We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another superb stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Cuthbert's of Lyme
Ranked #23 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another superb stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at St. Cuthbert's and were very pleased that in Sue's own words "nothing had changed" because the whole experience is wonderful - the rooms (we were in number 1) are so very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The range of choices for breakfast cater for all needs with good quality food and plentiful portions served. Sue and Miles are perfect hosts with good local knowledge and make your stay relaxing and welcoming. A third visit is definitely on the agenda!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustyramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We returned to St. Cuthberts recently and once again, had a wonderful stay. Miles and Sue have a very relaxed , friendly air about them that rubs off and puts you in the same frame of mind as soon as you get there. Pretty much every review you will read about St. Cuthberts will be singing its praises and there is nothing more to be said. I added this review just as a way of saying many thanks for a perfect break and look forward to staying at St. Cuthberts next year. Anyone thinking of staying there, do it . Its not possible to be dissapointed.

Room Tip: We had room 2 , which on a very hot weekend was lovely and cool. Room 1 got the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanYv0nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We picked St Cuthberts on our first visit last year because it seems to be the only b&b which caters comfortably for three people. Our daughter was particularly pleased to meet the newest member of staff, Hank, an adorable and well behaved Shih-Tzu who only comes out with his older companion, Gus, if visitors are keen to see them.

The atmosphere of St Cuthberts' dining room is warm and friendly; there is no fixed time for breakfast so sometimes we sat with other people and sometimes we were on our own. As there are only two double bedrooms and the annexe, there can only be seven people at any one time. We would never consider anywhere serving breakfast in our bedroom as one of the pleasures of staying in a b&b is talking to the hosts and other visitors in the dining room. Sue and Miles are both in the restaurant business which makes a huge difference to their gourmet breakfasts. One should really stay a minimum of 4 nights, as we did, to enjoy their extensive breakfast menu.

I have read that mass-produced bottles of water are bad for the environment so the large filtered bottle of water in the fridge is a very good idea as are the large bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in the bathroom. Small bottles of toiletries are not really very eco-friendly and are expensive. The bathroom basin also meets with my husband's approval; he is not keen on pretentious square ones (or square plates!).

The only “free” treats we like are the fresh jug of milk and delicious cookies provided every day for a lovely cup of tea.

There is an automated e-mail that hosts can send thanking their visitors for staying with them, saying that they enjoyed having them and trust that they enjoyed their stay with a – P.S. they would welcome a review. The greater the number of reviews which are posted, the more it affects the establishment's ranking. I would not write a review if there was the merest mention, however obliquely. As for writing responses to reviews, Sue and Miles seem to be more concerned with looking after their guests.

To help people visiting from abroad, Uplyme is 1 ½ miles inland whereas Lyme Regis is by the sea. Rousdon is also 3 miles out of Lyme Regis.

Well worth a visit is the exquisite National Trust property “A La Ronde” which is situated slightly north of Exmouth.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingsunsetbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

St Cuthbert's is by far and away the best B&B that we have stayed in. The room was like a home from home, with wonderful comfortable beds and great touches such as: a useful fridge, interesting variety of books, binoculars to enjoy the sea-view and a very luxuriously appointed wet room. The owners were very relaxed and friendly, providing superb breakfasts and interesting advice on the local places of interest. The walk up the hill from Lyme Regis to the B&B is a long, steep walk, however, the town is built on the side of a hill, and so it would be hard to avoid this wherever you stayed. The parking is a challenge, as there are narrow spaces to negotiate, especially if arriving after dark. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the accommodation to anyone who is looking for a luxury B&B in Lyme Regis.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

St Cuthburts is a lovely B&B; about a 20 minute walk out of town (either up the main road, or down and along the river, which is a brilliant walk in itself). The hosts are pleasant, the rooms very comfortable and well done, and the breakfasts really good (I highly recommend the american styel pancakes with maple syrup - yum!). we had 2 rooms, as we are a "larger" family (ie; 3 kids!!) and this is the source of my only gripe; we booked both the Annexe and Room 2 in the main house; the Annexe is easily spacious enough to accomodate 5, but Sue simply said "we just dont do that`'. Its her house and its her choice to make, but it did double the accomodation cost for our bankk holiday weeked; but for this issue, I would have given it an "excellent"

Room Tip: In the main house Room 1 is farthest from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

What a lovely place to stay, we looked at the reviews on trip advisor before choosing to book here and we would have to agree with all the positive posts on here. I have stayed in Lyme Regis many times but this was our first stay here. The host are lovely people, welcoming and warm, the room was gorgeous with a gorgeous on-suite wet room. The walk up and down the hill was taxing but enjoyable. The breakfasts were filling and mouth watering. all in all a perfect stay.

Room Tip: we had room 2 in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My friend and I stayed two nights at this B&B and felt very much at home and comfortable. The room had everything we needed, even a little refrigerator with a small pitcher of milk to go with the tea/coffee tray and kettle. The bathroom was really lovely with beautiful tile work and a waterfall shower head. Breakfast was very nice and Sue and Miles couldn't have been more helpful in advising us where to hike for the day. I will definitely stay again if I come back to Lyme Regis.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank heerenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyme Regis hotels
3.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
#22 of 45 in Lyme Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#19 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#3 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Cuthbert's of Lyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Cuthbert's of Lyme

Property: St Cuthbert's of Lyme
Address: St. Cuthberts Charmouth Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — St Cuthbert's of Lyme 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
St Cuthbert's Of Lyme Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing