We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Devonia!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Devonia Guest House
Ranked #9 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely Devonia!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Lindsey and Gail really made us feel welcome on our arrival. Their friendly manner and attention to detail was apparent throughout our stay. Our room (room 6) was at the top of the house and has unrivalled views of the town and Lyme Bay. We were able to relax in a high degree of comfort and soak up the surrounding views. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice; I can highly recommend the kippers! All in all, a most delightful weekend with two very pleasant and helpful hosts.

Terry and Lesley

Room Tip: Aim high; the view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    34
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
123
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have visited Lyme for a little weekend break recently and the stay at Devonia guest house has made it truly special. Gail and Lindsay have been amazing. This includes Lindsey checking my car when it wouldn't start and all the helpful tips and useful local information. The top of the list has to be the lovely breakfast with a breath taking view of Lyme bay and of course the best scrambled eggs ever. I can't wait for the next mini holiday.

Room Tip: Single room is very comfortable with a small bathroom, but perfect for one with an amazing view over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TTaylor25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Lindsey and Gail were marvelous hosts and helped make our stay in Lyme Regis very enjoyable. They provided my daughter and I with a very useful and unique map which made it easy to navigate the town. Our room was very comfortable and clean, and breakfast was delicious! From first contact via email to our departure, Lindsey and Gail kept us informed (and entertained with their sense of humour). Kathie (& Rebecca) Mahler

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed as a group of friends, and took 3 rooms between us. Gail and Lindsay knew we were a group so set up the breakfast table so we could all sit together. The breakfast is plentiful, and delicious, and with some different options, like the roast tomatoes on toast, which was really good. We were made to feel so welcome, with a coffee / tea on arrival, which we took in the lounge, and we were free to use the lounge as a convenient place to have a glass of wine with our friends before heading out for dinner in the evenings.
The house is lovely and very nicely kept. We had a room at the top of the house with a sea view and it was so nice, with a lottle sofa positioned so you could look out at the view. The bathroom is massive.
It is a 5 or 10 minute walk up hill, but that's normal for Lyme Regis.
We are not big fans of going back to places we have already been to, but we would go back to Devonia.

The little touches make all the difference to us, like the fridge in the breakfast room which you can put your own beverages in, and a tray of wine glasses for you to use.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have recently returned from our second visit to Devonia and it continues to be as good as any B and B in which we have ever stayed. It is hard to imagine how it could be any better and Gail and Lindsay are always ready to help in any ways that they can. Once again we found their willingness that we might, on one evening, bring purchased food to be eaten in the breakfast room very helpful. Our wine had been chilling in the fridge together with that belonging to other guests. We had the same room as last time - comfortable, clean, warm and with all we could want.
We hope that this will not have been our last visit to Devonia.

Room Tip: We have been very happy to have a room at the back that does not have a sea view. It is slightly che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valueallreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Gail and Lindsay made us feel so welcome, my son and I had a lovely warm room, with the most comfy beds We've ever slept in.. The breakfast was delicious, wonderful sausages and scrambled egg... Thank you for a fab holiday we will be back soon xxxx

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Essextwinkleangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have just returned from a two night stay at the Devonia and loved it. Very nice B&B and the owners, Gail and Lindsey were really nice, friendly and helpful. They have a gorgeous dog too, Rocky. The room was very nice, clean and the ensuite lovely too.
Breakfast was delicious with a menu to be filled out and left for the next morning. Very nice indeed... just to warn you of the hills though... Lyme Regis is very hilly and the Devonia is at the top... on the plus side, beautiful views!!

Room Tip: Front facing for the sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyme Regis hotels
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#8 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#15 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonia Guest House

Property: Devonia Guest House
Address: 2 Woodmead Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonia Guest House provides 'Quality Assured' en-suite bed and breakfast accommodation in the coastal resort of Lyme Regis on the Jurassic Coast. The beach is 10 minute walk from Devonia. Guests have their own key and entrance and can come and go as they please, we also have a lounge exclusively for our Guests to use. We are ideally situated to meet the requirements of the holidaymaker, tourist, or as a base for walkers. We are proud to be registered with the English Tourism Council who have awarded us the ‘Four Star Silver Award’ rating in recognition of our continually high standards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devonia Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing