We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and luxurious accommodation”
Review of Dorset House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dorset House
Ranked #1 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location and luxurious accommodation”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Dorset House. I was staying on my own as my husband and friends were camping nearby and at 7 mths pregnant I didn't fancy that - Dorset House was the perfect pre-baby getaway for me! Jason could not have been more helpful. The room was perfect and the entire house is beautifully decorated. The ensuite shower room was also beautifully appointed (and I did gloat about it to my husband and friends who were camping!!). The breakfasts were excellent - fabulous homemade granola and divine muffins along with the options of spelt pancakes, bacon and maple syrup and a very good full english. Jason and Lyn clearly love good food and take particular care in sourcing the best ingredients/produce.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    47
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
106
462
24
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay at dorset house.what can i say absolutely fantastic in a beautiful house.nothing was too much trouble for our hosts lyn and jason.the room was superb,and breakfeast was outstanding especially the home made granola and cakes.would highley reccomend.thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stubo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is one of the nicest B&Bs we've stayed in and we couldn't wish to find a more delightful place. Lyn & Jason are charming, and their cooked to order breakfast was delicious - home made breads, granola and local ingredients. We stayed in the Porthole room, a bit on the small side, a bit tight on storage, and no view to speak of, but it is beautifully presented and had a lovely shower room (Ren products). As the only room available, it was fine for the two nights we stayed, but for a longer stay you would probably wish to stay in one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sootoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Dorset House was absolutely spot on for what we were after, a little bit of luxurious pampering in a very lovely, small, discrete hotel. Our 'Seaview' room was perfect for my husband and I and our nine year-old son. He was very happy to be ensconced in his comfy sofa bed with multiple pillows and cushions at the end of a hard day eating fish and chips and cream teas on the beach in Lyme and pottering about for fossils on the under cliffs. Lyn and Jason's breakfast was delicious and hearty (they unflinchingly responded to my husband's cheeky request for a third fried egg!). The help-your-self bar was ideal early on in Saturday evening when we fancied a chilled glass of chablis. Can't recommend Dorset House highly enough. We have already booked it for a party of ten for my husband's fiftieth in a couple of years' time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andyr5848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just spent a night at the Dorset House B&B. Having never stayed in a B&B before was not sure what to expect. The place looked great on the website and did not disappoint. Beautifully decorated, lovely shower room, comfy beds, chilled water on arrival, rounded of with a delicious breakfast. We will definitely return. Perfect B&B (more boutique hotel). The only negative (which has nothing to do with Dorset House) was that there is no onsite parking and Lyme Regis was very busy when we arrived so it took us a while to park. Having said that it would not put me off, I loved it!

Room Tip: Lighthouse Suite is great if travelling with a child as the sofa bed is in separate lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The owners of this hotel have done everything to make your stay an excellent one. Jason is a very friendly and relaxed host. Breakfast consists of fresh melon, raspberries, strawberries, blueberries and mint, plus yoghurt, home made Grenola, about 5 different types of bread followed by a delicious cooked breakfast and wonderful cake (presumably made by Lynn). The decor throughout the house is a perfect mix of old and new - very tastefully done.. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom excellent and the hospitality tray of a very high standard. You would have to go a long way to match the atmosphere in this hotel and the service offered. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. Although there is no parking on site we parked for free in a nearby road without any problem. If you are 60 or over and reading this review please just be aware that Lyme Regis is very hilly.

Room Tip: We had probably the smallest room (the 'porthole' room). Go for a larger room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susansmithCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Looking for a stand out Bed & Breakfast hotel in the Dorset/Devon area for my birthday treat to Sunday Lunch at River Cottage I could not have been happier with my choice. This beautiful, Regency style hotel was absolutely perfect . Could not find fault with anything from the room (heavenly bed linen) ultra modern bathroom with gorgeous Ren toiletries & delicious breakfast with too many options to go in to here . Wish we could have stayed more than one night . Thank you Lyn & Jason for the bubbly with our welcome afternoon tea , even though my birthday was 9 months before !

Room Tip: Stayed in 'Church View' but this room also has sea views. Smaller bathroom than other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 45 in Lyme Regis
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset House

Property: Dorset House
Address: Dorset House Pound Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated B&B with boutique facilities and local home cooked breakfast. Warm welcome - complimentary wifi - sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dorset House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset House Lyme Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing