We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful conversion of a great building”

Review of St Pancras

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OllyB
Suffolk, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful conversion of a great building”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We booked to stay St Pancras on the strength of the reviews here on Trip Advisor, and were delighted to find that they were completely true. We have booked a large number of self catering accommodations over the years, and I can honestly say this was one of the very best.
The church has been beautifully converted, and the quality of the workmanship and the decorative standard is exceptional.

Anne and Barry were extremely helpful when making the arrangements, and welcomed us to the property, checked that we were comfortable and had everything we needed, and generally did everything they could to make sure we were enjoying ourselves.

The property has one double room (up the church tower), one twin, and a double in the mezzanine floor within the main church itself. The kitchen, dining, and living room shares this main space within the church, and there is more than adequate seating, eating, and sleeping space for six people. All of the facilities are excellent, and the stained glass windows and excellent wood burner make for a truly beautiful space for spending evenings surrounded by the great decorations of preraphelite style tiles and excellent woodwork.

The church is within the Rousden Estate, located a few miles West of Lyme Regis. You can walk into Lyme from the house if you don't mind a few miles walk. The estate is a lovely private parkland style property, and just adds to the overall atmosphere of the place.

We greatly enjoyed the property and will certainly stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful in every way - pictures do not do it justice!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Six of us went and six happy customers left (age range 9 - 70!). Blown away by all the features and calming "atmosphere" of the church. Lots to explore and we all enjoyed the costal walk. Shame the storm damage meant we couldn't access the beach but managed a good haul of fossils at Charmouth just ten minutes drive away. Looking for another reason to visit again, thank you for a wonderful stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHutchiso...
Altrincham, Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“'Heavenly, Divine, a pearl of great price'”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We loved staying at St Pancras for a long weekend of fossil hunting and a River Cottage cookery day. It's a glorious retreat from the mayhem of usual life but excellently positioned for both these fun activities, and for walking from the door, in countryside and on the coastal path (although check this is open after the slip and heave that's going on behind Lyme Regis).
We reveled in the many beautiful features of the chapel and its sympathetic conversion, and glimpses of the sea from the windows. St Pancras was spotless, cosy and warm, with a great supply of logs for the woodburner, and lots of other welcoming touches. We didn't test out the proximity of a local pub/bistro, but our grown-up children caught the bus back from Lyme Regis to the bus stop just outside the country estate that provides such a lovely environment.
There was the odd spider inside, but that's par for the course in such an historic building - wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Glorious old chapel and features
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debsh27
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

St Pancras is an amazing place to stay and something very different. The place has such charming character and our stay was very comfortable. Myself and my partner stayed there alone for 5 days and I was a bit apprehensive thinking it may feel 'creepy' but far from it, it felt peaceful and safe! My parents joined us for a few days and they loved it too and now want to buy one similar!
The place is so well equipped and the beds and the bed linen are of a high quality.
On arrival the fire was lit and there were fresh flowers and supplies for us. It was so cosy.
The location is also perfect for exploring beaches and countryside of Dorset and Devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShazzzieB
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have just returned from this wonderful place with heavy hearts and sullen bottom lips! What an absolutely idyllic place. We opened the door to a roaring log burner and an interior that just blew us away and it was love at first sight. We will most certainly be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Divine, we all adored it!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and chose the area as we had had our honeymoon in Lyme Regis. I shopped around for somewhere cozy for a party of 6 (my adult children and their partners were coming too) and nowhere looked as interesting as St. Pancras.

It did not disappointed.

Amazingly it is cozy, which is such a surprise as it is so big but every evening we all settled down with our books or the paper, it was relaxation personified - in March - in England! No curtains to draw, you just close the inner stained glass windows.

Tea (Finest) /coffee (real ground) / sugar / milk in the fridge / Finest shortbread and roses, what more could you want from a welcome kit? A really well equipped kitchen made catering easy and the dishwasher was good too. All the beds were firm but comfy and the duvets, squiddgy and cosy with tasteful bedding throughout. We walked and talked and chilled. (The ground floor is great for an indoor paper plane competition too!!)

Yes, there is only one loo/bathroom but we all managed fine with that and it is such a superb place, I wouldn't let that put you off, we didn't and it certainly didn't impact on our enjoyment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so big but comfortable and interesting, homely but so different from home.
Liked least: Musty smell in the china/glass cupboard. We just washed things and kept them out. There was plenty of space to do that.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The presentation and attention to detail
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$161
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing