We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albany Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Albany Guest House
Ranked #4 of 47 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

4 of us just spent a night here. Lovely friendly owners and a really nice room. The breakfast was super- with local ingredients. There is good car parking and it is handy for the town. Absolutely no complaints at all. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany-Lyme, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Toby & Nikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
80
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the Albany Guest House just days after the new owners had taken charge. Flawless service from day 1 - very professional and helpful. They could have been running it for years!
Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cowsdonot Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany-Lyme, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Many thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Toby & Nikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, Cornwall
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

When we arrived at the Albany, Toby and Nicky had been running it for less than a week! We'd never have guessed, they were so friendly, helfpul and professional. We had a lovely room overlooking the rear of their property with beautiful cliff and sea views. The room had a couple of chairs where we could sit and admire the view (rather than sitting on the bed), and the en-suite had a good sized shower cubicle (one where you could actually move your arms to wash, as opposed to standing bolt upright and letting the water run down over you!).

We'd stayed in a couple of other hotels on this particular weekend, but this had to be the best breakfast; choice of cereals, fruit juice, yoghurt and (my favourite) fresh fruit salad, followed by freshly cooked Full English.

Its location is on the main road into Lyme Regis and it's about a 10 minute walk to the seafront. There is also a private car park to the rear of the property.

Good luck with your new business Toby and Nicky!

Room Tip: As our room was facing the rear of the property, so probably a little quieter than those at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany-Lyme, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi Linda,

Really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Albany and many thanks for your best wishes. Hope to see you again in the future.

Toby & Nikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our second stay at Albany was just as comfortable and enjoyable as the first.

Once again, Sue and Phil made us very welcome, providing excellent breakfasts and helpful information about local attractions, walks and places to eat.

The work to stabilise the eastern cliffs of Lyme is now well underway, so Albany no longer risks disappearing into the sea!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stroll_along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here over the weekend while exploring the stunning Jurassic Coast. The room was impeccably clean and extremely comfortable, and we were lucky to get the room with a sea view. Very near to the beach as well, just a 5 - 10 min stroll away. Breakfast was also very satisfying and freshly made. Overall, a lovely stay!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roarke80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany-Lyme, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for this - we hope we will see you again soon Sue and Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights in August. Lovely little B&B and good value for money. Excellent location being a few minutes walk into Lyme Regis. Our room was very comfortable and looked down into the town. Sue and Phil were excellent hosts and took lots of time to talk to the guests and offer advice on what to do and where to go. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trebor27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany-Lyme, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you so much for this we are pleased you had a good time and hope to see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My sister and I stayed here for a couple of nights in order to recapture childhood memories! Very happy with where the B&B was and the room overlooked the sea and was clean, as was the en-suite. The host was extremely pleasant and very helpful - especially as I arrived with a puncture!
She was more than happy for us to leave our cars in the carpark while we enjoyed our last day. Highly recommended as a base for Lyme Regis and we will stay again if we venture back that way.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheeandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany-Lyme, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
thank you so much for this we hope we see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
3.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#3 of 47 in Lyme Regis
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Guest House

Property: Albany Guest House
Address: Charmouth Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Albany Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing