We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of Regent Cinema

Regent Cinema
Ranked #14 of 29 things to do in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is like stepping back into the past when you enter this lovely old cinema. Comfortable seats and a wonderful ambience. What a charming place to watch a film- and the prices are very good too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank theresalwaysone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    21
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cinema!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Love this cinema, so much nicer than Odeons. Would highly recommend this place. My children love it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samsam821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantasic Cinema Experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I took my children here (age 10 and 13) whilst on holiday. They have only previously visited multiplex cinemas and they absolutely loved visiting The Regent in Lyme Regis. The cinema and the staff are all excellent and I would recommend the cinema to anyone either for a night out or to fill in time on a rainy afternoon. The cinema is very well looked after, the seats are very comfortable and I am glad I could support this small local cinema. I would love to live in Lyme Regis to reap the benefit of their local cinema, fantastic views and lovely eateries. Also, the cinema is cheaper than the chains. My only recommendation is that they open during the day for a short period so that you can buy tickets rather than pay online booking fees - the balcony is very good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TCShrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“my favourite cinema”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is an utter gem - good choice of film, great staff and choice of sweets and ice creams, wonderful architecture with prized double seats (and tables) in the circle- if only they could add a bar it would be perfect!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling-siren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely little cinema!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This place is a gem: a lovely Art Deco building with lots of atmosphere and we loved it. We splashed out and paid the extra pound to sit upstairs in the balcony. The seats were comfortable, the projection/sound system seemed good and we had a great evening. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Regent Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Regent Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing