We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coombe House

Coombe House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coombe House
Ranked #26 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spring weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Our second visit to Coombe House and as the first it was sublime.
Full of charm and elegance our Double room, accessed through the owners homely kitchen and stairs full of local artwork is a large, light and airy room with a lovely large en-suite. Breakfast of homemade breads, boiled egg, jams and marmalade, fresh fruit,fruit juice, cereals and coffee/tea is served on a trolley to the room. Coombe House is in a perfect location. Minutes away from the beach and close to many quality restraurants and shops.
Dympna and Hugh are the most welcoming hosts, full of tips, ideas and local knowledge. 5 star quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinJBloomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Opua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 years ago, and returned on our visit to UK as we enjoyed our stay and Lyme Regis so much. And it's still a great place to stay, central, lovely room with plenty of space and large bathroom, with a bath. home made breakfast served in the room. The bread is home made and superb, and there are a selection of great restaurants and pubs on the door step. Thanks to the owner who was genuinely welcoming and makes it a relaxing and easy going place to stay!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

The value for money is excellent in this B&B, which is very well cared for. Easy access to the main drag in Lyme. The breakfasts are carefully prepared and avoid the stodgy nonsense (fresh fruit, delicious bread, lovely cereal, fresh coffee etc etc). The room was very comfortable and the owners are wonderful. Excellent water pressure and quiet rooms despite being in the centre of Lyme. Punches well above its weight for the price, but lovely irrespective of cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Having passed Coombe House many times on our day trips to Lyme there was only one place we could think of staying in when we choose Lyme Regis for a weekend trip. It's location is perfect. Just a minute or two walk from the sea front tucked away up a side street. Our room was bright and clean with a small but neat En~suite. The English breakfast is served in your room on a trolley and was just perfect to start the day.The hosts were so welcoming and very helpful with recommendations and advice. Parking in the forecourt isn't a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for the 'Double' when you book especially if your a 'couple'!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinJBloomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

My teenage daughter and I went to Lyme Regis for a quick break, and chose Coombe House as it seemed to offer everything we needed. We were right - it is perfect! The owner was charming, funny, interesting, and has made the guest rooms a lovely place to stay. Our room - the twin - was just what we needed - comfortable beds, attractive decor, and a bay window to sit in and read a book. Breakfast was wonderful - grapefruit, boiled eggs, cereal, toast (from delicious home-made bread) with juice and tea or coffee, and all brought in on a trolley and served on pretty vintage china. Dympna very kindly let me leave the car in her courtyard when we left, so I didn't have to go and find a parking space in Lyme (and if you know Lyme, you'll know that parking can be a nightmare). A few moments to walk into the town itself, and yet so quiet that we weren't distubed by any traffic noise. It was a lovely break for us in a great B&B - and such good value. Wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VMB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Lovely room in a central location within Lyme Regis. The B&B is accessed off a narrow road however there is car parking available. Very close to the restaurants, shops and beach. They were one of only a few B&B's that I could find who would let us stay for only one night in August.

Access to your bedroom is through the family kitchen and you are guided straight up stairs to your room. There is no lounge or area for residents. The ground floor is for the family. Although the bedrooms are very clean and decorated to a high standard, the rest of the house is a bit messy and untidy. Breakfast is a soft boiled egg, fruit, cereal, toast, orange juice, tea and coffee served in your room. Very nice.

It would have been nice if the B&B hosts had been a bit more chatty / welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singinglaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We found the B&B in the lonely planet best places to stay in Britain supplement.
What a beautiful find. The house is situated in a great location.
The room is light and elegant, littered with pictures that add a stunning personal touch to the room. The room is simply decorated. Light blue wall, stripped curtains and by the bay window sits a wicker chair and table. We had breakfast by the window which was a joy.
Breakfast is served on a trolley which is unique.

The owners are delightful, knowledgeable and very friendly. When you enter coombe house you are not entering just a B&B but you are entering their home.

There are no negatives. You feel like you have found a santuary where all you can do is relax and embrace the environment around you.

For us, the B&B is part of the beautiful memories that was created on our wedding anniversary weekend away.

The price of the room is cheap at £34.00 pp per night. I would easily have paid more!!!

Room Tip: The room was beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubberduck24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
3.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#8 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#3 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Garret B & B
The Garret B & B
#27 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe House

Property: Coombe House
Address: 41 Coombe Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Coombe House Hotel Lyme Regis
Coombe House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing