We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're right about the parking!”

The Bell Cliff Restaurant and Tea Rooms
Ranked #12 of 81 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“You're right about the parking!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Love Lyme but it's a bit hilly for me. Hurts me knees as I walk down and get out of breath walking back up to the top carpark. Solution: after 6pm, if you're really lucky, you can find a parking space in Broad Street-- for free! You could then walk all the way along the front to a variety of eateries near the Cobb. Checking each displayed menu, we only got as far as Bell Cliff before we found items that appealed-- and are we glad we did? Inevitably I started with breaded whitebait served with brown bread and butter and a good salad[ would have chosen moules if they were on], while Mme had the grilled goats cheese with walnut salad. She went on to the cod and chorizo fish cakes served with chips and a salad while I had a sirloin steak-- served with that little wire basket of chips, mushrooms, baked tomato, onion rings and salad. The nice thing was that the chef came to our table to ask if the steak was cooked as I wanted it. I'd asked for 'Blue' - or as rare as possible - and it certainly didn't disappoint. I would have preferred Dijon mustard, but had to put up with English!!. Totally friendly; we were the last ones to leave, and they will be open again first thing in the morning--- breakfasts, snacks, lunches and really good value evening meals

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taff515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    126
    32
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super friendly staff, good value food, family friendly”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We ate here a few times during a recent stay in Lyme and always had great service and decent good value food. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and they were always happy to accommodate the requests of our 4 children. Highly recommend the waffles for pudding!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natm_b2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ding dong meals at the bell”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

our third visit to lyme countless visits to the bell not once have we had anything to complaine about. it is a cosy little place very welcoming and very clean.we have just had this mays bank holiday in lyme and when we had our cream teas we headed for the bell lovely everytime.our evening meals in the bell were delicious and piping hot.the staff in the bell work very long hours and wether it be morning afternoon or evening there polite and very freindly manner never varied.the ladies and gents who work aim to please all day long .thankyou see you again soon jayne and garry from tamworth.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“cream tea”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We only popped in here for cream tea and must say it was excellent, very nice tea and delicious scones proper clotted cream and nice jam, staff welcoming and polite very nice place

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fairylove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous food, service & location”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Came here for breakfast on the first day of our holiday & was immediately impressed with the firendly service & lovely breakfast. Throughout the week, we found ourselves returning for lunch (you must try the brie, mushroom & cranberry toastie), afternoon tea (homemade scones with oodles of cream & jam) & evening meal (I had the steak which was beautifully cooked & my partner had the grilled mackerel which he said was amazing). Loved every visit & will definately return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Cliff Restaurant and Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to The Bell Cliff Restaurant and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing