We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smuggler

The Smuggler
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Smuggler
Ranked #31 of 47 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Hi Chrissy, Dan and Mathew,
Thank you for our stay at the Smuggler. It was quaint and well relaxed place. Good hearty full English breakfast, nice rooms and only 5 min walk to the beach. And a big Thank you to Dan who cleaned my van for me. Would recommend this place for a nice stay. Yours Mervyn and Liliana.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljiljana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have stayed here a few times and have always been really happy with the room, breakfast and friendliness. We have stayed in the larger room with cooking facilities and wet room and it's great to be able to spread out a bit. The bed was super comfy, Chrissy always helpful and friendly, breakfast delicious and plentiful and the weekend superb. Thanks Chrissy for another great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, East Susse
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

After a fortnight in Cornwall we decided to book a weekend on our return home in Lyme Regis (one of my favourite places). I had trouble booking somewhere as there was a big sailing event that weekend - 12 - 13 July. I finally managed to book The Smuggler. When we arrived we found Chrissy (the proprietor) very friendly and welcoming. Our room was very clean and comfortable, with a good hospitality tray and our own little patio and outdoor seating area. The location was good as it was right in the town and everything was walkable so we could keep our car in the guest parking area without having to park in a pay and display car park! The full English breakfast was lovely, plenty of good quality food and well cooked and served. All in all we could not fault The Smuggler as it was excellent value for money. We hope to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank htrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

A nice B&B. I always check reviews with Tripadvisor before booking and there was nothing of note to be concerned about. Very informal and relaxed - just what we look for. Well located in the town centre for access to the beach and shops. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of toast and tea available - and more if you wanted it! The owner and his daughter joined us for breakfast on this occassion and shared his local knowledge with us which was a pleasant surprise. Will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This b & b was really nice. Central location to all the local are. Chrissy was very nice & polite. Breakfast was also very nice & had a lot to choose from. The room was so comfy & always clean after we got back from a day out. Could not have asked for a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSmith75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was our third time staying at the Smugglers this year. Great to find a central Lyme B&B that welcomes dogs and kids that has on site parking! We have normally had one of the triples overlooking the street which are opposite the guest kitchen. The rooms have quirky decor but are clean and comfy. Access to a kitchen is great as we can make whatever drinks we like and keep the dog's food in the fridge. This time we were able to sit out on the terrace in the sunshine for a drink before going out to eat in one of the many nearby dog-friendly pubs. The Smugglers close proximity to Langmoor Grdens is ideal for those early morning dog walks before breakfast. The breakfast is large and tasty with plentiful toast. The Smugglers is reasonably priced for such a central location. When in the triple rooms at the Smugglers you stay in the owners home. This means you will be surrounded by their personal effects. If this makes you feel at home, as it does us - stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCL_Otter_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

Had trouble actually locating the Smugglers but when i phoned Chrissy and she showed me the room I was delighted. A modern comfortable room with a fantastic up to date bathroom - very impressive. Well located near the sea the breakfast in the shop was the quirky bit but really great. All in all a great experience well done Chrissy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank r1chard311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.2 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 47 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smuggler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler

Property: The Smuggler
Address: 30 Broad Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Also Known As:
The Smuggler Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing