We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little restaurant”

The Millside Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 80 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We went twice in a week with family groups of adults and children, and we were able to eat early in the evening in the bistro area with the same menu as the restaurant. It was terrific, just what we wanted, with really good food (try the cheese soufflé), and a good wine list with a reasonable mark-up. Overall, I thought it was very good value in a nice quiet spot.
The un-rushed service is excellent, with owner Jessica very much in charge of the pleasant young waiters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    138
    44
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Beautiful meal here! Didn't book a table but were seated swiftly and looked after by lovely friendly staff. The lovely waitress was happy to offer wine list help as she'd put it together herself. The mussels starter was heaven and the steak and cheese soufflé was some of the best we've ever tasted! Perfect evening, thank you & excellent value too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We enjoyed another fabulous meal at The Millside last night. This really is our favourite place in Lyme Regis. Friendly, relaxed, professional service and really, really good food. Our party of three couldn't have been happier with starters of mussels, goats cheese & beetroot salad and a 'light as air, melt in the mouth' cheese souffle. I had the special of crab pancake as a main course while my husband and son both opted for steak and chips. The steaks were cooked perfectly and the chips were the most delicious and crispy ever (they only let me steal a few!). We shared lemon tart with raspberry and elderflower sorbet afterwards - the perfect summer dessert, light and fresh with fruity flavours. Considering the quality of the food and the faultless service we all thought it excellent value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjrlyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carshalton beeches
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice food bit pricey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I am happy to say this is one of the best resturaunts In Lyme Regis. All four members of our party where happy with food & service. Though a wee bit pricey. Would definetly return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, good service and pleasant venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal this evening at The Millside Restaurant. The cheese soufflé was a delicious starter - really light and full of flavour. The lamb and belly pork were also delicious as our main courses. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere, excellent staff who are very pleasant and attentive and a good choice of well prepared, cooked and presented dishes. If we were local, rather than just on holiday, we would definitely be regular customers. The bill was a pleasant surprise too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Millside Restaurant also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to The Millside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing