see this.

I hope you will be able to get back up from Falmouth again soon!

Regards,

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A very big thank you to all of the staff at the Moorland Garden Hotel for looking after the partners of Stephens Scown during their annual conference over the last 2 days. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was polite and helpful. Being able to spill out onto the Terrace whilst enjoying tea and delicious carrot cake was a great way to end the day. Robert Camp

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear robert c

Thank you very much for your kind review, it was a real pleasure for us to look after you and your colleagues during your conference and thank you, too, for placing your business with us.

I trust you all had a useful time with us and we wish you all the best for your year ahead. I hope the wind was behind you for your ride back to Exeter!

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Friends and I took afternoon tea today, we truly enjoyed our experience. The setting was wonderful and the sandwiches , scones, and fancies were FANTASTIC. Afterwards we strolled around the garden and meadow, the whole experience was truly wonderful, can not wait to go again. I highly recommend anyone looking for an afternoon tea to book here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Martin W

Thank you very much for your very kind review of our afternoon tea yesterday. It was a real pleasure to see how much you enjoyed the whole experience - it is good for us to know that we are getting things right!

The gardens and the Wildflower Meadow are lovely too and the weather yesterday gave the opportunity to make the most of it!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Regards,

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went on an overnight Travelzoo deal and it was excellent value for money. The bed was large and comfortable in a nice clean ground floor room. We took our dog and he was provided with bowls, towel and bed. Bed a tad small for dog but we appreciated the thought and had bought our own! The wildflower area was ideal for exercising him and of course open moorland on the doorstep.
All the staff we met were polite, helpful and chatty despite it being busy with weddings over the bank holiday weekend. It lends itself to weddings with the beautiful ballroom and expanse of lawn.
The highlight of our stay was the evening meal with two courses included and extra paid for a third. The main course of Black Bream and the pudding of Creme Brûlée were superb. Now planning a return for the Anniversary Dinner and Dance!

Room Tip: Limited rooms for dogs, but without, a balcony room would be lovely looking directly onto the garden...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pip97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear pip97,

Many thanks for your kind review following your stay over the Bank Holiday weekend, I was very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay and what great value you found it to be.

We do aim to provide friendly hospitality and it is good news to see that this is being received so well by our guests - and the four legged ones too!

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you when you come back in the summer for the Anniversary Sparkles and Spitfires Dinner and Dance.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We held our wedding at the Moorland Gardens Hotel and the day could not have been better!

Our initial meeting was relaxed and we were made to feel very comfortable. On the build up to the wedding itself we obviously had lots of questions and VARIOUS menu changes, all of which were dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner.

The care and attention that went into setting our room up was so appreciated. The hotels staff helped coordinate our various suppliers and pulled it all together just as we had pictured. The same care and attention was taken into resetting the room up for our evening guests after the wedding breakfast. By the time the team had finished you would never of known that just an hour earlier 80+ had been sat down in the same room.

The day itself was PERFECT! We were made to feel so special by all of the team at the hotel. The food was amazing, it's so hard when catering for 80+ people but everyone said their food was brilliant, people were still talking about the Sticky Toffee pudding days later!!!!

Everything on the day ran like clockwork! This is 100% down to the team & the brilliant Master of Ceremonies. He kept us in the loop through out the day, and just kept the day ticking over at just the right pace. A few encouraging words here and there as we approached the all important speeches and first dance also didn't go a miss.

I could go on and on singing the hotels praises but ultimately if you are considering the Moorland Gardens for your wedding, book with confidence! They played a massive part in a day we will remember for the rest of our lives.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Baxter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Baxter5,

Thank you so much for your very kind review and ringing endorsement of us after your wedding at the end of May. It was a real pleasure for us to be working with you to make your day so special.

As you say it is a big team effort to make everything work smoothly and everyone does appreciate such positive feedback and the knowledge that we did well both in the run up to the day and during the wedding itself too. The sticky toffee pudding is great isn't it - I do need to make sure I leave it alone but it is very hard sometimes!

Thank you again and our best wishes for your married life together.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
3.5 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
464 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
397 reviews
8.5 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,072 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Price Range: £66 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing