We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic cream tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell Cliff Restaurant and Tea Rooms

The Bell Cliff Restaurant and Tea Rooms
Ranked #11 of 80 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Preston Lancs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic cream tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

An amazing cream tea, with very generous portions of cream and jam, beautiful view across the bay and very friendly service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank louni24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    120
    28
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent afternoon tea and light meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I've been to this restaurant on more then a few occasions, food is excellent well presented and value for money, staff are very accommodating and friendly and nothing is too much for them, would highly recommended this restaurant to anyone visiting Lyme Regis

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We ate here twice as we had a good experience the first time we ate, and both times had a lovely meal. We have two young children who were kept quiet with the crayons and paper given to them. I enjoyed the Sea Bass which was one of the daily specials, and my husband and eldest enjoyed the steak. As my eldest didn't like the veg on offer with the steak, they were happy to swap that for a veg she enjoyed.
The waitress was very friendly, and on the 2nd night when my husband and I felt like a starter, but there weren't any for the kids. The waitress said they could make us a bowl of fresh crusty baguette and butter for the kids, which kept them happy, whilst we could enjoy having a three course meal.
We therefore felt them very helpful in amending meals to suit us.
The lemon tart is gorgeous, and all 3 of the rest of our party can heartily recommend the fudge cake for dessert.
Would recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReadingParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Came here again for dinner when we visited Lyme for the second time. As usual the food & service was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude, inhospitable and just about OK food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

After a long journey around Cornwall and Devon me and wife and children stopped to have some dinner at what looked like a charming Dorset seafront restaurant. The waitress appeared at first to be very attentive and polite, but when we found a large piece of plastic wrapper in our young daughters steak and kidney pie she dismissed it in quite an uncaring manner. I offered to pay just 3 pounds less than the full price, I feel it would have been just to have been offered a reduction of the full 10 pounds cost of her meal, instead the waitress and the very rude boss got quite nasty about it. I do not recommend this place at all. The attitude they revealed is that they do not care about their customers and rely on the fact that most custom is seasonal and probably don't return..... Very bad business and hospitality. bad vibes. :(

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Junket_Instructor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Cliff Restaurant and Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to The Bell Cliff Restaurant and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing