We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
Sunny  patio Comfortable and light sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
The Lodge
Sunny  patio
Comfortable and light sitting room
Matching sofas
Log effect stove
Fully fitted kitchen
Internal view to bedroom
Two 3-foot zip and link beds to create a large double, or two separate single beds
Internal view from bedroom
Large walk-in shower
Owners'  cottage on left. The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk onto the Moor from the Lodge
Miles of moorland to explore
Uninterrupted moorland
Take a break to soak up the scenery
Visit the ancient clapper bridge at Postbridge
Enjoy a local cream tea
Loads of footpaths to explore
And riverside walks
Or walk around Burrator Reservoir
Admire the moorland ponies
Parking in front of The Lodge is on reinforced grass
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davessand...
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wow we have just got home from an amazing experience at the Lodge in Buckland Monachorum. From the moment we arrived the owners couldn,t be more helpful. The lodge in itself was probably the best self contained property we have ever stayed in. Very well furnished and comfortable. We arrived to a welcome pack of tea, coffee milk etc. to help us get started. and more importently a good supply of maps and and walks in the local area.
The local hostelry was great too with good food and friendly locals to chat with after our walks im sure they have heard it all before though.
We found the location was spot on for us to explore the moor and plenty of small walks around the village for our dog to exercise as well. The owners were superb in welcoming our dog as well by offering towels and throws to cover the furniture.
In a nutshell we cannot wait to revisit here. Thankyou so much for your fine hospitlity Carol and Andrew

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-E-Le...
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Superb location from which to explore West Devon & Dartmoor”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Carol and Quito (her beautiful black Labrador) could not have made us feel more welcome when we arrived at this delightfully kitted-out cottage. We thought that four nights would be more than enough in this quiet corner of Devon, but we really wished that we'd booked for longer, as there was so much to do, and so many places to visit. The weather was a little mixed, but the lodge made us feel very welcome and at ease, no matter what was happening outside.

The other reviews have given a very fair overview of the spot-on facilities, so I'd like to focus on what there is to see & do in the area (Carol provides a good set of what-to-see pamphlets).

1. Take a walk up onto Dartmoor (aim for Leg O'Mutton) via The Garden House gardens. This is just outside of the village, and is an absolute joy to walk around... so many different areas of planting. Then up to Crapstone, cross the old RAF spitfire station, traverse the edge of the moor, then drop back into the village (via the VERY friendly pub)

2. Walk/drive to Bere Alston, and catch the train to Calstock. Walk along the Taymar, then up through the disused copper mines to St Andrews church (a beautifully peaceful place to contemplate quietness of Devon), then back down into Calstock for a devon ice cream and the train home.

3. Drive to the Two Bridges hotel, and take a walk up to Wistman's wood. This patch of ancient oak woodland is coated in a shaggy layer of moss and lichen, and is a grand place to picnic before scrambling up to the tor to take in the fine views of Devon and Cornwall. The beer and cream teas at the Two Bridges hotel ain't bad either!

4. Tavistock is a thriving town, full of good eateries and 'arty' galleries and venues. Buy a bottle (or two) of the local~ish wine (Camel Valley) from Crebers Deli, then round your day off on the patio outside the Lodge with a wine tasting.... perfect!

PS: if you drive in from the Yelverton direction, you'll spend less time reversing for tractors :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quito - the black labrador (and the peace & quiet of the Lodge)
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekm489...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful Accommodation in wonderful location”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The accommodation is spacious with clean, modern and good facilities for cooking and general living. It is comfortable with areas for cooking, eating, relaxing and seats outside in the garden, which is a sun trap for pleasant evenings drinking and watching the sun go down. It is relaxing being there, and life slows down accordingly.
The location is great, just across the road from The Lodge is a footpath which leads directly onto open countryside, the moors and a good walk over Gem Bridge. The Lodge is very convenient for walking, cycling or driving on Dartmoor, which is so picturesque, full of wildlife and wild flowers.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lau1s
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in the lodge for a short break and we couldn't fault it. Carol the owner is lovely very helpful and welcoming. The lodge it self was very clean and well looked after. The villiage is very peaceful and you can walk for miles without seeing a soul. We had a very relaxing time here and would deffenitly want to stay again. The best place we have ever stayed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G
1 review
“The perfect place to relax ”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at The Lodge for our anniversary and It is by far the best place we have stayed. The cottage is so cosy and peaceful, we were amazed how well looked after it is and how well equipped the kitchen is. We fell in love with the cottage the first time we stayed so this year we returned for our second visit and can't wait to go back again. There is no better place to get away to relax. The warm welcome we recieved made us feel so at home, Carol is a wonderful neighbour, she was so relaxed and friendly on our arrival - we could have got used to living next door. We are definitely planning another visit very soon. Highly recommend the Lodge, you visit once and you just want to keep going back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reginald...
2 reviews
“VERY PLEASANT STAY OWNERS VERY WELCOMING AND HELPFUL”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Pretty location close to Dartmoor and surrounding towns and villages
The Lodge was spotless and very comfortable we enjoyed our stay there very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable bed
Liked least: towel rail did not heat up much and TV very small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed at this cottage for a long weekend to visit my son who lives in Plymouth. The cottage was spotlessly clean and had everything in it we needed for our long weekend. The bed was lovely and comfy and the main living area was bright, airy and warm. We were met by Andrew, the owner, who showed us round and suggested a walk we could try the afternoon we arrived which was lovely. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage
Liked least: Not having a shop in the village could be a problem if you are not well organised.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing