We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful English Seaside B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thatch

Thatch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thatch
Ranked #29 of 47 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful English Seaside B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and 3 year old stayed here for three nights over the weekend. We were given the 'Under Thatch' room by the garden which has its own separate entrance. The owners Wendy and Frank gave us a very warm welcome. They were helpful and ensured our entire stay was comfortable. They were very accommodating to our little boy, who loved it here. He had his own camper bed and loved the surrounding garden.

The room was very well presented. Good size tv screen. Stocked well with local guides, tea/ coffee and biscuits but best of all were five children's storybooks ( we had forgotten ours).
Plenty of towels and toiletries in the bathroom, though you may have to get use to the noise of the macerator.

Breakfast was generous (coffee refills and more toast!) with plenty of choice. The cooked breakfast was very good, especially the scrambled eggs. My toddler had his own milk served in a cute 'Peter Rabbit' cup. It is also quite a social occasion as you share the breakfast table with the other guests.

Very convenient location - an easy 10 minute amble into town (though a slightly harder walk back), so unless you have lots of stuff to cart to the beach, it's better to park in their driveway, as parking in Lyme can be tricky.

Whether you're a small family or a solo traveller, if you're in the Lyme area, I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

just got back from 5 day stay. read the reviews before booking and found out, that all were pretty well spot on .Frank and Wendy where very helpful and interesting couple making sure that all was well, breakfast plentiful and very good too. bedroom with a good view was spacious with a large wet room,all in all tip top. first time to Lyme Regis and found it to be a great unspoilt clean resort with a variety of eating places. verdict: I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I wondered about whether a B&B should really attain 5/5 ratings but, after consideration, found this place to be faultless and thus wholly deserving.

A quaint, well-presented house about 5-10mins walk from the town front, it is the epitome of a good British seaside B&B. Our room was very nice as was the bathroom, with a lovely view onto the valley nearby. A nice touch were the two wine glasses in the room - excellent if you don't want to sip some bring-your-own in glass tumblers or, more likely, teacups!

The breakfast was excellent and obviously prepared with care, taken in the living/sitting room. The traditional full english was preceded by a really rather good fruit salad and greek yoghurt, and the coffee was made well.

Final word must go to the proprietors, or as seems more appropriate, our hosts. They were at once efficient, friendly, interested and interesting. Wonderful people. It felt like we were being welcomed in to someone's house - we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCW_CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
439 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I were hiking the SWC Path recently. We stayed here and the owners were friendly and helpful. We stayed in the room under the house which was very quaint and fun. My wife thought she smelled a bit of mold, but I didn't. A long walk up hill from town center!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimW551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

What can I say that would even come close to expressing how wonderful our stay was at what can only be described as the most friendly and welcoming place we have ever stayed.

Frank is the epitome of a host, and Wendy is without question the most caring person you could ever be lucky enough to meet.

"Four fingered Frankie" sounds like a character straight out of the Sopranos but is more like your own in-house stand up comedian.

If you don't leave feeling like you've just added two new best friends after your stay here, Ill be very surprised !!!

You wont want to leave and we will certainly be returning.

Rooms like home, food like your mum used to make, and the owners like your favourite Aunt & Uncle.

Location is excellent and close to everything, Lyme Regis's best kept secret, book today you wont regret it.

Dont "forgedddaboutit" as Frankies Jags boot has plenty of room !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Twin Room has walk in wet-room and views across the Bay but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

A delightful unusual house, set close to a busy road but really quiet inside.
We had the lower floor room, which was very cosy with views over the hills.
Arriving early morning we received a warm welcome from Frank and Wendy who let us use the room to change, gave us our key so we could come back as it suited. A nice touch was a complementary small bottle of wine.
Breakfast was well cooked with a lovely platter of fresh mixed fruits.
Would return and recommended.

Room Tip: Would like to try the upper rooms next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetopaz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Arrived at the thatch to find a wonderfully warm welcome from Frank and Wendy. We stayed in the garden room for two nights and moved upstairs for a third night. The views from upstairs were wonderful and the garden room was quaint with it's thatched entrance.Frank and Wendy made our first stay in Lyme Regis truly memorable! Breakfast was delicious and they really couldn't do enough for us, kind and lovely people. Definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Garden room excellent for privacy and those who do not wish to use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.6 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#24 of 47 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charnwood Guest House
Charnwood Guest House
#26 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 47 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatch

Property: Thatch
Address: Thatch Uplyme Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Thatch Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing