We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little property in a small village, with a...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
Sunny  patio Comfortable and light sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
The Lodge
Sunny  patio
Comfortable and light sitting room
Matching sofas
Log effect stove
Fully fitted kitchen
Internal view to bedroom
Two 3-foot zip and link beds to create a large double, or two separate single beds
Internal view from bedroom
Large walk-in shower
Owners'  cottage on left. The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk onto the Moor from the Lodge
Miles of moorland to explore
Uninterrupted moorland
Take a break to soak up the scenery
Visit the ancient clapper bridge at Postbridge
Enjoy a local cream tea
Loads of footpaths to explore
And riverside walks
Or walk around Burrator Reservoir
Admire the moorland ponies
Parking in front of The Lodge is on reinforced grass
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cheryl H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little property in a small village, with a pub just up the road.”
Reviewed 21 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Buckland Monachorum is a lovely little village on the edge of Dartmoor. Peaceful but ideal for touring the area. The property is extremely well appointed, sparkling clean and with everything that might possibly be needed for a self catering holiday. The owners, Andrew and Carol couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Thoroughly recommend The Lodge at Bedford Cottage and I hope we will stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super cottage, great location.”
Reviewed 25 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A really lovely cottage ideally situated within walking distance of Dartmoor. Carol and Andrew were great hosts with lots of helpful recommendations about walks and local places to visit. The local pub, also within walking distance, was dog friendly and had a good menu. Overall a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDClogs
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our fourth visit - says it all!”
Reviewed 17 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We have just returned from our fourth visit to the Lodge since discovering it in March 2016. Carol and Andrew are so welcoming that we feel at home as soon as we turn into the drive. The Lodge is warm, comfortable and extremely well-equipped, with lots of little extra touches which make it special.

The weather for our week was rather mixed, which meant a damp end to a couple of our walks on the moor, but there is plenty to do under cover in the area. We visited Castle Drogo, looking round the castle on a wet morning and completing the Fingle Bridge walk when the rain passed off in the afternoon. The previous wet weather meant the Lydford Gorge walk was spectacular and when the heavens opened on us right at the end, we dived into the cafe for tea and cake. Tavistock is also well worth a visit.

Somehow even wet weather doesn't matter so much when you can walk round the corner in the evening and enjoy an excellent dinner in front of a warm fire at the Drake Manor, then stroll back to the Lodge, knowing a comfortable bed awaits. We can heartily recommend this as a holiday location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C
1 review
“Excellent, Peaceful cottage - Extremely Helpful Owners”
Reviewed 9 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Stayed in this excellent little cottage for 4 nights, having been caught out by the beast from the east and having to abandon our car at a farm 15 miles away. The cottage owners were absolutely fabulous in assisting us in getting to our cottage, ensuring we had everything we needed for our stay and helping to recover our car.

Couldn't have asked for a better, friendlier service. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
579teresa...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Perfect place for visiting around Dartmoor.. The owners have equipped the lodge with everything needed for a relaxing stay. The lounge now has two comfy sofas rather than the chairs shown in the pictures. The lodge is fully equipped to cook but The little village Has a pub close by serving good food. Tavistock with cafes and restaurants is nearby and a trip to Plymouth easily accessible by car. We were received with a warm welcome by the owners Carol and Andrewand, had a lovely stay and Thoroughly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanh889
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Welcoming cottage in small village on edge of Dartmoor”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Lodge is based within the garden of the owners, Carol and Andrew. Both were there to greet us on arrival as well as tea/coffee, milk and biscuits. The cottage is clean and well equipped. The Drake pub is within a minute walk from the cottage serving good food. We had a lovely day getting the Cremyll passenger ferry from Plymouth to Edgecumbe Park where you can have a lovely lunch at the orangery and a walk around the grounds, then get the ferry from Edgecumbe which goes to the Barbican (calling at Royal William Yard first). Barbican is a vibrant place with bars and restaurants, within a short walk is Plymouth Gin; well worth a visit and the tour is excellent, then a walk along The Hoe. My only negative of the cottage is that two sofas would be better than one two seater and two chairs (not armchairs).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglasog...
Clun, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely twin bedded accommodation”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We always look for twin bedded accommodation which is not easy to find. The Lodge at Bedford Cottage is flexible with zip and link beds. Andrew and Carol were very welcoming and the Lodge was just right for us. Nicely decorated with all the facilities we required.

It is within walking distance of the Drake Manor Inn which serves good food. We also went to the local church on the Sunday, which is just across the road, to a very lively family communion service. Just a short walk away, using footpaths, is the Garden House which was absolutely lovely and a recommended tourist attraction. A visit to Princetown and the Dartmoor Prison Museum should also be on your 'to do' list.

We will be returning later in the year.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing