We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckland Abbey

Buckland Abbey
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Yelverton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I use a wheelchair and some of the paths are not suitable, I couldn't go to the upper part of the house as there is no lift. Alright for an hour, the soup was lovely.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank babs567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jez M, General Manager at Buckland Abbey, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry that you were a little dissapointed with your visit, but I can understand why. Certainly the topography of our site does not make us particualry wheelchair freindly, it's certainly a challenge. What we do do is ensure that we always have a buggy avaiable run by one of our super helpful volunters to help people around the site.

Perhaps if you were ever to visit again you may like to look into using our tramper too. The Tramper is a special all terrain mobility scooter that enables you navigate round all of the gardens and to enjoy some of the walks on the wider estate, many people who use it thoroughly enjoy it.

As regards the access within the Abbey, again it's a real challenge. We're a 13th century Abbey converted into a house and provision for diability access was not a consideration back in the 16th Century. We continue to think about how we can improve access and will make improvements wherever it is possible. Hopefully you did manage to enjoy the Rembrandt exhibtion? Access was a major consideration when we installed that exhibtion so that alll of our visitos would be able to enjoy it on the ground floor.

Thanks aghaoin for your visit. Glad you liked the soup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    161
    29
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“lovely afternoon out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a lovely afternoon with family going round abbey and gardens. Lunch of hot dogs and sandwiches really nice and the staff so helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lloyd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“lovely afternoon out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a lovely afternoon going round abbey with friends and lovely hot dogs and sandwiches for lunch enjoyed by all

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lloyd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small but very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Having said small I should mention that the Great Barn is anything but small!
Lovely NT property full of interest, not least the Rembrandt self portrait, newly discovered to be by him rather than 'school of'. Nice little exhibition and also good for children on the top floor as it reconstructs what it was like to be on Drake's ship. Well presented and interesting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank grangemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely place !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A lovely place to visit. We saw the Rembrandt painting, Drake's drum and many other rooms including the small chapel. In the courtyard area, there are a few small shops to browse. The tea-room is spacious as well as having outdoor tables to sit at. At the time of our visit, the Great Barn had a vintage weekend event with many stalls and a 4-piece band playing. There is a lovely garden beyond this with a small fountain and fragrant roses, sweet peas plus cornflowers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buckland Abbey also viewed

Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Buckland Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing