We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coombe House

Coombe House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coombe House
Ranked #26 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

An excellent B&B in the heart of Lyme Regis. Very friendly host, lovely breakfasts and a relaxed atmosphere. The added bonus of off street parking was very welcome in Lyme Regis. Both rooms were very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay in the beautiful and comfortable double en-suite bedroom. The large windowed alcove looks out on quaint rooftops and the gorgeous, changeable sky, and we could hear the ocean at night and gulls calling each morning. The breakfasts were delicious, plentiful, and picture perfect. The house's location is on a quiet little street just steps from the main road and all its shops and restaurants. (Even though our visit coincided with a noisy road-works project, the peace of the house prevailed.) Dympna and Hugh made us feel very welcome, and helped sort out our transport to and fro, as we were traveling from Heathrow sans car. We highly recommend Coombe House, and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Thank you Dympna. We had a fabulous stay (10th and 11th October). Room was very spacious, clean, welcoming, and parking always appreciated in Lyme and the breakfasts were superb. Homemade bread, jam and marmalade (my husband is hard to please with marmalade, so that really is credit!), together with melon, cereal and a perfectly boiled egg, what more could you ask for? So much nicer option than a full English breakfast! If we could have stayed a week the flat would have been perfect, but for two nights, bed and breakfast was just as good. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 291beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We needed a double room in Lyme Regis at short notice for a stay on a Friday night. This one caught my eye and we got lucky, the only room available all week! The owner, Dympna, took my booking on trust which is unusual these days. When we turned up, we were very happy, for starters parking in central Lyme is very limited and we parked directly outside the front door.

We had a lovely large double room, really really nice with a large bay window where you can sit and watch people pass by the open gate. The en suite was also large with bath/shower and bidet, all very clean and nicely decorated. We had a good night out, despite the awful food served up at the Lyme Bay Kitchen and Bar, and an undisturbed and peaceful nights sleep. Very comfortable.

Lovely breakfast, served in our room. If you want the usual full English, you won't get it. Which I was grateful for, I love a fried breakfast on occasion but this was much better. Boiled eggs, homemade bread, jam and marmalade, fresh fruit and cereals.
Excellent stay, will definitely want to come here next time we're in Lyme.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I loved this B&B as did my friend. The owner,Dympna made us very welcome and we immediately felt we were going to enjoy our stay. The room was a delight, spotlessly clean with a lovely sunny alcove overlooking the courtyard garden where you could sit and read, have a cup of tea or just enjoy the view.
Breakfast was served on a trolley in our room and was delicious. No full english, but that hardly mattered as we were given two perfectly boiled eggs, some excellent fresh bread (with a toaster if we wanted to make toast) and home made jam and marmalade. We also had fresh melon and cherries and coffee of course.
I would definately like to stay here again for longer next time.

Room Tip: Both the available rooms are really lovely, the double in particular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Lovely airy, spacious and clean room with large bathroom within a family home accessed through the kitchen. Dympna a very relaxed, welcoming and knowledgeable host. Great breakfast in our room which was a bit different to the general form of B & B's. Convenient car park which prior to us arriving in Lyme Regis were unaware about how valuable a car space was in the town! Location ideal with just a short walk to beach and harbour. Unfortunately only there for one night so didn't get to experience too much other than the seafront area of town which was very picturesque.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Spent a wonderful week in Lyme Regis staying at Coombe House, which we found via Trip Advisor (many thanks). Stayed in the twin room which is compact but suited our needs perfectly. Dympna and Hugh were fantastic, most welcoming hosts, a mine of local information and made our stay really relaxing. The breakfast was just what we needed every morning, light, tasty and very moreish, the home made bread was eaten with great relish! Could not have spent a holiday in a better place, hats off to Dympna for making our stay so relaxing. Anyone wanting a short break to Lyme Regis should consider staying here, especially with the parking availability in the courtyard, that is a bonus. Had a peek at the double room and if you want a lot of space, especially in the bathroom, go for this room if available, but the twin, although smaller and with less storage space for clothes, is really comfortable too. Hope to go back in the near future for another visit.
On another note, found a fantastic wine bar on the Main Street called Turles - food was superb, wine very reasonably priced, ambience great - recommend a visit to this place but make sure you book a table as it is very busy every night, which speaks volumes about it..........

Room Tip: Twin fine but if you want more room and storage for clothes go for the double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
3.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#8 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#3 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Garret B & B
The Garret B & B
#27 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe House

Property: Coombe House
Address: 41 Coombe Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Coombe House Hotel Lyme Regis
Coombe House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing