We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable food, dire service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Good Food Store

The Good Food Store
Ranked #26 of 80 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dorset
Level Contributor
175 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Reasonable food, dire service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Visited on a Saturday for the first time, not full but quite busy. Both had large soup with a hunk of granary bread, and it was quite good. Service was poor, ordered and paid up front, but had to wait about 20 mins, which I thought was excessive for bowls of soup, as it not a pukka restaurant, and as by then people were being turned away as it was full. Waiting staff made up of school kids who did not seem to know about basic hygiene, eg young lad dropped cutlery and put it straight back on to the counter ready for some sucker to take it, and the usual nose touching by hand also went on amongst these kids.
Also no toilets, but we were directed to a public one down the street.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DorsetTedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    54
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Soup for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

My brother and I recently called in for lunch and we each had a most super hot bowl of soup (Organic Tuscan) served in a large (warmed) bowl with a huge "chunk" of delicious bread. Perfect. Very good value too. Cost less than £5 each.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cup of tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We just had sandwiches and a cup of tea. The price was about right and better than you would pay for something more inferior near the sea front. The tea was superb, so much so my wife purchased some from the attached shop. The sandwiches we had were tuna mayo & cheese ones for the kids. They were well presented and accompanied by a nice well dressed side salad. We will definitely call in again when next in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious drinks in local deli-style coffee shop in sight of Costa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We dropped into this shop on the high street in Lyme Regis, looking for hot drinks. We chose it over various other places on offer in very close proximity and didn't regret it.
Environment lovely and smells of food and drinks delicious..
V friendly staff.
Drinks were what we wanted and presented well.
We resisted the food available, not least the extensive deli range right beside the seating...however the shop is going to draw us back another day so i strongly suspect we will succomb.
its cosywhen every table taken.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank naab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Local Good Food Cafe and Takeaway Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Cakes great. Bread average. Cheese, cold meats, quiches and pies delicious. Expensive deli type Teas, Biscuits, and Treats. Eat in and takeaway food freshly prepared, not cheap, not imaginative, acceptable but not memorable. Paid £3.95 for a small portion of soup in a takeaway cup recently. Bit disappointed as it was quite saltly and tasted processed. Better off buying a Tescos finest! I would not take friends there, or buy takeaway food again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosiemoon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Good Food Store also viewed

 

Been to The Good Food Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing