We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb small B&B, very friendly”
Review of Thatch

Thatch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thatch
Ranked #30 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Derby
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Superb small B&B, very friendly”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Parking in Lyme Regis was awful; the Red Arrows were in town and so we parked out of it! Walking back we passed Thatch and my wife decided to pop in for a look and maybe a booking. Lucky us! Frank and Wendy ever so welcoming, spick and span room, brilliant breakfast, everything spot on and hence the highest rating we could give. Only one night but it seemed others return and return again ~ always a sign of a great little place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSofDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, Beds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

What a lucky find on the internet! We stayed at the Thatch for one night before heading off to Cornwall for a week's holiday. A wonderful stay and very comfortable room with a fabulous en suite wet room, not to mention beautiful views to surrounding countryside from our window. Wendy and Frank are great hosts and made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The Thatch is in a lovely quiet location, just a few minutes walk into the town. We definitely hope to return again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

If I am honest I would like to keep this place a secret but that would be unfair on Frank and Wendy. Everything was perfect with a wonderful breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guineapigs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in early October for her birthday as we were visiting the River Cottage and Thatch quickly went from just a place to lay our heads to one of the reasons we enjoyed our weekend so much. Frank and Wendy, the owners were absolutely brilliant, welcoming from the moment we arrived, they entertained us with conversation over breakfast without ever being in the least bit intrusive, provided helpful information on the surrounding area, and gave us some great recommendations on what to do while staying in the area. We travel often and stay in many places and consequently only feel compelled to write a review if we have either a negative or an overwhelmingly positive experience and our stay at Thatch fell emphatically into the latter category. Our room in this charming octagonal thatched property had views out over the rolling Dorset hills and the sea from it's dual aspect windows, the bed was dangerously comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. A wonderful experience and we would certainly return for future stays in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Could not recommend this place more. It is a fantastic b&b in a beautiful town owned by a truly brilliant couple. I stayed here with my boyfriend for his birthday weekend and we felt so comfortable, welcomed and 'away from it all'. Perched at the top of the hill there are great views from the rooms and even walking back up from the town is a pleasure with several nice pubs to break the journey. The breakfast was a real treat too and the owners even accommodated a 7.30am start on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebraclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We stayed for 3 nights July 2009, owners nice & friendly breakfast lovely, some nice touches including cork screw and 1/2 bottle of wine in the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweep10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2009

This is a small B&B in Lyme Regis. The owners are nice people and are a good example of how to get it absolutely right. The en-suite room was comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean, a nice touch was the 2 glasses and a corkscrew,
plus they serve a really good breakfast. We showed upon a motorcycle for just a single night, but were made most welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Garret B & B
The Garret B & B
#28 of 45 in Lyme Regis
15 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lyme Tree House
Lyme Tree House
#2 of 2 in Raymonds Hill
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charnwood Guest House
Charnwood Guest House
#26 of 45 in Lyme Regis
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatch

Property: Thatch
Address: Thatch Uplyme Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Thatch Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing