We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place in a beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ware Barn Cottage

Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage
Leisure Area - Living Room Meet The Alpacas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Cottage
Leisure Area - Living Room
Meet The Alpacas
Stylish Dining
Bedroom One Suite
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Three
Feed Archie!
Peter And Bailey
Sophisticated Dining Area
Full Sky+ Cinema System
Suri Alpaca In Full Flight
Lyme Regis Cobb at Dawn
Dining One
Al Fresco Dining Area
Surigate
Family Bathroom
Fully Equipped Kitchen
4 Channels of Owlcam on Cottage TV
Beautiful Alpacas
Meet the Alpacas
Meet The Babies
Bungle And Friends
A Beautiful Farm
Beach Shells
The Beach At Lyme Regis
Fossils On The Beach
Vienna And Venue
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
littlesta...
Haslemere, England
1 review
“Wonderful place in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

This is one of the best holidays that I have had. Ware barn is situated in a beautiful location on an alpaca farm on the cliffs above Lyme Regis. It is a stunning barn conversion and is a real home from home. The owners are so welcoming and helpful and there are lots of lovely touches such as a welcome basket, sky tv with surround sound and luxury bath goodies and lovely comfortable bedrooms You can either walk down to lyme regis seafront through lovely fields or go and meet the alpacas and play with the owners 3 dogs. I couldn't recommend it enough. We stayed over Christmas and it was aa good as being at home. Just don't tell anyone else as we want to come back again and again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2013
Thanks for your review Helen, we are so pleased your family enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful well equipped cottage in peaceful surroundings, so friendly”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We wanted a nice base to relax with my wife's cousin and her husband. On arrival, we were shown around the cottage by Ian and first impression was that of spaciousness. There was a nice selection of produce left for us including a delicious lemon drizzle cake, baked by Sue I believe. It was great fun going round the farm to see the alpacas who were so gentle and inquisitive. Also on the farm are two friendly and gentle English Settters, one of whom, Bella, had just had pups. Sue took us to see the pups who had just opened their eyes and were learning to play and cavort around their bed. Lyme Regis was a short drive away, and a very picturesque walk, but beware... that upward hill journey is a killer, and taxis need to be booked! If you are a knitter or know one, the alpaca yarns on sale in the cottage are the 'Farrow and Ball' of the knitting world, not dyed, no lanolin, just beautiful soft yarns with a picture of the alpaca it came from on the ball! Such a lovely break in a beautiful part of the country. Thank you Ian and Sue!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ah, the dogs, the alpacas and the family!
Liked least: The difficulty getting a taxi back from Lyme on one occasion.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
You are most welcome...

So glad you had an enjoyable break with us and liked our alpaca yarns.

Pleased to report Bella's pups are growing well - but don't mention the 's' word, as they are English Pointers, rather than Setters!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R
maidstone
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First class home from home”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

When we arrived there was the most wonderful basket of locally produced goodies, biscuits, cake, cheese, sugar, ground coffee, Luscombe soft drink, and milk. The cottage is beautifully appointed, and for the techno minded, all sorts of gadgets re sound and television, also Sky including sports and movie hannels, thankfully all the bedrooms have tvs so if needs must you can escape the footie ! Bella, one of their pointers, produced eight puppies the day before we left - thankfully I got my husband away before he put his name down for one ! There are alpacas in the fields, a veritable haven of peace, but close to pretty countryside and the seaside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thanks Ann, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
Pleased to report Bella's eight pups are now almost a week old and all doing well. Bella is an amazing mother - never knew how she knew what to do even when she had never see a pup before!
There's still time to 'put your name down'...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayandray...
Milawa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Reunion”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

As we live in Australia my neice organised our week at the barn to celebrate my sisters 40th wedding anniversary. We received the warmest of welcomes by the owners and a gourmet basket of local produce that was delicious .
The quality of the furnishing and the equipment in the kitchen and the layout of the Barn was first class.
We had an absolute ball enjoying the solitude and being able to watch the Alpacas and all the babies that were born during our stay.
We can,t wait till our next visit to England to repeat our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere and beautiful scenery in the area
Liked least: We loved it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
Thanks for your kind review Kay and Ray, it is much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and meeting the alpacas.
Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiptongr...
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The cottage was very spacious and situated in beautiful surroundings, a very safe place for out 2 year old grandson.The alpaca farm was an added bonus, the alpaca were a delight so curious and friendly. It is an ideal place to take young children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the countryside but still very convenient to reach Lyme
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisandJ...
Manchester UK
2 reviews
“Delightful holiday”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have just enjoyed a wonderful holiday at Ware Barn Cottage. Ian and Sue were wonderful hosts greeting us with a generous welcome pack. With a well equipped kitchen, a large airy living area and three spacious bedrooms the accommodation was ideal for our party of 6 adults and a 9 month old. During our stay Sue gave us a very educational tour of the Alpaca farm, it was a delight to feed and walk in the same fields as these inquisitive animals! The location is peaceful and quiet and has easy access to the costal path and Lyme Regis. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, quality accommodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth J
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
“Wonderful place - a perfect holiday spot.”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Ware Barn Cottage was a lovely place to stay and definately somewhere we'll return to. It is easily large enough to contain four adults and a very active 2 year old boy on rainy days. Even in this year's unseasonably cold and miserable weather the cottage was bright, warm and welcoming. Its very well laid out, with spacious bedrooms and a well stocked kitchen. The cottage is in a wonderful alpaca farm on the cliffs above Lyme Regis and there is a lovely walk (in the dry) into Lyme itself. The owner, Ian, is very helpful, friendly and kind, and he and his family have obviously put in a considerable amount of effort into making it such a great place to stay. Lyme itself is a fanastic place and I think Ware Barn Cottage is a real find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and professionalism of the owners and the comfort of the cottage
Liked least: I'd would have liked more information on walks from the cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2013
Thank Ruth,

We are really pleased that you had a great time here.

Note your comment about further information on the range of walks directly from the farm. There is access nearby to the South West Coast path which runs in the Undercliff within the Jurassic Coast World Heritage site immediately adjacent to the farm. Will add a short section to the guest welcome book.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$194
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing